Search
The Caterer

AA-listed four red-star hotels

12 February 2009
AA-listed four red-star hotels

STAR STANDARDS

Red star (as opposed to black star) hotels represent the most outstanding examples in each star category

One star Staff provide a prompt, polite and informal service. The majority of rooms are en suite and there is a designated eating area serving breakfast everyday and dinner most evenings.

Two star Staff are smartly presented and provide a well-informed service. Rooms are generously proportioned. Breakfast and dinner are available seven days a week.

Three star An ample number of easily identified staff, who are able to anticipate requirements. All rooms have en suite bathrooms. Meals are cooked and presented to a good standard, using good quality ingredients.

Four star Attentive staff provide a very good level of service. At least half of the rooms will have an en suite bath and a shower. At least one restaurant offering a good range of hot and cold skilfully prepared food.

Five star Impeccably dressed staff provide attentive and unobtrusive service. All bedrooms will have an en suite bathroom with a bath and thermostatically controlled shower. Meals are cooked and presented to an excellent standard using high quality ingredients.

AA-LISTED FOUR RED-STAR HOTELS IN GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND

LONDON

The Levin, London SW3AA entry

ENGLAND
Alexander House hotel](http://www.alexanderhouse.co.uk/) & Utopia Spa, Turners Hill, West Sussex[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377775) entry
[Amberley Castle hotel](http://www.amberleycastle.co.uk), Amberley, Arundel, West Sussex[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/530664) entry
[Ashdown Park hotel](http://www.ashdownpark.com/) and Country Club, Forest Row, East Sussex[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378779) entry
[The Bath Priory hotel and restaurant](http://www.thebathpriory.co.uk/), Bath, Somerset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379227) entry
[Calcot Manor](http://www.calcotmanor.co.uk/), Tetbury, Gloucestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377010) entry
[Charlton House](http://www.charltonhouse.com/), Shepton Mallet, Somerset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379478) entry
[Chilston Park hotel](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/), Lenham, Kent[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377878) entry
[Cotwsold House hotel](http://www.cotswoldhouse.com/), Chipping Camden, Glos AA entry
[Crathorne Hall hotel](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/), Crathorne, North Yorkshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380890) entry
[The Devonshire Arms Country House hotel & Spa](http://www.devonshirehotels.co.uk/), Bolton Abbey, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379239) entry
[Eastwell Manor](http://www.eastwellmanor.co.uk/), Ashford, Kent [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379082) entry
[Ettington Park hotel](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/), Alderminster, Warrington [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379907) entry
[Fawsley Hall](http://www.fawsleyhall.com/), Daventry, Northamptonshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380211) entry
[Fredrick's hotel, restaurant & spa](http://www.fredricks-hotel.co.uk/), Maidenhead, Berkshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381117) entry
[Gidleigh Park](http://www.gidleigh.com), Chagford, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377017) entry
[Gilpin Lodge Country House hotel & restaurant](http://www.gilpinlodge.co.uk/), Windermere, Cumbria[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380588) entry
[Hambleton Hall](http://www.hambletonhall.com/), Oakham, Rutland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378006) entry
[Hartwell House hotel, restaurant & Spa](http://www.hartwell-house.com/), Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377772) entry
[Hintlesham Hall hotel](http://www.hintleshamhall.com/), Hintlesham, Suffolk [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380903) entry
[Holbeck Ghyll Country House hotel](http://www.holbeckghyll.com/), Windermere, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380765) entry
[Jesmond Dene House hotel](http://www.jesmonddenehouse.co.uk/), Newcastle upon Tyne[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377323) entry
[Lainston House hotel](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/), Winchester, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379661) entry
[Langshott Manor](http://www.alexanderhotels.co.uk/langshott/), Horley, Surrey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/379368) entry
[Lords of the Manor](http://www.lordsofthemanor.com/), Upper Slaughter, Glos[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377062) entry
[Macdonald Compleat Angler](http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/compleatangler/), Marlow, Bucks[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377422) entry
[Manor House hotel and Golf Club](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/), Castle Combe, Wiltshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379119) entry
[Middlethorpe Hall & Spa](http://www.middlethorpe.com/), York, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381238) entry
[Nunsmere Hall Country House hotel](http://www.nunsmere.co.uk/nunsmere/default-en.html), Sandiway, Cheshire [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377083)entry
[Rhinefield House](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/), Brockenhurst, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378674) entry
[Rudding Park hotel & Golf](http://www.ruddingpark.com/), Harrogate, North Yorkshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377233) entry
[Stapleford Park](http://www.staplefordpark.com/), Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380199) entry
[Summer Lodge](http://www.summerlodgehotel.co.uk/), Evershot, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377202) entry
[Swinfen Hall hotel](http://www.swinfenhallhotel.co.uk/), Lichfield, Staffordshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378200) entry
[Swinton Park](http://www.swintonpark.com/), Masham, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377766) entry
[Tylney Hall hotel](http://www.tylneyhall.com/), Rotherwick, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379673) entry
[Wood Hall hotel](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/), Wetherby, West Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377068) entry
WALES
[Bodysgallen Hall and Spa](http://www.bodysgallen.com/), Llandudno, Conwy[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379345) entry
[Osborne House](http://www.osbornehouse.com/), Llandudno, Conwy[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378456) entry
SCOTLAND
[Airds hotel](http://www.airds-hotel.com/), Port Appin, Argyll & Bute[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378281) entry
[Balbirnie House](http://www.balbirnie.co.uk/), Markinch, Fife[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377781) entry
[Channings](http://www.channings.co.uk/), Edinburgh[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378355) entry
[Cringletie House](http://www.cringletie.com/), Peebles, Scottish Borders [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377980) entry
[Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens](http://www.hotelduvin.com/), Glasgow [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377812) entry
[Inver Lodge hotel](http://www.inverlodge.com/), Lochinver, Highland[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380246) entry
[Kinnaird](http://www.kinnairdestate.com/), Dunkeld, Perth & Kinross[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380149) entry
[Lochgreen House hotel](http://www.lochgreenhouse.co.uk/), Troon, South Ayrshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378432) entry
[Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens](http://www.onedevonshiregardens.com/), Glasgow [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377812) entry
[Rufflets Country House & Garden restaurant](http://www.rufflets.co.uk/), St Andrews, Fife [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380082) entry
[The Torridon](http://www.thetorridon.com/), By Achnasheen, Wester Ross [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377244) entry
CHANNEL ISLANDS
[The Atlantic hotel](http://www.theatlantichotel.com/), St Brelade, Jersey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377674) entry
[The Club hotel & Spa](http://www.huggler.com/index.cfm), St Helier, Jersey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377670) entry
REPUBLIC OF IRELAND
[The Clarence](http://www.theclarence.ie/), Dublin[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379870) entry
[Hayfield Manor](http://www.hayfieldmanor.ie/), Cork[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377592) entry
[Kelly's Resort hotel](http://www.kellys.ie/), Rosslare, Wexford[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379435) entry
[Mount Juliet Conrad hotel](http://www.mountjuliet.com/), Thomastown, Kilkenny[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380357) entry
[Portmarnock hotel & Golf Links](http://www.portmarnock.com/), Portmarnock, Dublin[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379816) entry
[Waterford Castle hotel](http://www.waterfordcastle.com/), Waterford [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378149) entry
[View all the AA-listed five-star and five red-star hotels here >> ](http://www.caterersearch.com/Articles/2006/12/20/310563/aa-listed-five-star-hotels.htm)[View all the AA-listed three red-star hotels here >>](http://www.caterersearch.com/Articles/2006/11/22/310154/aa-listed-three-red-star-hotels.htm) [View all the AA-listed two and one red-star hotels here >>](http://www.caterersearch.com/Articles/2006/11/22/310155/aa-listed-one-and-two-red-star-hotels.htm) [Return to the CatererSearch AA hotels homepage >> ](http://www.caterersearch.com/Articles/2006/11/17/310144/top-aa-listed-hotels-in-great-britain-and-ireland.htm) All AA-listed hotels can be found on the [AA website.

Continue reading

You need to be a premium member to view this. Subscribe from just 99p per week.

Already subscribed?

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!