2008 Hotel Cateys shortlist announced

07 August 2008
2008 Hotel Cateys shortlist announced

The shortlist of nominations for this year's Hotel Cateys has been announced.

The awards, organised by Caterer, were launched last year to complement the Cateys and are designed to allow hoteliers to celebrate the achievements of their staff and give them the recognition they deserve.

As with the Cateys, contenders for the Hotel Cateys have been nominated, selected and recognised by judging panels consisting of their industry peers.

Awards include Conference and Banqueting Front of House Manager of the Year Green Hotel of the Year Hotel Restaurant Team of the Year Housekeeper of the Year and Human Resources Team of the Year as well as the Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Award, which last year went to Travelodge boss Grant Hearn.

The list of nominations this year reads like a who's who in the hotel industry and ranges from big players including Four Seasons, Hilton, Premier Inn and Starwood Hotels and Resorts, to smaller groups such as Abode Hotels, Malmaison and Yotel.

The 2008 Hotel Cateys will be presented at an awards ceremony on Friday 7 November at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London. To book your table e-mail cathy.fuller@rbi.co.uk. For sponsorship opportunities contact Robert Adam at robert.adam@rbi.co.uk.


Conference and Banqueting AwardSponsored by Tchibo Coffee International Rudding Park, Harrogate
Celtic Manor Resort, Newport
The Landmark Hotel, London
De Vere Whites, Bolton
Four Seasons Hotel, Hampshire

Food and Wine Service AwardSponsored by Abbey Well Garry Clarke, The Chester Grosvenor and Spa, Chester
Giuseppe Vurchio, The Macdonald Randolph, Oxford
Nico Chieze, Sharrow Bay, Penrith

Food and Beverage Manager of the Year AwardSponsored by Brakes Richard Ellison, Old Course Hotel, Fife
Jamie Stevens, ABode Hotel, Bath
Steven Laine, Grosvenor House Hotel, London

Front of House Manager of the Year Award Chiara DiRienzo, Hilton London Metropole
Ankur Ahuja, Grosvenor House, London
Carly Taylor, Ston Easton Park Hotel, Bath

Front of House Team of the Year AwardSponsored by Alacer Jurys Inn, Manchester
Macdonald Bear Hotel, Woodstock, Oxford
Yotel, Heathrow

Green Hotel of the Year AwardSponsored by Ozone Clean Strattons Hotel, Norfolk
Cottage Lodge, Brockenhurst, Hampshire
Brighton House, Brighton
Bedruthan Steps, Cornwall

Hotel Chef of the Year (less than 250 covers) Simon Radley, The Chester Grosvenor and Spa, Chester
Colin Akrigg, Sharrow Bay, Penrith
John Williams, The Ritz, London

Hotel Chef of the Year (more than 250 covers)Sponsored by Enodis
Simon Young, Jumeirah Carlton Tower, London
Fred Tobin, The Royal Yacht Hotel, Jersey
Anthony Marshall, London Hilton on Park Lane

Hotel Restaurant Manager of the Year AwardSponsored by Heinz Loris Lucchini, The Chesterfield, Mayfair, London
Russell Cocks, Pearl Restaurant & Bar Renaissance Chancery Court, London
Bruno Lucchi, The Midland Hotel, Manchester
Hannah Aldridge, Malmaison, Manchester

Hotel Restaurant Team of the Year Award One-O-One, Sheraton Park Tower Hotel, London
Princes Dining Rooms, Ramada Mount Royal Hotel, Edinburgh
The Radisson SAS, Birmingham
The Granary Beefeater Restaurant (Ferry Meadows) Peterborough, Premier Inn, Peterborough

Housekeeper of the Year AwardSponsored by Casna Jean Roberts, Hotel du Vin, Harrogate
Binh Tran, Four Seasons Hotel, Canary Wharf
Tracey Hubar, Malmaison, Newcastle
Marin Betlemovic, The Park Lane Hotel, London

Human Resources Manager of the Year AwardSponsored by Caterer.com Sean Wheeler, Malmaison and Hotel du Vin
Heike Becker, Hyatt Regency London, The Churchill
Sam Hayter, Starwood Hotels and Resorts
Della Fanning, Holiday Inn, Chessington

Human Resources Team of the Year Award The Dorchester, London
Travelodge, Central HR Team
Starwood Hotels and Resorts, Sheraton Park, London

Spa Manager of the Year Award Nicola Williams, Malmaison, Birmingham
Annette Townend, Marriott Hotel, Forest of Arden
Lynsey Kettlewell, Hotel du Vin, Cheltenham
Susie Hall, Malmaison, Newcastle

The Extra Mile AwardGuest Relations Team, The Berkeley, London Maxine McDonnell, Four Seasons Hotel, Hampshire
Sam Hall, Sharrow Bay, Penrith
Gloucester East (Barnwood) Team, Premier Inn

Outstanding ContributionSponsored by Gauntlet Insurance The winner of this category will be announced on the night!
Hotelier of the Year
Sponsored by Louis Jadot The closing date for Hotelier of the Year is Friday 8th August. By presenting this prestigious award in front of an audience of young hotel professionals, we aim to provide aspiring hoteliers with exemplars whose successes they can mimic in their own careers.Sponsor

TagsAwards and Hotels
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking