Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Leading hotel brands in the UK 2009 (part 2)

27 April 2010 by
Leading hotel brands in the UK 2009 (part 2)

Whitbread retained its status as the UK's biggest hotel operators in 2009, operating the most hotels and the most bedrooms.

Its Premier Inn budget chain grew by more than 59 properties to 577-plus hotels by the end of August, while the bedroom tally soared by more than 4,000 to in excess of 40,000 bedrooms.

Its nearest rivals remained InterContinental hotels and rival budget operator Travelodge, with 34,955 and 26,000-plus bedrooms across their respective 248 and 372 properties.

These figures for the year to August 2009 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2009, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £175 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact Philippa Brady.

Return to the leading hotel brands in the UK 2009 part 1 >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2008 report >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2007 report >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK TO 31 AUGUST 2009
(BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART II

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
51Forestdale Hotels](http://www.forestdale.com/) 18 1,191
52[Firoka Group](http://www.thekassamstadium.co.uk/firoka.html) 6 †Holiday Inn (1), †Express by Holiday Inn (2), Best Western (1) 1,141
53[The Landmark Group](http://www.landmarklondon.co.uk/landmark_group.htm) 4 (inc apartments) [The Landmark](http://www.landmarklondon.co.uk/), [London Lancaster](http://www.lancasterlondon.com/), [London K West](http://www.k-west.co.uk/), London Basil Street Apartments 1,1365 (1,550)
54[Legacy Hotels](http://www.legacy-hotels.co.uk/legacy/) 17 10 plus 7 associate hotels 1,115
55[Hyatt International](http://www.hyatt.com/hyatt/index.jsp) 3 [Andaz](http://www.andaz.com/) (1), Hyatt (2) 1,030 380
56[Corus Hotels](http://www.corushotels.com/) 11 1,013 13 (1,652)
57[Cola Hotels](http://www.kingswayhall.co.uk/links.aspx) 3 966
58[Apex Hotels](http://www.apexhotels.co.uk/) 7 963
59 [London Plaza Hotels](http://www.london-plaza-hotels.com/) 4 957 5 (1,010)
60[Hand Picked Hotels](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) 17 949
61[Marston's Inns & Taverns](http://www.marstonsinnsandtaverns.co.uk/Home) 57 910
62 [Butterfly Hotels](http://www.butterflyhotels.co.uk/) 11 †Ramada (4), †Express By Holiday Inn (3), Best Western (1)†Days (2) 894
63[Brook Hotels](http://www.brookhotels.co.uk/) 16 863
64 [Four Pillars Hotels](http://www.four-pillars.co.uk/) 6 835
65 [Shire Hotels](http://www.shirehotels.com/) 9 834
66[Geminex](http://www.geminex.co.uk/index.html) 6 Express by Holiday Inn (4) 826
67[Good Night Inns](http://www.millhouseinns.co.uk/GoodNightInns/terms), [Punch Taverns](http://www.punchtaverns.com/Punch) 35 818
68[Moran Hotel Group](http://www.moranhotels.com/) (Dublin) 4 Moran (2), Bewleys (2) 792
69[Crimson Hotels](http://www.crimsonhotels.co.uk/) 5 †Quality (1), †Holiday Inn (1), †Crowne Plaza (1)†Comfort (2), 782 10 (1,408)
70[Strathmore Hotels](http://www.strathmorehotels.com/)[](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) 8 773
71 [Hastings Hotels](http://www.hastingshotels.com/) 6 773
72[The Doyle Collection](http://www.doylecollection.com/default.aspx) 4 747 11 (2,161)
73 [Peel Hotels](http://www.peelhotels.co.uk) 9 34
74 [Ascott Group](http://www.the-ascott.com/) 6 †[Citadines ](http://www.citadines.com/)(4), Ascott (1) 716
75 [Ability Group](http://www.theabilitygroup.com/) 4 705 5 (1,489)
76 [Elizabeth Hotels](http://www.elizabethhotels.co.uk/) 15 In administration 675
77[Pederson Hotels](http://www.pedersengroup.co.uk/)[](http://www.jurysdoyle.com/) 6 †Crowne Plaza (2), Holiday Inn (1) 674
78[Von Essen Hotels](http://www.vonessenhotels.com/) 28 inc apts 660
79[Quinn Hotels](http://www.quinnhotels.com/) 3 †Crowne Plaza (1), †Holiday Inn (1), [The Belfry](http://www.thebelfry.co.uk/) (1) 650 9 (2,427)
80[McKever Hotels](http://www.mckeverhotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.pedersengroup.co.uk/) 19 inc apts In administration 621
81 [Brend Hotels](http://www.brendhotels.co.uk/) 11 617
82[Elite Hotels](http://www.elitehotels.co.uk/) 4 Ashdown Park, Wych Cross, Grand Eastbourne, Luton Hoo, Tylney Hall, Hook 598
83[NH Hoteles](http://www.nh-hotels.com/rol/busqAvanzada.do?mode=city) 3 [Jolly](http://www.nh-hotels.com/nh/public/promotions/promotionDetail.html?idpromo=500160&nhagentid=10166&nhsubagentid=101660000000) (1) 596 344 (50,707)
84 Ralph Trustees Group 4 inc apts [Grove](http://www.thegrove.co.uk/default.aspx), [Runnmede](http://www.runnymedehotel.com/), [Athenaeum](http://www.athenaeumhotel.com/), [Greengarden](http://www.greengardenhouse.com/) 586
85[Sol Melia Hotels](http://www.solmelia.com/solNew/i18n/jsp/C_Versiones_Internacionales.jsp) 1 Sol White House 581 300+ (81,000)
86 [Red Carnation Hotels](http://www.redcarnationhotels.com/) 8 576 12 (770)
87 [JJW Hotels & Resorts](http://www.jjwhotels.com/en/global/index.shtml) 8 [Eton Collection](http://www.theetoncollection.com/) 557 46 (3,184)
88 [Choice Hotels](http://www.choice-hotels.co.uk/) (Blackpool) 5 550
89[Martyn Leisure Hotels & Resorts](http://www.martynleisurebreaks.co.uk/) 4 Resorts (1) 550
90 [Maybourne Group](http://www.maybourne.com/home/home.asp) 3 539
91 [Portland Hotels](http://www.portlandhotels.co.uk/) 5 Best Western 536
92 [Feathers Hotel & Catering Group](http://www.feathers.uk.com/) 8 507
93[Cordia Hotel Group](http://www.cordiahotels.com/) ([Andras House](http://www.andrashouse.co.uk/)) 4 + apts †Days (1), †Ramada (1), Express by Holiday Inn ((1) 506
94 [Prem Group](http://www.premgroup.com) 2 hotels, 6 apartments †Ramada (1) 502 34 hotels, and 13 apartments
95[Future Inns](http://www.futureinns.co.uk/)[](http://www.andrashouse.co.uk/) 3 495 5 (898)
96[Cedar Court Hotel Group](http://www.cedarcourthotels.co.uk/) 4 494
97 [Four Seasons](http://www.fourseasons.com/) 3 494 80
98[EasyHotels ](http://www.easyhotel.com/) 6 \*EasyHotels 492 10 (690)
99 [Eclipse Hotels](http://www.eclipsehotels.co.uk/) 6 †EasyHotels (2), †Holiday Inn (1), †Holiday Inn Express (3) 492 18
100[Fullers Hotels 22 Inns (16) 482

\* Some or all franchised to another operator
† Franchised hotels

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking