RACA names Annual Awards of Excellence finalists

21 April 2015 by
RACA names Annual Awards of Excellence finalists

The Royal Academy of Culinary Arts has revealed the names of the 47 candidates in three categories that have made it through to the finals of its Annual Awards of Excellence (AAE) 2015.

The finalists are:


Viktorija Bernataviciute - the Elephant restaurant
Stacey Harris KPMG - Restaurant Associates
Danny Hoang - Colette's restaurant
Dorian Janmaat - Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Robin McCrindle - Chez Roux Restaurant at Cromlix House
Aaron Middleton - Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Richard Pascoe - Feversham Arms hotel
Theodore Selby Belmond - Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Michael Thompson - Fera at Claridge's
Tom Waters - Odette's restaurant
Peter Webster - Galvin Bistrot de Luxe
Hannah Westphalen - Lexington Catering


Jamie Butler Belmond - Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Gabriella Cugno - William Curley
Rebecca Gawn - Bachmann's Patisserie
Roberto Guzzi - the Langham hotel
Theresa Martinez - the Park Lane hotel
Paul Maxwell - the Ritz London
Elisha Shek - Yauatcha
Stephen Smith - the Ritz London
Jess Thorne - the Mason Arms


Ferraro Ambrogio - the Ritz London
Kevin Barbry - Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Thomas Borghi - the Ritz London
Jonathan Boyer - Luton Hoo
Enzo Buonocore - the Ritz London
Andrea Caputo - the Ritz London
Claudiu Gheorghita - Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Manolo Giannico - the Ritz London
Alex Golding - Rudding Park
Emily Goossens - Northcote
Peter Ioannou - Sea Containers at Mondrian London
Lucy Jones - Chewton Glen hotel & spa
Owen Haydn Jones - the Gleneagles hotel
Michelle Maida-Re - the Gleneagles hotel
Stanislas Mascaro - the Waterside Inn
Louis Muller - the Ritz London
Gabriela Murea - Opus restaurant
Declan Nye - Cliveden House hotel
Benjamin Sananes - Le Gavroche
Jennifer Santner - Fenchurch Seafood Bar and Grill
Christoph Schrottenbaum - Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
Klaus Schwebach - the Gleneagles hotel
Ilias Skordilis - the Gleneagles hotel
Ross Teven - the Gleneagles hotel
Jamie Tones - Café 21
Lucy Yates - the Gleneagles hotel

The Service finals will take place at Le Gavroche on Saturday 16 May and the Gleneagles hotel on Monday 26 May; Kitchen and Pastry finals will take place at the University of West London on Wednesday 3 June.

The AAE is not a competition as there is no first, second and third place, but instead any number of candidates can achieve the standard of excellence set by leading figures within the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts and the hospitality industry.

Judges of the awards include: Heston Blumenthal, chef patron of the Fat Duck and honorary president of the AAE 2015: John Williams, chairman of the AAE and executive chef of the Ritz in London. The chairmen of the kitchen are: Martyn Nail, executive chef of Claridge's, and Adam Byatt, chef patron of Trinity. The chairmen of pastry are: Yolande Stanley MCA, lecturer in patisserie at Westminster Kingsway College, and Sarah Hartnett, head pastry chef at the Park Lane hotel. Chairmen of Service are: Sergio Rebecchi and John Cousins, director, the Food and Beverage Training Company.

Royal Academy of Culinary Arts AAE semi-finalists announced >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking