Academy of Culinary Arts winners unveiled

24 April 2008
Academy of Culinary Arts winners unveiled

Twenty-five young chefs, pastry chefs and waiters have achieved the Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Award following finals at Thames Valley University, London's Le Gavroche and Gleneagles in Auchterarder.

The awards, now in their 25th year, require candidates to achieve a score of more than 70% in tasks set and judged by industry luminaries chaired by John Williams, executive chef of the Ritz and chairman of the Academy of Culinary Arts.

Kitchen finalists had five hours to produce four dishes including poached Dover sole, étuvée of shellfish, while pastry finalists had five hours to complete tasks which included the creation a celebration cake decorated in the theme of Christmas.

The service finalists were required to decant and describe a wine to the judges, set up and serve a three-course meal with wine and liqueurs to a table of two guests.

The finalists who successfully achieved the award were:

Kitchen Jacek Grochowina, the Ritz Casino
Martin Malinollski-Evans, Café 21,Newcastle
David Murray, Claridge's, London
Dale Ormston, the Halfmoon
Mark York, Bridgewater Concert Hall, Manchester

Pastry Martin Bullough, Bents Garden Centre, Cheshire
Sarah Frankland, William Curley
Diana Kalnassy, Lanesborough, London
Sarah Poliakov, Roux Fine Dining
Louise Rigden, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons, Great Milton

Service Philippe Bonjean, the Cadogan hotel, London
Thomas Brunel, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Aurelie Calame, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Alexander Flasdieck, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Greig Guthrie, Catch 22, Glasgow
Julia Krettek, Strathearn restaurant, Gleneagles, Auchterarder
Sebastien Massot, Le Gavroche, London
Mayta Meza-Cumpa, Opus Restaurant, Birmingham
Lynsey Milner, Strathearn restaurant, Gleneagles
Cem Pekcan, Strathearn restaurant, Gleneagles
Robert Rose, restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Ashraf Saleh, Galvin at Windows
Christopher Snoxall, Gleneagles hotel
Max Westphal, Gleneagles hotel

Academy of Culinary Arts announces Awards of Excellence achievers 2007 >>

Chef winners of Academy of Culinary Arts Annual Awards of Excellence 2006 announced >>

2005 Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence winners trip to Graves >>

By Amanda Afiya

E-mail your comments to Amanda Afiya here.

The Caterer Blog]( Catch up with more news and gossip on the Caterer Blog here
[Newsletters For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking