The Caterer
Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Leading hotel brands in the UK 2008 (part 2) – Industry data

04 December 2008 by

Whitbread remained the biggest hotel operator in the UK market in 2008, in terms of hotels hotels and bedroom numbers.

Its Premier Inn budget chain grew by more than 30 properties to 518-plus hotels by the end of August, while the bedroom tally soared by more than 3,400 to in excess of 36,000 rooms.

The second and third slots remained in the hands of InterContinental hotels and rival budget operator Travelodge, with 35,430 and 23,150 bedrooms across their respective 256 and 333 properties.

The biggest change at the top of the table stemmed from this year's inclusion of the Best Western marketing consortium, whose 285 hotel members made it the sixth largest player in the UK.

These figures for the year to 31 August 2008 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2008, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £200 (for a PDF file). Prices are progressively discounted as the year moves on. For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2007 report >> View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK TO 31 AUGUST 2008
(BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART II

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
51The Landmark Group](http://www.landmarklondon.co.uk/landmark_group.htm) 4 (inc apartments) 1,136 5 (1,550)
52[Hyatt International](http://www.hyatt.com/hyatt/index.jsp) 3 Andaz (1), Hyatt (2) 1,030 735+ (136,000+)
53[Corus Hotels](http://www.corushotels.com/) 11 1,013 13 (1,652)
54[Cola Hotels](http://www.kingswayhall.co.uk/links.aspx) 3 969
55[Legacy Hotels](http://www.legacy-hotels.co.uk/legacy/) 16 957
56[London Plaza Hotels](http://www.london-plaza-hotels.com/) 4 957 5 (1,010)
57[Crimson Hotels](http://www.crimsonhotels.co.uk/) 6 †Quality (1), †Holiday Inn (1), †Crowne Plaza (1)†Comfort (2), 872
58[Hand Picked Hotels](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) 17 856
59[Marston's Inns & Taverns](http://www.marstonsinnsandtaverns.co.uk/Home) 50+ 850
60[Shire Hotels](http://www.shirehotels.com/) (Daniel Thwaites) 9 [Lodge on the Park](http://www.lodgeonthepark.com/) (1) 834
61[Moran Hotel Group](http://www.moranhotels.com/) (Dublin) 4 Moran (2), Bewleys (2) 792 10 (1,885)
62[The Doyle Collection](http://www.doylecollection.com/default.aspx) 4 788 11 (2,161)
63[Strathmore Hotels](http://www.strathmorehotels.com/) 8 773
64[Martyn Leisure Resorts & Hotels](http://www.martynleisurebreaks.co.uk/) 5 Resorts (2) 770
65[Four Pillars Hotels](http://www.four-pillars.co.uk/) 6 731
66[Geminex](http://www.geminex.co.uk/index.html), Essex 5 Express by Holiday Inn (3) 728
67[Ascott Group](http://www.the-ascott.com/) 6 †Citadines (4), Ascott (1) 716
68[Hastings Hotels](http://www.hastingshotels.com/) 6 715
69[Elizabeth Hotels](http://www.elizabethhotels.co.uk/) 15 675
70[Brook Hotels](http://www.brookhotels.co.uk/) [](http://www.jurysdoyle.com/)13 674
71[Quinn Hotels](http://www.quinnhotels.com/) 3 †Crowne Plaza (1), †Holiday Inn (1), The Belfry (1) 650 9 (2,427)
72[Pederson Hotels](http://www.pedersengroup.co.uk/) 6 †Crowne Plaza (2) 644
73[Von Essen Hotels](http://www.vonessenhotels.com/) 26 inc apartments 644 27 (665)
74[Peel Hotels](http://www.peelhotels.co.uk) 8 639
75[Apex Hotels](http://www.apexhotels.co.uk/) 5 638
76[Butterfly Hotels](http://www.butterflyhotels.co.uk/) 8 †Ramada (4), †Express By Holiday Inn (2), †Days (1) 633
77[Brend Hotels](http://www.brendhotels.co.uk/) 11 617
78[NH Hoteles](http://www.nh-hotels.com/rol/busqAvanzada.do?mode=city) 3 Jolly (1) 596 344 (50,707)
79[Red Carnation Hotels](http://www.redcarnationhotels.com/) 8 588 12 (770)
80Ralph Trustees Group 4 inc apartments [Grove](http://www.thegrove.co.uk/default.aspx), [Runnmede](http://www.runnymedehotel.com/), [Athenaeum](http://www.athenaeumhotel.com/), [Greengarden](http://www.greengardenhouse.com/) 586
81[Sol Melia Hotels](http://www.solmelia.com/solNew/i18n/jsp/C_Versiones_Internacionales.jsp) 1 Sol White House 581 329 (81,000)
82[McKever Hotels](http://www.mckeverhotels.co.uk/) 17 inc apartments 577
83[JJW Hotels & Resorts](http://www.jjwhotels.com/en/global/index.shtml) 8 [Eton Collection](http://www.theetoncollection.com/) 557 46 (3,184)
84[Choice Hotels](http://www.choice-hotels.co.uk/) 5 550
85[Bespoke Hotels](http://www.bespokehotels.com/) 14 537
86[Portland Hotels](http://www.portlandhotels.co.uk/) 5 536
87[Seymour Hotels](http://www.seymourhotels.com/jersey/) 3 519
88[Elite Hotels](http://www.elitehotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.esquirescoffee.com/)4 514
89[Maybourne Group](http://www.maybourne.com/home/home.asp) 3 [Claridge's](http://www.claridges.co.uk/home/home.asp), [Connaught](http://www.the-connaught.co.uk/), [Berkeley](http://www.the-berkeley.co.uk/home/home.asp) 509
90[Feathers Hotel & Catering Group](http://www.feathers.uk.com/) 8 507
91[Prem Group](http://www.premgroup.com) 2 hotels, 6 apartments †Ramada (1) 502 25 hotels, and 13 apartments
92[Andras House](http://www.andrashouse.co.uk/) 4 †Days (1), †Ramada (1) † Holiday Inn Express (1) 500
93[Cedar Court Hotel Group](http://www.cedarcourthotels.co.uk/) 4 494
94[Four Seasons](http://www.fourseasons.com/) 3 494 78
95[Eclipse Hotels](http://www.eclipsehotels.co.uk/) 6 †Easyhotels (2), †Holiday Inn (1), †Holiday Inn Express (3) 492 18
96[Dakota Hotels](http://www.dakotahotels.co.uk/) 4 485
97[Fairmont Hotels & Resorts](http://www.fairmont.com/) 2 [Savoy](http://www.fairmont.com/Savoy/), [St Andrews](http://www.fairmont.com/StAndrews/) 472 58
98[Rocco Forte Collection](http://www.roccofortehotels.com/) 3 470 11 (1,561)
99[Vienna Group](http://www.vienna-group.co.uk/) 7 Best Western (2), Umi (2)470
100[Aristel Hotels 7 †Ramada (1), Best Western (5) 457

\* Some or all franchised to another operator
† Franchised hotels

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking