Finalists announced for National Chef of Wales 2017

24 November 2016 by
Finalists announced for National Chef of Wales 2017

The seven finalists of the National Chef of Wales competition have been announced.

The finalists are: Simon Crockford from the Celtic Manor Resort, Newport; Jason Hughes from Chateau Rhianfa, Menai Bridge; Matthew Smith from Nag's Head, Garthmyl, near Montgomery; Thomas Westerland from Lucknam Park Hotel and Spa, near Bath; Matthew Ramsdale from Sebastians, Oswestry; Anthony Bush from Heronston Hotel, Bridgend; and Danny Burke, 39, co-owner of Olive Tree Catering, Hawarden.

Burke has won the senior and junior National Chef of Wales titles, and has recently returned from the Culinary Olympics in Germany where he obtained three bronze medals.

The final will be split in to two heats on 23 February, which falls on the last day of the Welsh International Culinary Championships at Coleg Llandrillo, Rhos-on-Sea.

The winner will win an all-expenses paid, week long culinary trip to the Netherlands from Koppertcress, a set of knives courtesy of Dick Knives and £250 worth of products from Churchill China. They will also receive Gourmet Classic shopping vouchers.

The winner will also be encouraged to represent Wales in the National Chef of the Year competition.

The competition is organised by the Culinary Association of Wales (CAW), sponsored by Food and Drink Wales.

CAW president Arwyn Watkins praised the quality of entries for both competitions. "We have decided to make Thursday the National Chef of Wales day at the Welsh International Culinary Championships. Due to the calibre of entries, we felt it would be an injustice not to have all seven chefs competing in the final, so we decided to split the final into two heats. It's also great to see three members of the senior Culinary Team Wales and two members of the junior team stepping up as individuals to compete in the finals, which will showcase the culinary talent that the nation has."

The Junior Chef of Wales will hold it's final on 20 February, the first day of the Welsh International Culinary Championships.

Finalists for the junior group include: Harry Paynter-Roberts from the Castle Hotel, Conwy; Steffan Davies from Gidleigh Park, Exeter; James Corbett from the Elephant and Castle Hotel, Newtown; and Harry Osborne from Signatures, Llandudno.

The winner will automatically go through to the UK semi-final of the Junior Chef of the Year contest.

Both competitions are open to chefs who live, work or study in Wales. Chefs born in Wales and working elsewhere can also enter.

Eight semi-finalists announced for National Chef of Wales 2016 >>

Iain Sampson named best chef in Wales >>

National Chef of Wales competition launched >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking