Search
The Caterer

AA-listed three red-star hotels

12 February 2009
AA-listed three red-star hotels

STAR STANDARDS

Red star (as opposed to black star) hotels represent the most outstanding examples in each star category

- One star Staff provide a prompt, polite and informal service. The majority of rooms are en suite and there is a designated eating area serving breakfast everyday and dinner most evenings.

- Two star Staff are smartly presented and provide a well-informed service. Rooms are generously proportioned. Breakfast and dinner are available seven days a week.

- Three star An ample number of easily identified staff, who are able to anticipate requirements. All rooms have en suite bathrooms. Meals are cooked and presented to a good standard, using good quality ingredients.

- Four star Attentive staff provide a very good level of service. At least half of the rooms will have an en suite bath and a shower. At least one restaurant offering a good range of hot and cold skilfully prepared food.

- Five star Impeccably dressed staff provide attentive and unobtrusive service. All bedrooms will have an en suite bathroom with a bath and thermostatically controlled shower. Meals are cooked and presented to an excellent standard using high quality ingredients.

AA-LISTED THREE RED-STAR HOTELS IN GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND

ENGLAND -
Beechwood hotel](http://www.beechwood-hotel.co.uk/), North Walsham, Norfolk[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381000) entry
[The Bildeston Crown hotel](http://www.thebildestoncrown.co.uk/), Bildeston, Ipswich, Suffolk[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377184) entry
[Blagdon Manor hotel & restaurant,](http://www.blagdon.com/) Ashwater, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381251) entry
[Brockencote Hall Country House hotel](http://www.brockencotehall.com/), Chaddesley, Corbett, Worcestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378673) entry
[Buckland Manor](http://www.vonessenhotels.co.uk/), Buckland, Gloucestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380584) entry
[Combe House hotel & restaurant](http://www.thishotel.com/), Honiton, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377386) entry
[Congham Hall Country House hotel](http://www.vonessenhotels.co.uk/), Grimston, Norfol [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377130) entry
[Corse Lawn House hotel](http://www.corselawn.com/), Corse Lawn, Gloucestershire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378644) entry
[Driftwood](http://www.driftwoodhotel.co.uk/), Portscatho, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377454) entry
[East Lodge Country House hotel](http://www.eastlodge.com), Rowsley, Derbyshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378360) entry
[Farlam Hall hotel](http://www.farlamhall.co.uk/), Brampton, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381255) entry
[Fischer's Baslow Hall](http://www.fischers-baslowhall.co.uk/), Baslow, Derbyshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377361) entry
[George hotel](http://www.thegeorge.co.uk/), Yarmouth, Isle of Wight[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/37911) entry
[The Grange hotel](http://www.grangehotel.co.uk/), York, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378258) entry
[Gravetye Manor hotel](http://www.gravetyemanor.co.uk/), East Grinstead, West Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378981) entry
[Hell Bay hotel](http://www.hellbay.co.uk/), Bryher, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378263) entry
[Horsted Place](http://www.horstedplace.co.uk/), Uckfield, East Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378549) entry
[The Island hotel](http://www.tresco.co.uk/holidays/island_hotel.asp), Tresco, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378826) entry
[Judges Country House hotel](http://www.judgeshotel.co.uk/), Yarm, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378001) entry
[Langshott Manor](http://www.langshottmanor.com/), Horley, Surrey [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379368) entry
[Lewtrenchard Manor](http://www.vonessenhotels.co.uk/), Lewdown, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377253) entry
[Linthwaite House hotel & restaurant,](http://www.linthwaite.com/) Windermere, Cumbria[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377845) entry
[Lords of the Manor](http://www.bespokehotels.com/), Upper Slaughter, Gloucestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377062) entry
[Lower Slaughter Manor](http://www.lowerslaughter.co.uk/), Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378553) entry
[Maison Talbooth](http://www.milsomhotels.com/), Dedham, Essex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378112) entry
[Mallory Court hotel](http://www.mallory.co.uk/), Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379905) entry
[Montagu Arms hotel](http://www.montaguarmshotel.co.uk/), Beaulieu, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377679) entry
[Morston Hall](http://www.morstonhall.com/), Blakeney, Norfolk [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378477) entry
[Newick Park hotel](http://www.newickpark.co.uk) & country estate, Newick, East Sussex[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377393) entry
[Northcote Manor](http://www.northcotemanor.co.uk), Burrington, Devon[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377074) entry
[The Oaks hotel](http://www.oakshotel.co.uk), Porlock, Somerset [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377008) entry
[Ockenden Manor](http://www.hshotels.co.uk), Cuckfield, West Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380032) entry
[Old Vicarage hotel](http://www.oldvicarageworfield.com), Worfield, Shropshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378379) entry
[The Queensberry hotel](http://www.thequeensberry.co.uk), Bath, Somerset [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380738) entry
[Rampsbeck Country House hotel](http://www.rampsbeck.co.uk/), Watermillock, Penrith[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/377906) entry
[Restaurant Sat Bains](http://www.restaurantsatbains.com) with rooms, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379919) entry
[The Samling](http://www.thesamling.com), Windermere, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379254) entry
[Sharrow Bay Country House hotel](http://www.vonessenhotels.co.uk), Howtown, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380163) entry
[St Martin's on the Isle](http://www.stmartinshotel.co.uk), St Martin's, Cornwall[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379948) entry
[Stock Hill Country House hotel & restaurant](http://www.stockhillhouse.co.uk), Gillingham, Dorset [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381223) entry
[Thornbury Castle](http://www.thornburycastle.co.uk), Thornbury, Gloucestershire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379090) entry
[Whitley Ridge hotel](http://www.whitleyridge.com/), Brockenhurst, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/380812) entry

