The Caterer
Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Leading hotel brands in the UK 2008 (part 1) – Industry data

05 December 2008 by

Whitbread remained the biggest hotel operator in the UK market in 2008, in terms of hotels hotels and bedroom numbers.

Its Premier Inn budget chain grew by more than 30 properties to 518-plus hotels by the end of August, while the bedroom tally soared by more than 3,400 to in excess of 36,000 rooms.

The second and third slots remained in the hands of InterContinental hotels and rival budget operator Travelodge, with 35,430 and 23,150 bedrooms across their respective 256 and 333 properties.

The biggest change at the top of the table stemmed from this year's inclusion of the Best Western marketing consortium, whose 285 hotel members made it the sixth largest player in the UK.

These figures for the year to 30 August 2008 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2008, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £200 (for a PDF file). Prices are progressively discounted as the year moves on. For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the next 50 top hotel groups here >>

View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2007 report >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK TO 31 AUGUST 2008
(BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART I

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
1Whitbread Hotel Company](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/) 518+ [Premier Inn](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do) 36,000+ 519
2 [InterContinental Hotels Group](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 256 InterContinental (1), \*Crowne Plaza (18), \*Holiday Inn (116), \*Express by Holiday Inn (120), Staybridge Suites (1) 34,530 4,000 (590,000)
3 [Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/) [Dubai International Capital](http://www.dubaiic.com/) 333+ Travelodge 23,150 345+ (24,000+)
4 [Accor Hotels](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 130 \*Sofitel (3) Novotel (31), Mercure (29), Ibis (50), Etap (12), Formule 1 (5) 18,952 4,000+ (500,000)
5 [Hilton Hotel Corporation](http://hiltonworldwide.hilton.com/en/ww/index.jhtml;jsessionid=GVFMHVR4DDBKKCSGBI1MVCQKIYFC5UUC) 71 Hilton (69),\*Garden Inn (1), \*Doubletree (1) 15,610 3,000(500,000)
6[Best Western](http://www.bestwestern.co.uk/) 285 Best Western 15,305 4,035 (308,636)
7 [Marriott International](http://marriott.co.uk/Channels/globalSites/default.mi?country=UK) 52 Renaissance (3), Marriott (48), JW Marriott (1) 11,436 2,800 (517,900)
8 [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 107 \*Days Inn (25), \*Days Hotel (10), \*Ramada (65), \*Ramada Encore (6), Wyndham Grand (1) 10,589 6,550 (551,000)
9[Carlson Hotels Worldwide](http://www.carlson.com/brands/hotels.cfm) 40 \*Radisson (11), \*Park Inn (19), Park Plaza (8), \*Country Inns & Suites (1) 7,725 995 (148,000)
10 [De Vere ](http://www.devere.co.uk/default.aspx)(AHG)[](http://www.amtcoffee.co.uk/) 62 De Vere Hotels (12), Village (20), Venues (30) 7,310
11 [Thistle Hotels](http://www.thistlehotels.com/thistle/hotels/;jsessionid=AZNHIR1WTLS32CQFBQFCFEQKAUGBIIV0?_requestid=2751379) 35 Thistle (32), Guomon (3) 7,040
12 [Britannia Hotels](http://www.britanniahotels.com/default.asp) 33 7,000
13[The Rezidor Hotel Group](http://www.rezidor.com/) 31 †Radisson SAS (11), †Park Inn (19), †Country Inns & Suites (1) 6,034 350 (74,000)
14 [Choice Hotels International](http://www.choicehotels.com/) 75 \*Clarion (3), \*Comfort (14) \*Quality (45), \*Comfort Inn (13) 6,020 5,500
15 [Ramada Jarvis Hotels](http://www.ramadajarvis.co.uk/) 43 †Ramada (43) 4,900
16 [Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)s ([Quinlan Private](http://www.quinlanprivate.com/) and Oman Investment Fund) 17 Jurys Inn 4,538 23 (5,626)
17 [Millennium Copthorne Hotels](http://www.millenniumhotels.com/) 20 Millennium (7), Copthorne (13) 4,496 110+ (29,500)
