Women 1st announces shortlist for 2012 Shine Awards

Women 1st announces shortlist for 2012 Shine Awards

The shortlist for the 2012 Shine Awards, which recognise and celebrate female success within the hospitality, leisure, travel and tourism industry, has been announced by Women 1st.

This year's winners will be revealed at a gala dinner on 19 June, hosted by radio and television presenter Emma Forbes at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel, following the inaugural Women 1st Conference (people1st.co.uk/conference).

The evening will also see 25 inspirational women inducted into the Women 1st Top 100 Club.

The shortlist for each category is as follows:

Outstanding Entrepreneur
â- Rachael Fidler, managing director, HTP Training
â- Kate Martin, managing partner, the Brookwood Partnership
â- Freda Newton, managing director, Jacobite Cruises
â- Carolyne Vale, joint managing director and co-founder, Wilson Vale

Rising Star â- Caroline Harris, marketing director - Costa Enterprises, Costa Coffee
â- Claire Jones, first officer, Flybe
â- Cassandra Leicester, assembly and manufacturing leadership development scheme trainee, Rolls-Royce
â- Lisa Mullaney, assistant general manager, Dishoom
â- Emily Perry, marketing manager, Learnpurple

Mentor of the Year â- Alessandra Alonso, independent management consultant and coach mentor
â- Liz Chandler, director - corporate development, Merseytravel
â- Carol Hay, director of marketing UK and Europe, Caribbean Tourism Organisation
â- Pippa Isbell, chief executive, PRCo
â- Paula Rogers, managing director, Admiral Recruitment

Woman of the Year â- Zoe Jenkins, general manager, Coworth Park
â- Carolyn McCall, chief executive, Easyjet
â- Jill McDonald, CEO UK and president Northern Division, McDonald's Restaurants
â- Carolyne Vale, co-founder and managing director, Wilson Vale
â- Angela Vickers, managing director, Apex Hotels

Lifetime Achievement â- Lady Penelope Cobham, chair, VisitEngland
â- Jackie Cupper, operations director, Spirit Pub Company
â- Avril Owton, owner, the Cloud Hotel
â- Jill Stein, director, Seafood Restaurant
â- Tanya Wheway, chairman, Wheway Lifestyle International

The shortlist for the large and small business of the year awards will be announced separately.

By Janie Manzoori-Stamford

E-mail your comments to Janie Manzoori-Stamford here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk - Caterer's new networking forum. Go to www.catererandhotelkeeper.com/tabletalk

Catererandhotelkeeper.com jobs

Looking for a new job? Find your next job here with Catererandhotelkeeper.com jobs

Blogs on Catererandhotelkeeper.com ](http://www.catererandhotelkeeper.com/blogs) Catch up with more news and gossip on all Caterer's blogs
[E-Newsletters](http://www.catererandhotelkeeper.com/email-newsletters.htm)[ For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our E-newsletters
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking