Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK part 2

20 October 2006 by
Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK part 2

The Whitbread Hotel Company's Premier Travel Inn is the UK's largest hotel chain by bedroom numbers, ahead of InterContinental Hotels Group, Travelodge and Hilton.

These figures for the year to September 2006 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2006, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report can be bought for £195 (for the printed version) or £145 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

Top 100 hotel groups with more than 200 bedrooms in the UK, September 2006 (by number of bedrooms) - Part II

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of rooms
51Lancaster Landmark Hotel Company](http://www.landmarklondon.co.uk/index.htm) 3 935
52 [London Plaza Hotels](http://www.london-plaza-hotels.com/) 5 †Hilton (2), †Hyatt (1) 931
53 [Ascott International](http://www.the-ascott.com/findResidence/europe.asp) 6 Citadines (4), Ascott (1), Somerset (1) 930+
54 [Vienna Group](http://www.vienna-group.co.uk/) 8 Best Western (2), †Express by Holiday Inn (1) 883 (inc apartments)
55 [Shire Hotels](http://www.shirehotels.com/) (Daniel Thwaites) 9 828
56 [Strathmore Hotels](http://www.strathmorehotels.com/) 8 777
57 [Golden Tulip](http://www.goldentulip.org.uk/) 6 6 Inns (5), Hotels (1) 776
58 [Hyatt International](http://www.hyatt.com/hyatt/index.jsp) 2 764
59 [Elizabeth Hotels](http://www.elizabethhotels.co.uk/) 17 Hotels (13), Inns (4) 763
60 [Centre Island](http://www.centreisland.co.uk/) 7 †Crowne Plaza (1), †Holiday Inn (4) †Express by Holiday Inn (1), Unbranded (1) 757
61 [Peel Hotels](http://www.peelhotel.com/) 9 711
62 [Handpicked Hotels](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) 14 684
63 [Hastings Hotels Group](http://www.hastingshotels.com/) 6 658
64[Pederson Group](http://www.pedersengroup.co.uk/)[](http://www.esquirescoffee.com/) 6 †Holiday Inn (1), †Crowne Plaza (1) 650
65 [Apex Hotels](http://www.apexhotels.co.uk/) 5 642
66 [Feathers Hotel Group](http://www.feathers.uk.com/) 9 622
67 [Brend Hotels](http://www.brend-hotels.co.uk/Home/Index.cfm) 11 604
68 [Rocco Forte Hotels](http://www.feathers.uk.com/) 4 602
69 [Sol Melia Hotels](http://www.solmelia.com/solNew/i18n/jsp/C_Versiones_Internacionales.jsp) 1 Melia White House 582
70 [Von Essen Hotels](http://www.vonessenhotels.com/) 21 Classic (6), Country (10), Luxury Family (5) 531
71 [Portland Hotels](http://www.portlandhotels.co.uk/) 6 524
72 [Red Carnation](http://www.redcarnationhotels.com/) 7 522
73 [Seymour Hotels](http://www.seymourhotels.com/jersey/) 3 520
74 [Four Pillars Hotels](http://www.four-pillars.co.uk/) 5 509
75 [Maybourne Group](http://www.maybourne.com/home/home.asp) 3 Connaught, Berkeley, Claridges 509
76 [Four Seasons](http://www.fourseasons.com/) 3 494
77 [McKever Hotels](http://www.mckeverhotels.co.uk/) 14 City Aparthotels (2), Inn (1), City Apartments (1) 472
78 [TLH Leisure Resort](http://www.tlh.co.uk/) 4 447 (including apartments
79 [London Town Hotels](http://www.lth-hotels.com/) 6 †Quality Crown (4), †Comfort (2) 439
80[Folio Hotels](http://www.foliohotels.com/) 6 419
81[English Rose Hotels](http://www.englishrosehotels.co.uk/) 9 Apartments (1) 418
82[Crerar Hotels](http://www.crerarhotels.com/) 6 417
83[Fullers Hotels](http://www.fullershotels.com/) 7 408
84[Sarova Hotels](http://www.sarova.co.uk/) 3 405
85[Paten Hotels](http://www.patenhotels.co.uk/) 4 399
86[Spring Park Hotels](http://www.springparkhotels.co.uk/) 3 398
87[Modern Hotels](http://www.modernhotels.com/) 2 392
88[Danubius Regents Park](http://caterersearchccpadminlive.rbi.web.internal/Articles/Danubius%20Regents%20Park) 1 376
89[Elite Hotels ](http://www.elitehotels.co.uk/) 3 370
90[Brook Hotels](http://www.brookhotels.co.uk/) 8 370
91[Exclusive Hotels](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/) 5 353
92[Signature Group](http://www.signaturegroup.co.uk/) 6 352
93Surejogi Hotels 3 †Kempinski (2) 351
94[Firmdale Hotels](http://www.firmdale.com/) 6 339
95[The Bonnington Group](http://www.bonningtongroup.com/www/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=27) 2 334
96[NH Hoteles](http://www.nh-hotels.com/rol/busqAvanzada.do?mode=city) 2 321
97[English Lakes Hotels](http://www.elh.co.uk/) 5 315
98[JD Wetherspoon](http://www.jdwetherspoonlodges.co.uk/) 11 JDW Lodges 314
99[Butterfly Hotels](http://www.butterflyhotels.co.uk/Pages.asp?Page=22) 5 †Ramada (4), †Corus (1) 313
100[Legacy Hotels & Resorts 5 313

\* Some or all franchised to another operator
† Franchised hotels

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking