Get the latest hospitality news and inspiration straight to your inbox. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Ducasse, Smyth and Hartnett honoured at Craft Guild of Chefs Awards

Written by:
Written by:
Ducasse, Smyth and Hartnett honoured at Craft Guild of Chefs Awards

Alain Ducasse, Clare Smyth and Angela Hartnett were among the winners at last night’s 25th Craft Guild of Chefs awards ceremony.

More than 750 guests attended the event at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, in London.

The first award of the night was presented to Michelin-starred chef and restaurateur Alain Ducasse, who won the new International Chef award for his entrepreneurial and visionary approach.

Meanwhile, Hartnett received the Special Award for her outstanding contribution to the industry, and Smyth won the New Restaurant of the Year award for Core by Clare Smyth.

Accepting the award, Ducasse took the opportunity to urge his fellow chefs to encourage healthier eating and more sustainable sourcing.

He said: “What does it mean to be a chef today? What unites us all? My answer is simple – responsibility. Responsibility towards our teams and our profession, responsibility towards our clients and responsibility for the planet.

“Sharing knowledge with our team is now natural. The more we will educate, the better for the future. I do believe we also have a role to play in healthier eating habits. Healthier foods demand a greater attention to the produce. And behind the produce are the producers, with whom we must become partners to encourage a smart, sustainable agriculture. It is better for taste, for our customers and, eventually, for the planet.”

The International Chef Award judging panel consisted of Steve Munkley, Phil Howard, Angela Hartnett, Jason Atherton, Henry Brosi, Clare Smyth and Lee Maycock and the awards were presented by Craft Guild of Chefs vice-presidents Steve Munkley and David Mulcahy along with James Tanner.

Andrew Bennett, chairman of the Craft Guild of Chefs, said: “These awards are the highlight of the Craft Guild of Chefs calendar where we get the chance to recognise chefs in all sectors of our industry.

“Whether they be apprentices starting out, to the more seasoned professionals, all of them have such an important part to play in the culinary world with their dedication, energy and passion in all that they do.”

An additional 17 awards were presented to winners including the Special Award, which this year honoured Angela Hartnett for her contribution to the industry; while Core by Clare Smyth won New Restaurant of the Year.

The full list of winners included:
• Apprentice Chef Award (sponsored by Compass Group UK & Ireland): John Haworth, CH&Co
• Armed Services Chef Award (sponsored by Vestey Foodservice): Chris Marsden, 167 Catering Support Regiment
• Banqueting & Event Chef Award (sponsored by Pidy UK): Allan Blackmore, Levy Restaurants
• Competition Chef Award (sponsored by McCormick UK): Cpl Liam Grime, Royal Air Force, CSCAT Team
• Contract Catering Chef Award (sponsored by Kerry Foods): David Ward, Sodexo UK & Ireland
• Public Sector Chef Award (sponsored by Rational UK): Lisa Normanton, North West Anglia NHS Foundation Trust
• Development Chef Award (sponsored by Essential Cuisine): Chris Dickinson, Pan’Artisan
• Chef Lecturer Award (sponsored by Fresh Montgomery): Anthony Wright, University College Birmingham
• World Cuisine Chef Award (sponsored by Peppadew): Weng Han Wong, Min Jiang Restaurant
• Innovation Award (sponsored by Quorn): Foods Silo
• International Chef (sponsored by PureSouth): Alain Ducasse
• New Restaurant of the Year Award (sponsored by Jelf Insurance): Core by Clare Smyth
• Pastry Chef Award (sponsored by Carpigiani UK): Simon Jenkins, SNJ Patisserie
• Peoples’ Choice Award (sponsored by Nisbets): Stephen Frost, Sodexo Sports & Leisure
• Pub Restaurant Chef Award (sponsored by Bidfood): Robert Allcock, the Longs Arms
• Restaurant Chef Award (sponsored by Hoshizaki UK) Hrishikesh Desai, Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
• Special Award (sponsored by Sodexo UK & Ireland): Angela Hartnett
• Young Chef Award (sponsored by De Manincor): Faye De Souza, Restaurant Associates

Craft Guild of Chefs Graduate Awards finalists revealed >>

Carden Park hotel senior sous wins North West Young Chef >>

Revealed: The 40 chefs in the running for National Chef of the Year >>

Get The Caterer every week on your smartphone, tablet, or even in good old-fashioned hard copy (or all three!). Subscribe today and save 51%

Start the discussion

Sign in to comment or register new account

Start the working day with

The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign up now for:

  • The latest exclusives from across the industry
  • Innovations, new openings, business news and practical advice
  • The latest product innovations and supplier offers
Sign up for free