Geoffrey Gelardi and Diego Masciaga are honoured at 2018 Catey awards

03 July 2018 by
Geoffrey Gelardi and Diego Masciaga are honoured at 2018 Catey awards

Geoffrey Gelardi, who this week stood down as managing director of The Lanesborough after 28 years at its helm, has been presented with the Special Award at the 2018 Catey Awards, while Diego Masciaga, former general manager of the Waterside Inn, was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gelardi received the award in front of an audience of 1,250 at London's Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott Hotel, this evening. The ceremony was held in partnership with Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division.

Presenting the award to Gelardi, Clive Jacobs, chairman of The Caterer's parent company Jacobs Media Group, recognised his "role as a respected leader, brilliant host and the managing director of a hotel that has consistently maintained its position at the top of its competitive set".

Masciaga, who had been synonymous with the Waterside Inn, Bray, for 30 years before stepping down as general manager in June, accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jacobs described the industry stalwart as "one of the most inspirational, yet humble individuals I've had the privilege to know, work with and be served by".

Masciaga has defined exceptional service over more than three decades, trained a generation to work in prestigious establishments around the world and inspired many more to enter the industry.

Another high-profile Catey went to international restauranteur and chef to the stars Wolfgang Puck, whose name is attached to more than 100 restaurants around the globe including Cut at 45 Park Lane, London, and who is one of only two chefs to be honoured with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

As Puck was presented with the International Outstanding Achievement Award, Jacobs described the quality and scope of his operation as "simply phenomenal".

Hotel of the Year - Independent was won by was won by the Torridon, in the Scottish Highlands, while the Foodservice Caterer award was presented to Chris Mitchell of the Genuine Dining Co.

The Restaurateur of the Year - Group Catey went to Shamil and Kavi Thakrar of Dishoom, while the title of Restaurateur of the Year - Independent went to Richard Corrigan of the Corrigan Collection, and the Chef Award was presented to Claude Bosi of Bibendum.

The full list of winners

Best Marketing Campaign, sponsored by Fresh Montgomery

The Ned

Manager of the Year, sponsored by Amadeus

Laura Sharpe, Ham Yard Hotel

Best Use of Technology, sponsored by Bookatable

Dine Delivered

Accessibility Award, sponsored by Bespoke Hotels

Rudding Park

Newcomer Award, sponsored by William Grant & Sons

Aaron Webster and Remi Williams, Smoke and Salt

Menu of the Year, sponsored by Teflonâ„¢ nonstick coatings


Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Lightspeed

Hospitality & Events, the University of Manchester

Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic

Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns

Restaurateur of the Year - Independent, sponsored by OpenTable

Richard Corrigan, Corrigan Collection

Restaurateur of the Year - Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division

Shamil and Kavi Thakrar, Dishoom

Best Employer Award, sponsored by Procure4

Cycas Hospitality

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored by Searcys

Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan

Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by CH&CO Group


Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Premier Foods

Neel Radia, National Association of Care Catering

Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidfood

Tim Foster, Yummy Pub Co

Hotel of the Year - Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division

Ham Yard Hotel

Hotel of the Year - Independent, sponsored by Sky

The Torridon

Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Zenith Hygiene Diversey

Chris Mitchell, The Genuine Dining Co

Chef Award, sponsored by Craft Guild of Chefs

Claude Bosi

International Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions

Wolfgang Puck

Special Award, sponsored by Johnsons Stalbridge

Geoffrey Gelardi, the Lanesborough

Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Berkeley Scott

Diego Masciaga, The Waterside Inn

Get The Caterer every week on your smartphone, tablet, or even in good old-fashioned hard copy (or all three!).

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking