Get the latest hospitality news and inspiration straight to your inbox. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Cateys 2017 shortlist revealed

Written by:
Written by:
Cateys 2017 shortlist revealed

The Caterer has revealed the shortlist for the 34th Catey Awards. The biggest awards of their kind in the hospitality industry, the internationally renowned Cateys recognise the strongest performers, latest emerging brands and highest flyers in the sector, as determined by the industry itself.

More than 140 judges, chosen for their expertise and industry knowledge, and past success as Catey winners themselves, met at London’s Dorchester hotel last week for three days of intense debate to discuss the nominees and produce our shortlist.

The winners, representing British hospitality at its best, will be revealed at a glittering event on 4 July at London’s Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel.

To buy tickets for the event, email or to explore sponsorship opportunities contact


Best Employer Award, sponsored by Amadeus
CD Pub Company
Ego Restaurants
Firmdale Hotels
The London Edition

Best Marketing Campaign
Brewhouse & Kitchen
Gordon Ramsay Group
The University of Sheffield

Best Use of Technology
Compass Group UK & Ireland
Edwardian Hotels London
Oliver Maki

Chef Award, sponsored by the Craft Guild of Chefs
Paul Ainsworth, No 6, Padstow, Cornwall
Chris Galvin, Galvin Restaurants
Tom Kerridge, the Hand & Flowers, Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Nathan Outlaw, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, Port Isaac, Cornwall

Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidfood

Andrew Boer, the Edge Hotel School, Colchester, Essex
Hilary Cooke, Merlin Consultancy
Kulsum Hussin, Welcome Skills
David Russell, the Russell Partnership

Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by  Zenith Hygiene
Julia Edmonds, Lexington
Paul Hurren, Lusso Catering (part of CH&Co Group)
Chris Mitchell, the Genuine Dining Co.
Kevin Watson, Amadeus

Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by Charlton House
Artizian Catering
Food Cardiff
Holroyd Howe

Hotel of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl
45 Park Lane, London
Cliveden House, Taplow, Berkshire
Montague on the Gardens, London
Rosewood London

Hotel of the Year  – Independent, sponsored by Sky
The Beaumont, London
Northcote, Langho, Lancashire
The Grove of Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Yorebridge House, Bainbridge, Yorkshire

Manager of the Year, sponsored by Melitta
Oliver Brown, Wivenhoe House, Colchester, Essex
Andrew Foulkes, Abbey Hotel, Bath
Mukesh Kumar, the Belfry Hotel & Resort, Wishaw, Warwickshire

Newcomer Award
Will Bowlby, Kricket, London
Adam Handling, the Frog E1, London
Mark Jarvis, Anglo, London
Nick Stokes, Gourmet Goat, London

Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic
Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns & Restaurants
Hector Ross, Bel & The Dragon
Josh Eggleton, the Pony and Trap, Chew Magna, Somerset
Chris Hill, the New World Trading Company

Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Premier Foods
Patricia Fellows, school meals advisor and former LACA (Lead Association for Catering in Education) chair
Vic Laws, AVL Consultancy
Neel Radia, NACC (National Association of Care Catering)
Phil Shelley, Taunton NHS Trust/Hospital Caterers Association

Restaurateur of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl
Jason Atherton, the Social Company
Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor
Kavi and Shamil Thakrar, Dishoom

Restaurateur of the Year – Independent
Michael Deane, Deanes Restaurant, Belfast
Josh Eggleton, the Pony and Trap, Chew Magna, Somerset
Angela Hartnett, Murano, London
Tom Kerridge, the Hand & Flowers, Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Nathan Outlaw, Nathan Outlaw Restaurants

Sustainable Business Award
The Grove of Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Hotel du Vin Newcastle
Lussmanns Fish & Grill Restaurants
The Oakley Court, Windsor, Berkshire

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award
Craig Bancroft, Northcote, Langho, Lancashire
Matthieu Longuere, Le Cordon Bleu
Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan Group

The shortlist for the Menu of the Year, sponsored by Quorn, will be announced later this month, while the shortlist for the Accessibility Award, sponsored by Bespoke Hotels, will be revealed on the night of the awards.

There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, the Special Award, sponsored by Johnsons Stalbridge, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by PSL – The Food Professionals.

The Caterer would like to thank all its sponsors for the awards. Associate sponsors are Cobra Beer, Highland Spring, Just Chefs, Lantmännen Unibake, Matthew Clark and Schweppes, while supporting partners are Hobart, Perkbox, Staff Heroes, TotalJobs Group, TUCO and Yoyo Wallet.

Catey Awards 2017 open for nominations >>

Rene Redzepi, Bea Tollman and Rick and Jill Stein scoop top Catey honours >>

Start the discussion

Sign in to comment or register new account

Start the working day with

The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign up now for:

  • The latest exclusives from across the industry
  • Innovations, new openings, business news and practical advice
  • The latest product innovations and supplier offers
Sign up for free