ACA rewards three young professionals at Awards of Excellence 2011

15 July 2011 by
ACA rewards three young professionals at Awards of Excellence 2011

Three budding young hospitality professionals have picked up the top awards at the Academy of Culinary Arts during its Awards of Excellence 2011 at Claridge's earlier this week.

Dimitar Angelkovski from the Turnberry Resort picked up the Young Chef of the Year while Stefan Howells from Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons won Young Pastry Chef of the Year. And Sam Ward from the Ritz in London picked up Young Waiter of the Year.

The three winners took home silver trophies (donated by Gordon Hogg and Finclass), Meyer Cookware, Victorinox Knives, a trip to G.H.Mumm Champagne in Reims and a scholarship worth £2,000 thanks to the Savoy Educational Trust, which will this year take the form of a trip to Mexico with Visit Mexico. The three winners will also each spend a day's work experience at the Fat Duck.

The full list of winners (in alphabetical order) was:

In kitchen: Dimitar Angelkovski, Turnberry Resort
Alastair Clayton, Galvin at Windows
Tessa Clingham, Galvin at Windows
Romain Fouquet, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Ryan Murphy, Turnberry Resort
Jamie Randall, Galvin La Chapelle
Paul Reader, The Royal Household, Buckingham Palace
Adam Reid, Simon Radley at the Chester Grosvenor
Ewan Simpson, Claridge's
Michael Tweedie, Lucknam Park Hotel

In pastry: Mike Cope, The Gleneagles Hotel
Paul Dickinson, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Stefan Howells, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Aminuddin Shaikh, Pennyhill Park Hotel and Spa
Glen Sharman, Pennyhill Park Hotel and Spa

In service: Sophie Alaimo, The Westbury Hotel
Houssem Belabed, The Gleneagles Hotel
Tina Diefenbach, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Katie Lister, The Gleneagles Hotel
Johanna Marty, The Royal Automobile Club
Lucia Mottarella, Quirinale Restaurant
Rita Nagy, Turnberry Resort
Johanna Naumann, L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon
David Nicu-Catalin, Galvin Bistrot de Luxe
Wojciech Pastor, The Gleneagles Hotel
Caterina Petragallo, The Gleneagles Hotel
Joao Rocha, The Westbury Hotel
Carlota Santos, The Gleneagles Hotel
Louise Schmidt, The Gleneagles Hotel
Burak Sen, The Ritz London
Romain Taverne, Galvin at Windows
Sam Ward, The Ritz London

To achieve the award candidates had to attain a score of over 70% in the tasks set and judged by industry luminaries chaired by John Williams MBE, executive chef, the Ritz and chairman of the Academy of Culinary Arts

Kitchen finalists had four and a half hours to produce a razor clam starter using ingredients from a mystery box; venison Wellington with fondant potatoes, glazed carrots, stuffed cabbage, celeriac puree and a red wine jus; and a modern interpretation of a lemon meringue dessert.

Pastry finalists had five hours to produce an Easter-themed centrepiece and petits fours including moulded chocolates, financiers and fruit tartlets.

Service finalists were required to decant and describe wines to the judging panel and set up and serve a three-course meal with wines and liqueurs to a table of two guest judges.

The Annual Awards of Excellence 2011 are sponsored by the National Skills Academy for Hospitality, City & Guilds, the Savoy Educational Trust, John Lewis, Maldon Salt, G.H.Mumm Champagne, Gressingham Foods, Allens of Mayfair and Caterer & Hotelkeeper.

ACA Annual Awards of Excellence finalists named >>

ACA names Annual Awards of Excellence winners >>

Video: Elena Salvoni wins Lifetime Achievement Award at the Cateys >>

By Neil Gerrard

E-mail your comments to Neil Gerrard here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk - Caterer's new networking forum. Go to jobs

Looking for a new job? Find your next job here with jobs

[Newsletters For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking