Alan Parker, retiring chief executive of Whitbread has been awarded the Outstanding Contribution to the Hotel Industry Award at the Hotel Catey 2010 Awards, held at the Lancaster London hotel this evening.

The award is a fitting tribute to Parker who on 25 November – his 64th birthday – is stepping down the company that he has transformed in recent years.

During his 12-year tenure at Whitbread, he has been responsible for outstanding growth and radical change at the company with increases in its two main brands of 135% in Premier Inn and 345% in Costa. Despite the recent challenging market conditions, Parker leaves Whitbread with the prospects for the company never having looked better.

The award was presented at the end of an evening of celebrations for the hotel industry, which was attended by 750 guests. Veteran comedian Ronnie Corbett led the entertainment and introduced the awards.

Watch interviews with some of the winners

The full list of winners include:

Conference and Banqueting Team of the Year Award
The Berkeley
Sponsored by Unilever Foodsolutions

Food and Beverage Manager of the Year Award
James Clarke, Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Sponsored by Beacon Purchasing

Front of House Manager of the Year Award
Ben Seager, The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Sponsored by Swisscom Hospitality Services

Front of House Team of the Year Award
Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
Sponsored by Merchant Cash Express

Green Hotel of the Year Award
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Sponsored by Vivreau

Hotel Chef of the Year (less than 250 covers)
Shay Cooper, Bingham
Sponsored by Schwartz for Chef

Hotel Chef of the Year (more than 250 covers)
Steve Munkley, Royal Garden Hotel
Sponsored by Bisto

Hotel Restaurant Manager of the Year Award
Diana Gailiunaite, Docklands Bar and Grill
Sponsored by Matthew Clark

Hotel Restaurant Team of the Year Award
Brasserie Max, Covent Garden Hotel
Sponsored by Tchibo Coffee International

Housekeeper of the Year Award
Barbara Sheridan, Thistle Marble Arch
Sponsored by Sysco Guest Supply Europe

Human Resources Manager of the Year Award
Della Fanning, The Marylebone Hotel
Sponsored by Randstad Hospitality

Human Resources Team of the Year Award
Jumeirah Hotels London
Sponsored by Randstad Hospitality

Spa Professional of the Year Award
Hannah Henley, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
Sponsored by Payot

The Extra Mile Award
Fiona Simm, The Crowne Plaza Cambridge Hotel
Sponsored by Sunlight Textile Services

Outstanding Contribution to the Hotel Industry
Alan Parker
Sponsored by Diversey

Hotelier of the Year Award 2010
Andrew Stembridge
Sponsored by Casna Group


By Janet Harmer

E-mail your comments to Janet Harmer here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk – Caterer’s new networking forum. Go to jobs
Looking for a new job? Find your next hotel job here with jobs


Blogs on
Catch up with more news and gossip on all Caterer’s blogs

For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.

Published by: