Suzanne Duncan named School Chef of the Year 2010

12 May 2010
Suzanne Duncan named School Chef of the Year 2010

Suzanne Duncan has been named School Chef of the Year 2010.

Duncan, who is employed by North Ayrshire council, works at the Irvine Royal Academy, Irvine, Scotland. She was voted Britain's top school chef by a panel of judges at the national final held at Sheffield City College last night, and the winners were announced at a breakfast reception held this morning.

Her winning entry was a main course of turkey kebabs with summer salsa and a mint yoghurt dip and flat bread followed by a dessert of strawberry, rhubarb & ginger layered cheesecake.

On winning the national title, Suzanne Duncan said: "I was totally stunned to win. It was such an honour to be competing alongside such talented people. They were all so professional and I couldn't believe the standard. To win against this was incredible and a great accolade".

Suzanne Duncan, School chef of the Year2010
Suzanne Duncan, School chef of the Year2010
Suzanne Duncan with her winning dishes and Steve Oram, chair of the judging panel

Elizabeth Bourbonneux of Dickens Heath Community School, Solihull, became the first winner of the new marketing award, which was introduced for the first time this year to acknowledge the creativity and efforts put into the display tables produced by the finalists as a backdrop to their dishes.

The winner of the highly commended main course prize was Tanya Watkin of Eaton Bray Lower School, Dunstable for her main course of lamb and filo scrunchy.

The Competition is organised annually by the Local Authority Caterers Association (LACA) and is sponsored by Maggi from Nestlé Professional.

School caterers are deeply concerned about their ability to sustain a quality school meals service if the School Lunch Grant is discontinued. Funding for the school meals service is due to end in March 2011. LACA, in partnership with Caterer and Hotelkeeper, have launched the School Meals Matter campaign calling on the government-elect to sustain the School Lunch Grant or risk undoing five years of positive improvements in school meals.

Sign the petition now -

Debbie Mumford named School Chef of the Year 2009 >>

Sodexo chef named School Chef of the Year 2008 >>

LACA School Chef of the Year 2007 revealed >>

E-mail your comments to Janie Stamford here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk - Caterer's new networking forum. Go to jobs
Looking for a new job? Find your next job here with jobs

Blogs on]( Catch up with more news and gossip on all Caterer's blogs
[Newsletters For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking