Hospitality sweethearts 14 February 2020 The couples who make working together and living together a love story
In this week's issue...Hospitality sweethearts The couples who make working together and living together a love story
Read More
Search
The Caterer

Budget hotels in the UK 2009

20 April 2010 by
Budget hotels in the UK 2009

Premier Inn and Travelodge continued to dominate the budget hotel market during 2009 with a tally of more than 30,000 and 23,150 bedroom respectively.

The number of budget hotels in the UK grew to 1,366 in the year to 31 August 2009, with a combined 105,470 bedrooms.

This compares to 1,269 hotels (and 95,762 bedrooms) in 2008 and just 847 hotels (50,392 bedrooms) in 2001.

These facts and figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2009, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £175 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact Philippa Brady. bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the top budget hotel brands from the 2008 report >>
View the top budget hotel brands from the 2007 report >>
View the top budget hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

THE UK BUDGET HOTEL MARKET BY NUMBER OF ROOMS, 2001 and 2009

BrandCompanyHotels 2009Hotels 2001Rooms 2009Rooms 2001
1Premier Inn](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do) [Whitbread](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)577+ 405 40,000+ 23,300
2[Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/)[Dubai International Capital](http://www.dubaiic.com/) 372+ 215 26,000+ 11,600
3[Express by Holiday Inn](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/ex/925/en/home)\* [InterContinental Hotels](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 10563 12,0125,900
4[Ibis](http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml)[Accor ](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 5144 7,1514,000
5[Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)Jurys Inn23 - 5,828 -
6Innkeeper's Lodge[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 9631 2,849-
7[Etap](http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml) [Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 17 2 2,286 69
8[Ramada Encore](http://www.ramada.com/Ramada/control/home)\* [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/about/wyndham_hotel_group.cfm) 16 - 1,952 -
9Days Inn\* (26 run by [Welcome Break](http://www.welcomebreak.co.uk/)) [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/about/wyndham_hotel_group.cfm) 28 14 1,773 900
10[Campanile](http://www.campanile.com/hotel/en/hotel-013252.htm)Louvre Hotels 19 15 1,588 1,100
11[Comfort Inn](http://www.comfortinn.com/)\*[Choice Hotels International ](http://www.choicehotels.com/) 12 31 649 2,050
12[Future Inns](http://www.futureinns.co.uk/)Future Inns3- 495 -
13[EasyHotel](http://www.easyhotel.com/)\* [EasyGroup](http://www.easy.com/) 6 - 492 -
14JDW Lodges [JD Wetherspoon](http://www.jdwetherspoon.co.uk/)16 5 427 89
15[Formule 1](http://www.hotelformule1.com/gb/home/index.shtml) [Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 5 8 405590
16Blueberry HotelsBlueberry Hotels 3 - 241 -
17Urban Lodge Willow Street Hotels 1 - 205 -
18[Metro Inns](http://www.metroinns.co.uk/) Metro Inns 3 - 205 -
19Restover Lodge [Restover Lodge Hotels](http://www.restoverlodge.co.uk/) 3 - 190 -
20[Big Sleep](http://www.thebigsleephotel.com/)Big Sleep 3 - 191 -
21[Hilton Garden Inn](http://hiltongardeninn.hilton.co.uk)[Hilton](http://www.hilton.co.uk) 1 - 157 -
22Nitenite Cityrooms[Nitenite](http://www.nitenite.com/)1- 104-
23Yotel [Yotel](http://www.yotel.com/)2 - 90 -
24[Sleeperz](http://www.sleeperz.com/)[Network Rail](http://www.networkrail.co.uk/) 1 - 80 -
25Dolby Hotel [Dolby Hotels](http://www.dolbyhotels.co.uk/) 12 64130
26[Lodge on the Park](http://www.lodgeonthepark.com/)[Shire Hotels1- 36-
TOTAL1,366 849 105,470 50,397
*Source: Wordsmith & Company Figures up to 31 August 2009* \* includes hotels franchised to another operator decrease due to a sale of 21 Mitchells & Butlers Holiday Inn Express properties to Premier Inn
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!