WALES -
[Lake Country House hotel & Spa](http://www.lakecountryhouse.co.uk), Llangammarch Wells, Powy [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380003) entry
[Penmaenuchaf Hall hotel](http://www.penhall.co.uk/), Dolgellau, Gwynedd[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/380244) entry
[Seiont Manor hotel](http://www.handpicked.co.uk), Caernarfon, Gwynedd[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379195) entry
[St Tudno hotel and restaurant](http://www.st-tudno.co.uk), Llandudno, Conwy [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/379257) entry
[Ynyshir Hall](http://www.ynyshir-hall.co.uk), Eglwysfach, Ceredigion [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380722) entry

SCOTLAND -
[An Lochan](http://www.anlochan.co.uk), Tighnabruaich, Argyll & Bute[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/381007) entry
[Boath House](http://www.boath-house.com), Nairn, Highland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377406) entry
[Castleton House hotel](http://www.castletonglamis.co.uk), Glamis, Angus [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377116)entry
[Darroch Learg hotel](http://www.darrochlearg.co.uk), Ballater, Aberdeenshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379631) entry
[The Glenmorangie Highland Home at Cadboll](http://www.theglenmorangiehouse.com/), Fearn, Tain[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/378774) entry
[Highland Cottage](http://www.highlandcottage.co.uk), Tobermory, Argyll & Bute [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380825) entry
[Kilcamb Lodge hotel](http://www.kilcamblodge.co.uk), Strontian, Highland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379606) entry
[Kilmichael Country House hotel](http://www.kilmichael.com), Brodick, North Ayrshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/380685) entry
[Kirroughtree House](http://www.kirroughtreehouse.co.uk), Newton Stewart, Dumfries & Galloway [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378395) entry
[Knockinaam Lodge](http://www.knockinaamlodge.com), Portpatrick, Dumfries & Galloway [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/378351) entry
[Pool House hotel,](http://www.poolhousehotel.com) Poolewe, Highland[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379540) entry

CHANNEL ISLANDS -
[Chateau La Chaire](http://www.chateau-la-chaire.co.uk), Rozel, Jersey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377687) entry

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND -
[Bay View hotel](http://www.thebayviewhotel.com), Ballycotton, Cork[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377081) entry
[Cashel House hotel](http://www.cashel-house-hotel.com), Cashel, Galway [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379440) entry
[Gregans Castle](http://www.gregans.ie), Ballyvaughan, Clare [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379921) entry
[Longueville House hotel](http://www.longuevillehouse.ie), Mallow, Cork [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/379499) entry
[Lough Inagh Lodge hotel](http://www.loughinaghlodgehotel.ie), Recess, Galway [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/hotel/377832) entry
[Sandhouse hotel](http://www.sandhouse-hotel.ie), Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/102/379443) entry
[Sea View House hotel](http://www.seaviewhousehotel.com), Ballylickey, Cork [AA entry

View all the AA-listed five-star and five red-star hotels here >> View all the AA-listed four red-star hotels here >>

View all the AA-listed two and one red-star hotels here >>

Return to the CatererSearch AA hotels homepage >>

All AA-listed hotels can be found on the AA website.

Continue reading

You need to be a premium member to view this. Subscribe from just 99p per week.

Already subscribed?

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!