The Caterer
Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Budget hotels in the UK 2008 – Industry data

05 December 2008 by

Premier Inn and Travelodge consolidated their hold on the budget hotel market during 2008.

Whitbread's Premier Inn led the table with more than 518 hotels and 36,000-plus bedrooms.

Travelodge, now owned by Dubai International Capital, was the second largest budget hotel group, with more than 333 properties offering a combined 23,150 bedrooms.

The British Hospitality Association defines a budget hotel as a strongly-branded offer with generally compact rooms, a small food and beverage operation and limited facilities and services. Tariffs are typically less than £100 per room in the provinces and around £120 in London.

These facts and figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2008, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £200 (for a PDF file). Prices are progressively discounted as the year moves on. For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the top budget hotel brands from the 2007 report >> View the top budget hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

THE UK BUDGET HOTEL MARKET BY NUMBER OF ROOMS, 2001 and 2008

BrandCompanyHotels 2008Hotels 2001Rooms 2008Rooms 2001
1Premier Inn ](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do)[Whitbread](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)518+ 405 36,000+ 23,300
2[Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/)[Dubai International Capital](http://www.dubaiic.com/) 333+ 215 23,150+ 11,600
3[Express by Holiday Inn](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/ex/925/en/home)\* [](http://www.caffenero.com/)[InterContinental Hotels](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 12063 12,5895,900
4[Ibis](http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml)[](http://www.marksandspencer.com/)[Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 5044 6,9894,000
5[Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)[Quinlan Private](http://www.quinlanprivate.com/), [Oman Investment Fund](http://www.omaninvcorp.com/)17 - 4,538
6Innkeeper's Lodge[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 9131 2,650-
7[Etap](http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml) [Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 12 2 1,732 69
8Campanile[Louvre Hotels](http://www.louvrehotels.com/en/louvre-hotels.html) 19 15 1,588 1,100
9Days Inn\* (19 run by [Welcome Break](http://www.welcomebreak.co.uk/)) [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/about/wyndham_hotel_group.cfm) 25 14 1,420 900
10Purplehotels (was Sleep Inn) [The Real Hotel Company](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/) 10 3 812 225
11[Ramada Encore](http://www.ramada.com/Ramada/control/home)\* [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 6 - 715 -
12[Comfort Inn](http://www.choicehotels.com/ires/cj/ComfortHome?AID=10388238&PID=1369478)\* [](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/)[Choice Hotels International](http://www.choicehotels.com/) 1331 6492,050
13[Formule 1](http://www.hotelformule1.com/formule1/index.html) [Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 5 8 405590
14[Stop Inns](http://www.stop-inns.com/)[](http://www.nestle.co.uk/Home)[The Real Hotel Company ](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/) 6- 385-
15[Future Inns](http://www.futureinns.co.uk/)[](http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml)Future Inns 2- 346-
16[Metro Inns](http://www.metroinns.co.uk/) Metro Inns[](http://www.goldentulip.org.uk/) 5- 345-
17JDW Lodges[](http://www.segafredo.it/eng/corp-e_azi_pag.htm)[JD Wetherspoon](http://www.jdwetherspoon.co.uk/) 135 33789
18[easyHotel](http://www.easyhotel.com/)\* [easyGroup](http://www.easy.com/) 4 - 240 -
19Urban LodgeWillow Street Hotels 1 - 205 -
20[Big Sleep](http://www.thebigsleephotel.com/) Big Sleep 3 - 191 -
21Welcome Lodge[Welcome Break](http://www.welcomebreak.co.uk/)29 182569
22Nitenite Cityrooms[Nitenite](http://www.nitenite.com/)1- 104-
23Yotel [Yotel](http://www.yotel.com/)2 - 90 -
24Dolby Hotel [Dolby Hotels](http://www.dolbyhotels.co.uk/) 12 64130
25[Lodge on the Park](http://www.lodgeonthepark.com/)[Shire Hotels1- 36-
TOTAL1,292 849 97,701 50,397
*Source: Wordsmith & Company Figures up to 31 August 2008* \* includes hotels franchised to another operator excludes the conversion of 21 Express by Holiday Inns from Mitchells & Butlers to Premier Inn, September 2008
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking