National Chef of the Year finalists named

25 June 2015 by
National Chef of the Year finalists named

The Craft Guild of Chefs has revealed the names of the eight finalists in its National Chef of the Year contest.

They are:

  • Andrew Ditchfield, pastry chef, House of Commons
  • Paul Foster, head chef, Mallory Court
  • Adam Handling, head chef, Adam Handling at Caxton
  • Mark Kempson, head chef, Kitchen W8
  • Luciano Lucioli, head chef, Marks & Spencer Headquarters (Lusso - CH&Co)
  • Lawrence McCarthy, sous chef, the Ledbury restaurant
  • Martin Carabott, sous chef, the Royal Automobile Club
  • Larry Jayasekara, sous chef, Gordon Ramsay Group

The successful chefs were selected following a cook-off at either Sheffield College on 11 June, or at Le Cordon Bleu cookery school in London on 24 June.

The eight finalists will now go on to compete at the National Chef of the Year final at the Restaurant Show on 6 October at Olympia in London.

They will also attend a ‘mentor day' at Knorr Kitchen in Leatherhead, Surrey, on 15 September where they will be presented with a mystery basket of ingredients to use in the final.

The competition has helped to give a boost to the careers of many of the chefs who have won it in the past, including Gordon Ramsay, David Everitt-Matthias, Mark Sargeant, Steve Love, Simon Hulstone, Hrishikesh Desai and last year's winner Russell Bateman.

David Mulcahy, vice-president of the Craft Guild of Chefs and organiser of the competition, said: "The fact that many so many chefs dedicate the time to enter National Chef of the Year year after year proves the difficulty of the competition and its importance in an ambitious chef's career. These eight chefs have demonstrated a high level of technical skill and understanding of seasonality - key elements of this year's brief. However, as in any competition, they will need to raise the bar further if they are to be successful in the final."

The judging of the finals will be chaired by Clare Smyth, chef-patron at the three-Michelin-starred Restaurant Gordon Ramsay.

Smyth said: "This competition is tremendously stressful and a lot of effort goes into it. There's been some phenomenal cooking and some tremendously simple but delicious plates of food.

"It's great to see the same chefs coming back year after year; we are seeing people grow and that's phenomenal."

National Chef of the Year 2014 winner: Russell Bateman >>

Russell Bateman wins National Chef of the Year 2014 >>

*Are you looking for a new role? See all the current hospitality vacancies available with The Caterer* Jobs >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking