Neil Yule named Sodexo Chef of the Year 2015

21 January 2015 by
Neil Yule named Sodexo Chef of the Year 2015

Chef Neil Yule has been named the Sodexo Chef of the Year 2015, after winning the gold best-in-class medal at the grand final, at the 2015 Hospitality Show.

Yule, who is chef for Sodexo's Corporate Services at GSK, cooked alongside chef Daniel Taw, who worked as his ‘commis' in the competition. They cooked a menu of pan-fried line-caught sea bass with crab and chive remoulade and a seasonal pickle garnish; pancetta-wrapped lamb fillet with basil and oregano, crisp herb and Parmesan polenta, with mint and pea puree, broad beans, roast garlic and a lamb stock reduction.

Yule's dessert was a Bramley apple and ginger pudding, with nutmeg ice-cream, shaved candied walnuts, caramel sauce and apple puree.

As well as the title of Sodexo Chef of the Year, Yule also wins a study trip tour of artisan producers, fine-dining experiences, and a collection of cookery training activities at restaurant River Cottage, courtesy of sponsor Leathams.

The 90-minute competition tested eight teams of two chefs (one competing chef and a ‘commis') and demanded that competitors prepare a hot or cold starter using whole fresh sea bass, a main course using fresh lamb fully garnished, a warm or cold dessert using Bramley apples, and a Knorr-branded herb puree supplied by sponsor Unilever Food Solutions. The other sponsor was Churchill.

Judges included Alyn Williams of London's Westbury hotel; Christopher Basten, chef lecturer at Westminster Kingsway College and chairman of the Craft Guild of Chefs; Steve Munkley, executive head chef at the Royal Garden hotel; current Craft Guild of Chefs National Chef of the Year Russell Bateman; outgoing Sodexo Chef of the Year, Louisa Matthews; and David Mulcahy, craft and development director at Sodexo and vice president of the Craft Guild of Chefs.

Tom Beauchamp (commis Ross Clark) of CPU, South Queensferry, also took home a gold medal; Danilo Barbagallo (Azzeddine Mataam) took a silver; Darren Poulter (Shyam Simon) took bronze; as did Andy Clarkson (Camilla Maunsell), and Jonathan Preece (Tom Bill).

Certificates of merit went to Lee Eastman-Thompson (Steve Jarman) and Dennis McCarroll (Colin Ledlie). All commis chefs were awarded certificates of participation.

He said: "The chefs have done brilliantly to just be here, and today we simply want three great courses of food for the chefs to do themselves proud. Not only does this [contest] help identify talent, it also helps Sodexo keep our clients excited and interested, it improves the skills of the chefs, and the quality of the food that we serve every day."

The contest took place on Tuesday 20 January, as part of the Live Theatre line-up at the Salon Culinaire, at the 2015 Hospitality Show at the Birmingham NEC. The show is taking place until 21 January.

Hotelympia Salon Culinaire 2014 - medal winners >>

Sodexo Chef of the Year 2013 - Winner's trip to Italy >>

VIDEO: Raymond Cavanagh wins Sodexo Chef of the Year title >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking