Dabbous chef Luke Selby wins Roux Scholarship 2017

10 April 2017 by
Dabbous chef Luke Selby wins Roux Scholarship 2017

Luke Selby from one-Michelin-starred restaurant Dabbous has been named winner of the 2017 Roux Scholarship.

The young chef beat five other finalists in a highly fought final held at Westminster Kingsway College, London, today (10 April), where they were asked to prepare and serve lièvre à la royale (hare royal) with chestnut pasta and broccoli in a style of their choosing.

Selby, who took the Young National Chef of the Year title in 2014, was battling it out against Martin Carabott of Luca restaurant, Clerkenwell, London; Michael Cruickshank of Bohemia, St Helier, Jersey; Scott Dineen of BaxterStorey, London; Oliver Downey of Fera at Claridge's, Mayfair, London; and Matthew Whitfield of the Driftwood hotel, Portscatho, Cornwall.

Commenting on Selby's win at the national final, joint chairman of the judges, Michel Roux Jr, told The Caterer: "It's quite a complex and demanding dish, bearing in mind hare is not something current and not something you see very often on menus. But what we were looking for as judges was core and classic skills and a certain amount of knowledge of how to cook and prepare a saddle of hare.

The six finalists - all aged under 30 - had three hours to cook the Escoffier-inspired recipe in front of judges. Third-generation, three-Michelin-starred chef Anne-Sophie Pic led the judging in the role of honorary president of the judges 2017.

Judges Alain and Michel Jr, joint chairmen of the competition, and Pic were also joined by Brian Turner, Andrew Fairlie, James Martin, David Nicholls, Sat Bains, André Garrett and Simon Hulstone.

Selby's win was announced at an awards ceremony at the Langham London in front of an audience of prestigious guests. The competition was live streamed via the Roux Scholarship website, YouTube, Twitter and www.thecaterer.com.

The Dabbous chef receives £6,000 and an invitation to cook and train under the supervision of a leading chef at a three-Michelin-starred restaurant of his choice, anywhere in the world, for up to three months.

The competition, now in its 34th year, is supported by a number of companies including Aubrey Allen, Bragard UK, Bridor, The Caterer, Global Knives, Hildon, the Institute of Hospitality, Laurent-Perrier, Caffe Musetti, Mash Purveyors, Restaurant Associates, TRUEfoods, and Udale Speciality Foods.

Dabbous is expected to close this summer ahead of a major new initiative from the restaurant creators, Ollie Dabbous and Oskar Kinberg.

Six Roux Scholarship national finalists named >>

Eighteen regional Roux Scholarship finalists announced >>

Eden Hotel Collection's Harry Guy wins the Roux Scholarship 2016 >>

Dabbous to close this summer ahead of 'major new initiative' >>

Videos from The Caterer archives

Are you looking for a new role? See all the current hospitality vacancies available with The Caterer Jobs

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking