Craft Guild of Chefs unveils nominees for 20th anniversary awards

16 April 2013
Craft Guild of Chefs unveils nominees for 20th anniversary awards

A record number of outstanding entries for the 2013 Craft Guild of Chefs Awards have been examined by a team of expert judges to reveal the nominees for its 15 categories.

The special 20th anniversary awards ceremony takes place on 10 June at the Grosvenor House hotel, Park Lane, London.

There are 16 awards in total, 14 open to nominations, and two in the hands of a special team of Craft Guild member judges.

The Special Award, sponsored by Sodexo, is chosen by the committee of the Craft Guild of Chefs and is presented to the person who has made an outstanding contribution to the industry. The Craft Guild's committee also judges the New Restaurant of the Year Award.

The nominees for each award category are:

Apprentice Chef Award Stephen Dempster, Landmark Hotel
Ruth Hansom, Boundary Restaurant
Philip Pagels, The Royal Household
Louise Roberts, Lexington Catering

Banqueting & Event Chef Award Michael Bullard, West Bromwich Albion FC
Darren Deadman, Levy Restaurants
Tom Parry, Sodexo Prestige

Chef Lecturer Award Vince Cottam, Westminster Kingsway College
Patricia Paskins, University of West London
Jamie Webb-Fryer, RLC, Ministry of Defence

Competition Chef Award Clark Crawley, Deloitte London
Ben Ford, River Island
Javier Mercado, Le Cordon Bleu

Contract Catering Chef Award Jeremy Ford, Restaurant Associates
Danny Leung, Lexington Group
Darren Thompson, Sodexo

Cost Sector Catering Chef Award Rob Bean, University of Leicester
Ivan Hopkins, Nottingham Trent University
Preston Walker, Oak House Residential Home

Development Chef Award Keith Burton, Sodexo Prestige
Sanjay Sighat, The Authentic Food Company
Andy Twells, Eurest Instore

Ethnic Chef Award Giorgio Locatelli, Locanda Locatelli
Lorenzo Richards, Caribbean Express
Alun Sperring, The Chilli Pickle

Military Chef Award Karl Bartlett, Fuel & Food Services Team
Cpl Alun Davies, Catering Team RAF Squadron
Shaun Rowcroft, Royal Marines
Darren Rushforth, Royal Navy

New Restaurant of the Year Award HKK
Restaurant Mark Greenaway

Pastry Chef Award Andrew Ditchfield, House of Commons
Martin Powell, RAC Club
Phill Skinazi, BaxterStorey

People's Choice Award Darryl Arnold, Birmingham City Council
Simon Boyle, Brigade/Beyond Food Foundation
Murray Chapman, First Contact Chefs/A Passion to Inspire
Gareth Johns, Wynnstay Hotel, Machynlleth
David Sharland, The Seafood Restaurant, Padstow
Dawn Stanley, Wathwood Hospital

Pub Restaurant Chef Award Jean-Phillippe Bidart, Millbrook Inn
Stosi Madi, Parkers Arms
Chris Norfolk, The Elm Tree

Restaurant Chef Award Pascal Aussignac, Gascon Connection
Paul Kitching, 21212
Mark Poynton, Restaurant Alimentum

Young Chef Award
Craig Bateman, Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst
Kristian Curtis, Simpsons Restaurant
April Partridge, The Ivy Restaurant

Special Award

TagsAwards and Chef
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking