Royal Academy of Culinary Arts AAE semi-finalists announced

13 March 2015 by
Royal Academy of Culinary Arts AAE semi-finalists announced

The Royal Academy of Culinary Arts has announced the names of its Annual Awards of Excellence 2015 semi-finalists.

The semi-finalists are:


  • Bradley Armitage Scrace, Northcote
  • Viktorija Bernataviciute, the Elephant Restaurant
  • Jharvari Brade, Galvin La Chapelle
  • Jack Brooks, White's Club
  • Alexander Brownrigg, the Manor House, Castle Combe
  • Marta Confente, the Ritz London
  • Jamie Doe, Andre Garrett at Cliveden
  • Alex Dome, Petersham Nurseries restaurant
  • Ronald Dzepasi, Lancaster London
  • Stacey Harris, KPMG Restaurant Associates
  • Daniel Heffy, the Art School
  • Mark Hemsley, Alexander House
  • Danny Hoang, Colette's restaurant
  • Dorian Janmaat, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Tom Lawson, Rafters restaurant
  • Joshua Lones, the Lowry hotel
  • Robin McCrindle, Chez Roux restaurant at Cromlix House
  • Adam McKinnon-Brahams, the Ritz London
  • Aaron Middleton, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Leonardo Midei, Galvin at Windows
  • Joanna Moore, Lexington Catering
  • Jack O'Sullivan, the Angel Inn, Heton
  • Richard Pascoe, Feversham Arms hotel
  • Thomas Peters, Roux at Parliament Square
  • Mark Pocock, Deloitte Restaurant Associates
  • Aaron Quaife, Odette's restaurant
  • Jack Rawlings, Coutts Bank
  • Maria Riga, the Wolseley
  • Theodore Selby, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Kevin Steele, Opus restaurant
  • Adam Stewart, Scott's
  • Michael Thompson, Fera at Claridge's
  • Paul Tyrrell, Trump Turnberry
  • Tom Waters, Odette's restaurant
  • Peter Webster, Galvin Bistrot de Luxe
  • Thomas Westerland, Lucknam Park hotel
  • Hannah Westphalen, Lexington Catering
  • Daniel Young, Northcote


  • Lindsey Alexander, Costley's Patisserie
  • Jamie Anglesea, Lucknam Park hotel
  • Francesca Barbera, the Delaunay restaurant
  • Kieron Gail Bello, Mondrian London
  • Lauren Boyle, Le Meridien Piccadilly
  • Jamie Butler, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Francesco Coratella, Hakkasan Mayfair
  • Gabriella Cuano, William Curley
  • Antonia Fulton, Yauatcha
  • Rebecca Gawn, Bachmann's Patisserie
  • Hannah Gurr, Hakkasan Hanway Place
  • Roberto Guzzi, the Langham hotel
  • Courtney-Jane Gwatkin, Ashurst
  • Elizabeth Hardy, Lancaster London hotel
  • Philip Harrison, Hartwell House hotel
  • Nick Henn, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Kanyo Kincso, The Arts Club
  • Ho Lam Kwan, Hakkasan Mayfair
  • Malek Larbi, Pennyhill Park hotel
  • Theresa Martinez, the Park Lane hotel
  • Paul Maxwell, the Ritz London
  • Kevin Ng, Hakkasan Mayfair
  • Tsz Ching Shek, Yauatcha
  • Maria Skinner, the Ritz London
  • Stephen Smith, the Ritz London
  • Jess Thorne, the Mason Arms
  • Sebastian Williams, ME Hotel London


  • Ferraro Ambrogio, the Ritz London
  • Kevin Barbry, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Thomas Borghi, the Ritz London
  • Jonathan Boyer, Luton Hoo
  • Enzo Buonocore, the Ritz London
  • Andrea Caputo, the Ritz London
  • Soraya Cupe Collado, Mondrian London
  • Virginia De Craecker, Mondrian London
  • Andrea Fincato, the Ritz London
  • Camila Foletto, Lancaster London
  • Luca Galioto, L'Escargot
  • Claudiu Gheorghita, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Manolo Giannico, the Ritz London
  • Alex Golding, Rudding Park
  • Emily Goosens, Northcote
  • Peter Ioannou, Sea Containers at Mondrian London
  • Lucy Jones, Chewton Glen hotel & spa
  • Owen Haydn Jones, the Gleneagles Hotel
  • Claire Le Jollec, the Square
  • Manon Lelandais, the Don restaurant
  • Michelle Maida-Re, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Stanislas Mascaro, the Waterside Inn
  • Louis Muller, the Ritz London
  • Gabriela Murea, Opus restaurant
  • Declan Nye, Cliveden House hotel
  • Bradley Pace, Purnell's Restaurant
  • Caroline Park, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Grace Parker-White, Berners Tavern
  • Mark Ross, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Joseph Rowlands, Upstairs at the Grill
  • Stephen Rutherford, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Benjamin Sananes, Le Gavroche
  • Jennifer Santner, Galvin at Windows
  • Christoph Schrottenbaum, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
  • Klaus Schwebach, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Giuseppe Scudiero, the Ritz London
  • Ilias Skordilis, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Ross Teven, the Gleneagles hotel
  • Amelia Thornhill, the Plough Inn
  • Jamie Tones, Café 21
  • Stefanie Trixl, Andre Garrett at Cliveden
  • Lucy Yates, the Gleneagles hotel

Rather than being a competition, the AAE is an examination and all or none of the candidates can achieve the award, depending on their ability to reach the standard set by the judges.

The winning candidate who scores the most marks in each section will be named the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Young Chef, Young Pastry Chef, and Young Waiter 2015.

Semi-finals will take place around the country during March and April.

John Williams MBE, executive head chef of the Ritz, is the chairman of the AAE. Honorary president is Heston Blumenthal OBE. Joint chairmen of the kitchen are Martyn Nail and Adam Byatt. Joint chairmen of pastry are Yolande Stanley MCA and Sarah Hartnett. Joint chairmen of service are Sergio Rebecchi and John Cousins.

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking