Record number of honours for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2015

15 April 2015 by
Record number of honours for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2015

The Craft Guild of Chefs has presented a record number of honours and awards to its members and supporters as part of its 50th anniversary celebrations.

Nominated by the membership and ratified by the Vice Presidents' Council, the honours and awards are presented annually, and this year's roll-call included more than 60 recipients.

The Special Achievement Award went to Pauline Tucker, vice-president, trustee and London division representative, while the Craft Guild of Chefs Culinary World Cup Team picked up the Team of the Year Award thanks to its strong performance in Luxembourg last year. Team manager Fergus Martin also received the Chairman's Award for extraordinary service.

Hayden Groves and Russell Bateman, former and current National Chef of the Year titleholders respectively, received honorary memberships, while the 2013 and 2014 Young National Chef of the Year winners, Ben Champkin and Luke Selby, were awarded Rising Stars.

Professor David Foskett was named National Hero in recognition of his long-term work to promote the Craft Guild, while Martin Bates and his wife Angie also received a special presentation to mark his retirement from chief executive next month.

The editor of The Caterer, Amanda Afiya, was presented with a Diploma for Support alongside eight others in the same category.

All awards were presented at a ceremony held at the Royal Garden hotel in London's Kensington on 12 April, following the organisation's Annual General Meeting.

They were presented by Craft Guild chairman Christopher Basten, Vice Presidents' Council chairman Stephen Scuffell , and the president of the Craft Guild of Chefs, Vice Admiral Tony Johnstone-Burt.


Rising Stars

  • Ben Champkin
  • Connor Godfrey
  • Daniel Lee
  • James Newton
  • Luke Selby
  • Nicholas Cottrell
  • Victoria Scupham
  • Wayne Harrington

Local Heroes

  • Ian Nottage
  • Ian Parsons
  • Jane Livermore
  • Nick Creed
  • Simon Farrell

National Hero

  • Professor David Foskett

Diploma for Support

  • Amanda Afiya
  • Andrew Archer
  • Bev Puxley
  • Billie Moore
  • Craig Miles
  • Graham Hornigold
  • Julia Sibley MBE
  • Paschal Tiernan
  • Will Torrent

Outstanding Support Award

  • Sheila Eggleston
  • Tommy Moran

Diploma for 50 Years' Membership

  • Brian Gunn
  • Peter Richards

Team of the Year

Craft Guild of Chefs Culinary World Cup Team:

  • Fergus Martin
  • Christopher Basten
  • Stephan Wylie
  • Lea Eastman Thompson
  • Matthew Edmonds
  • Steve Jarman
  • Theo Dalton Maag
  • Samuel Jones
  • Nathan Gayle

Bronze Medal

  • Barry Jones
  • John Feeney
  • Nick Wort
  • Terry Tinton

Silver Medal

  • Ben Bartlett
  • Wayne Harris

Gold Medal

  • Lee Maycock


  • Hazel Mulberry
  • Neil Thomson


  • Matt Owens

Honorary Membership

  • Hayden Groves
  • Russell Bateman

College Certificate

  • Guernsey College of Further Education
  • Highlands College
  • The Sheffield College

Company Award

  • Caterer Licensee & Hotelier News
  • Coastline Produce
  • Continental Chef Supplies
  • Dingley Dell Pork
  • Find a Future
  • Major International Ltd
  • Shevill Exhibitions
  • Tate Catering

Chairman's Shield

  • The City of Liverpool College

Chairman's Award

  • Fergus Martin

President's Trophy

  • Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott hotel

Order of Merit

  • David Mulcahy
  • Robert William Kendrew

Special Achievement Award

  • Pauline Tucker

Full nominees list announced for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2014 >>

Eric Chavot honoured with Special Award at Craft Guild of Chefs Awards >>

Saturday Kitchen's James Martin honoured with special award at Craft Guild of Chefs Awards >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking