Winners announced of Royal Academy of Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence 2013

01 July 2013 by
Winners announced of Royal Academy of Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence 2013

The Royal Academy of Culinary Arts has announced the winners of the Annual Awards of Excellence 2013.

All the successful candidates - chosen following finals held at Le Gavroche, Gleneagles hotel, University of West London and Westminster Kingsway College - had to attain a score of over 70% in a series of tasks set and judged by leading industry personalities, headed by chairman of the Royal Academy and executive chef of the Ritz London, John Williams.

The Annual Awards of Excellence aim to inspire and encourage young people to achieve the highest possible standards in their chosen sector of hospitality and offer them clear guidelines for success in their career.

The kitchen finalists had four and a half hours to produce a pasta and crayfish starter using ingredients from a mystery box which included a whole baked turbot on the bone, Jersey royal potatoes and fresh asparagus, as well as create a modern interpretation of a floating island.

Meanwhile, the pastry finalists had to produce a modernised sacher torte decorated with elaborate tempered chocolate work, a chocolate stand on which they had to present their sacher torte, petits foursand a savoury quiche, over a period of five and a half hours.

In the service final, the candidates were required to decant and describe wines to the judging panel, as well as set up and serve a three-course meal with wines and liqueurs to a table of two guest judges.

The winning candidates will be presented with their awards at a gala dinner at the Royal Horseguards hotel, London, on 15 July, when the three candidates who have scored the highest mark in each section will be announced and awarded travel scholarships, courtesy of the Savoy Educational Trust.

The winners are:
Matthew Ambrose, Claridge's
Josh Bingham, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Sven-Hanson Britt, The Ritz London
Sophie Fenlon, Trinity Restaurant
William Gordon, Odette's Restaurant
Andrew Newbon, Claridge's

PASTRY: Clare Fletcher, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Lucy Jones, the Ritz London
Matthew Jones, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Shaun Mason, the Royal Household
Brynley Phipps, William Curley
Denver Schroffner, the Arts Club
Nicole Waefler, William Curley
Zhaokun Xu, Savoy

Alexander Austin, Lucknam Park Hotel
Christoph Bodnar, Turnberry Resort
Charles Carron Brown, the Ritz London
Hugo Clavaud, Le Gavroche
Rebecca Dibben, Gleneagles
Connor Donaldson, Gleneagles
Caitlin Flannighan, Turnberry Resort
Alba Moure Torres, Turnberry Resort
Matteo Paroni, Le Gavroche
Sarah Plowman, Clock Tower at Rudding Park
Stephanie Robertson, Roux at Parliament Square
Ben Robertson, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Hugo Santos, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
Kim Siekmann, Gleneagles
Sarah Stegfellner, Kitchen W8
Manuel Tempesta, Le Gavroche
Seana Tully, Gleneagles
Adam Willis, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Milda Zolubaite, Le Gavroche

The Academy of Culinary Arts unveils Annual Awards of Excellence finalists >>

Academy of Culinary Arts names 2012 Awards of Excellence winners >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking