The Caterer

Genuine Dining Company's Rebecca Armstrong crowned 2019 Ace Robyns champion

12 July 2019 by
Genuine Dining Company's Rebecca Armstrong crowned 2019 Ace Robyns champion

The Genuine Dining Company's Rebecca Armstrong has been crowned the 2019 ACE Robyns Award winner by the Association of Catering Excellence (ACE).

The ACE Robyns awards, sponsored by Troika, were founded in memory of CH&Co co-founder Robyn Jones OBE. Armstrong was chosen from a list of finalists (below) who are recognised as emerging talents in contract catering.

Operations manager Armstrong has responsibility for eight sites in London and trains and develops 40 members of staff. She works closely with managers to increase revenue and encourage creativity.

The Genuine Dining Company's managing director Chris Mitchell accepted the award on her behalf at the ACE summer party, held at Kings Place, London.

Sales and marketing manager Danielle Mitchell said: "We are all thrilled for Rebecca. She was shortlisted in 2018, and has done so much in the last year, implementing new schemes and setting up charity initiatives. We're a tribe with different personalities but, crucially, common goals, and I know this will mean a lot to the whole team and our clients."

In second place was Liam Hatcher from CH&Co, with both Emma Abruzzese of Vacherin and Charlotte Rouse of BaxterStorey highly commended.

Tim Jones, who founded CH&Co with his wife Robyn, was one of the judges. He said: "As with last year we had some tremendous entries, making our job of drawing up a shortlist very difficult as many were particularly inspiring, demonstrating the drive and initiative that Robyn was well-known for.

"I would like to congratulate all of the entrants. I know that Robyn would have been very pleased with the winner and with the success of the awards. She would be very humbled that these awards continue in her name."

Armstrong has won an overnight stay at the new Standard London hotel and lifetime membership of the ACE.

The shortlist for this year's ACE Robyns Award are:

• Emma Abruzzese, Vacherin
• Bianca Angelico, Sodexo
• Bee Armstrong, Genuine Dining Co
• Caroline Bacigalupo, BaxterStorey
• Lorna Bell, ISS
• Malah Bhatt, Green & Fortune
• Rosie Cadogan, BaxterStorey
• Liam Hatcher, CH&Co
• Rhiannon Heseltine, Lexington
• Robbie Laidlaw, Genuine Dining Co
• Lewis Linley, Vacherin
• Katherine McKenna, Genuine Dining Co
• Charlotte Rouse, BaxterStorey
• Adam Thomason, Genuine Dining Co

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.