18 [Macdonald Hotels](http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/) 51 Resorts (5), Associate hotels (6) 4,369 55
19 [Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 116 Innkeepers Lodge (91), †Express by Holiday Inn (25) 4,250
20 [Shearings Hotels](http://www.washearings.com/uk/) 49 3,932
21[Somerston Hotels](http://www.somerstonhotels.co.uk/) 32 †Express by Holiday Inn (31), †Ramada Encore (1) 3,795
22[Real Hotel Company](http://www.realhotelcompany.com/) 39 Purple (10), Stop Inn (6), †Quality (20), †Clarion (2), †Comfort (1) 3,370 54 (4,581)
23 [Imperial London Hotels](http://www.imperialhotels.co.uk/index.htm) 6 3,355
24[Principal Hayley ](http://www.principal-hayley.com/default.aspx) 18 Principal hotels (8), Venues (10) 3,212 20 (3,548)
25 [QMH Hotels](http://www.qmh-hotels.com/) 18 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (12), Best Western (3) 2,870
26[Barceló Hotels & Resorts ](http://www.barcelo-hotels.co.uk/) 20 Barceló 2,712 160
27 [Warner Holidays](http://www.warnerleisurehotels.co.uk/index.cfm?page=1007) ([Bourne Leisure](http://www.bourneleisuresales.co.uk/)) 13 2,704
28 [Q Hotels](http://www.qhotels.co.uk/) 21 2,700
29 [Crerar Hotels](http://www.crerarhotels.com/) 31 Crerar (9), Swallow (22) 2,498
30 [Radisson Edwardian Hotels](http://www.radissonedwardian.com/) 13 Radisson Edwardian 2,469
31[Arora International Hotels](http://www.arorainternational.com/) 7 Arora (4), †Sofitel (2), †Mercure (1) 2,429
32 [Starwood Hotels and Resorts](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/) 9 Sheraton (5), St Regis (1), Le Meridien (1), Luxury Collection (1), Westin (1), 2,350 871 (266,000)
33[Folio Hotels](http://www.foliohotels.com/) ^ 36 †Ramada (5), †Days Hotel (1), Best Western (1), Associate (9) 2,322
34 [BDL](http://www.bdlhotels.co.uk/) including Ramcore and Select (4 ex-Paten Hotels) 17 †Crowne Plaza (2), †Express By Holiday Inn (5), †Holiday Inn (2), †Ramada Encore (3), †Staybridge Suites (1), BDL Select (4) 2,242
35 [Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 95 Old English Inns (69), Greene King Inns (26) 2,143
36 [Oxford Hotels & Inns](http://www.oxfordhotelsandinns.com/) 54 2,100
37 [Kew Green Hotels](http://www.kewgreen.co.uk/) 19 †Holiday Inn (12), †Days Hotels (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (3), †Crowne Plaza (1) 1,944
38 [Malmaison Group (MWB)](http://www.mwb.co.uk/mwb/hotels.jsp) [](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 23 Malmaison (11), Hotel du Vin (12) 1,716
39 [Menzies Hotels](http://www.menzies-hotels.co.uk/) 17 1,700
40[Louvre Hotels](http://www.louvrehotels.com/en/index.aspx) 19 Campanile (19) 1,588 800+ (63,000)
41 [Chardon Management](http://www.hotelmanagementservices.com/) 14 †Holiday Inn (7), †Express by Holiday Inn (4), †Quality Hotel (1), Best Western (1) 1,557
42[morethanhotels](http://www.morethanhotels.com/) 12 †Express by Holiday Inn (12) 1,399
43[Splendid Hotel Group](http://www.splendidhotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/) 20 †Express by Holiday Inn (5), †Holiday Inn (3), †Comfort (3), †Comfort Inns & Suites (1), Best Western (1), Easy Hotel (1) 1,383
44[Alfa-Leisureplex](http://www.alfatravel.co.uk/alfabrochure.ASP?WCI=Leisureplex_Home)[](http://www.cityinn.com/) 17 1,349
45[City Inn](http://www.cityinn.com/)[](http://www.kewgreen.co.uk/) 5 City Inn 1,314
46[Cairn Hotel Group](http://www.cairnhotelgroup.com/)[](http://www.quintessential-hotels.co.uk/) 16 1,307
47[Centre Island](http://www.centreisland.co.uk/) 9 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (2), 1,280
48[Forestdale Hotels](http://www.forestdale.com/) 18 1,209
49[Grange Hotels](http://www.grangehotels.com/) 14 1,193
50[Firoka Group](http://www.thekassamstadium.co.uk/firoka.html)[ 6 †Holiday Inn (1), †Express by Holiday Inn (2), Best Western (1) 1,141

\* Some or all franchised to another operator Franchised hotels
^ Folio Hotels went into administration in December 2008

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking