Service with a smile 21 February 2020 Tom Kemble of the Pass at South Lodge cooks up a pumpkin masterclass and shares why it’s important for chefs to meet their customers
In this week's issue...Service with a smile Tom Kemble of the Pass at South Lodge cooks up a pumpkin masterclass and shares why it’s important for chefs to meet their customers
Read More
Search
The Caterer

Leading hotels brands in the UK 2009 (part 1)

27 April 2010 by
Leading hotels brands in the UK 2009 (part 1)

Whitbread retained its status as the UK's biggest hotel operators in 2009, operating the most hotels and the most bedrooms.

Its Premier Inn budget chain grew by more than 59 properties to 577-plus hotels by the end of August, while the bedroom tally soared by more than 4,000 to in excess of 40,000 bedrooms.

Its nearest rivals remained InterContinental hotels and rival budget operator Travelodge, with 34,955 and 26,000-plus bedrooms across their respective 248 and 372 properties.

These figures for the year to August 2009 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2009, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £175 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact Philippa Brady.

View the leading hotel brands in the UK 2009 part 2 here >>

View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2008 report >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2007 report >>
View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK TO 31 AUGUST 2009
(BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART I

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
1Whitbread Hotel Company](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/) 577+ [Premier Inn](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do) 40,000+ 580 (40,493)
2 [InterContinental Hotels Group](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 248 InterContinental (1), \*Crowne Plaza (20), \*Holiday Inn (120), \*Express by Holiday Inn (105), Staybridge Suites (1), Hotel Indigo (1) 34,955 4,200 (620,000)
3 [Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/) ([Dubai International Capital](http://www.dubaiic.com/)) 372 Travelodge 23,150 380+ (26,600+)
4 [Accor Hotels](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 138 \*Sofitel (3) Novotel (31), Mercure (31), Ibis (51), Etap (17), Formule 1 (5) 19,996 4,000 (500,000)
5 [Hilton Hotels Corporation](http://hiltonworldwide.hilton.com/en/ww/index.jhtml;jsessionid=GVFMHVR4DDBKKCSGBI1MVCQKIYFC5UUC) 78 \*Hilton (70), \*Garden Inn (1), \*Doubletree (5), Waldorf Astoria (1), Hampton by Hilton (1), 16,566 3,200(545,000)
6[Best Western](http://www.bestwestern.co.uk/) 285 Best Western 15,305 4,035 (308,636)
7 [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 122 \*Days Inn (28), \*Days Hotel (12), \*Ramada Encore (16), \*Ramada (65), Wyndham Grand (1) 12,274 7,000 (588,000)
8 [Marriott Hotels](http://marriott.co.uk/Channels/globalSites/default.mi?country=UK) 58 Renaissance (4), Marriott (51), Courtyard (1), JW Marriott (1), Grand Residences (1) 12,015 3,200 (577,000)
9[Carlson Hotels Worldwide](http://www.carlson.com/brands/hotels.cfm) 50 \*Radisson Blu (15), \*Park Inn (26), Park Plaza (9), 9,718 1,030 (151,000)
10[The Rezidor Hotel Group](http://www.rezidor.com/) 42 †Radisson Blu (15), †Park Inn (26), Hotel Missoni (1) 7.759 380 (80,000)
11 [De Vere ](http://www.devere.co.uk/default.aspx)(AHG)[](http://www.amtcoffee.co.uk/) 64 De Vere Hotels (12), Village (22), Venues (30) 7,745
12 [Thistle Hotels](http://www.thistlehotels.com/thistle/hotels/;jsessionid=AZNHIR1WTLS32CQFBQFCFEQKAUGBIIV0?_requestid=2751379) 37 Thistle (33), Guomon (4) 7,428
13 [Britannia Hotels](http://www.britanniahotels.com/default.asp) 35 7,147
14 [Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)s ([Quinlan Private](http://www.quinlanprivate.com/) and Oman Investment Fund) 23 Jurys Inns 5,828 30 (6,899)
15 [Ramada Jarvis Hotels](http://www.ramadajarvis.co.uk/) 42 †Ramada (42) 4,800
16 [Millennium Copthorne Hotels](http://www.millenniumhotels.com/) 20 Millennium (7), Copthorne (13) 4,496 120+ (30,782)
17 [Macdonald Hotels](http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/) 51 Resorts (5), Associate hotels (6) 4,369 55
18[Somerston Hotels](http://www.somerstonhotels.co.uk/) 33 †Express by Holiday Inn (32), †Ramada Encore (1) 3,913
19 [Shearings Hotels](http://www.washearings.com/uk/) 49 Coast & Country Hotels (14) 3,862
20[Principal Hayley](http://www.principal-hayley.com/default.aspx)[](http://www.somerstonhotels.co.uk/) 22 Principal hotels (11), Venues (11) 3,494 24 (3,830)
21 [Choice Hotels International](http://www.choicehotels.com/) 47 †Clarion (1), †Comfort (12) †Quality (22), †Comfort Inn (12) 3,373 5,800 (455,000)
22 [Imperial London Hotels](http://www.imperialhotels.co.uk/index.htm) 6 3,355
23[BDL](http://www.bdlhotels.co.uk/) including Ramcore and Select 26 †Crowne Plaza (2), †Express By Holiday Inn (6), †Holiday Inn (2), †Ramada Encore (10), BDL Select (6) 3,212 20 (3,548)
24 [QMH Hotels](http://www.qmh-hotels.com/) 18 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (12), Best Western (3) 2,870
25[Barceló Hotels & Resorts ](http://www.barcelo-hotels.co.uk/)([Puma Hotels](http://www.pumahotels.co.uk/)) 21 Barceló 2,861 186
26[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 96 Innkeepers Lodge (92), †Express by Holiday Inn (4) 2,849
27 [Warner Holidays](http://www.warnerleisurehotels.co.uk/index.cfm?page=1007) ([Bourne Leisure](http://www.bourneleisuresales.co.uk/)) 13 2,704
28 [Q Hotels](http://www.qhotels.co.uk/) 21 2,700
29[Radisson Edwardian Hotels](http://www.radissonedwardian.com/) 13 Radisson Edwardian 2,469
30[Arora International Hotels](http://www.arorainternational.com/) 7 Arora (4), †Sofitel (2), †Mercure (1) 2,429
31 [Starwood Hotels and Resorts](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/) 9 Sheraton (5), St Regis (1), Le Meridien (1), Luxury Collection (2) 2,350 960
32 [Crerar Hotels](http://www.crerarhotels.com/) 29 Crerar (10), Swallow (19) 2,228
33 [Kew Green Hotels](http://www.kewgreen.co.uk/) 20 †Holiday Inn (12), †Days Hotels (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (3), †Crowne Plaza (1), Courtyard (1) 2,162
34[Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/)[](http://www.arorainternational.com/) 71 Old English Inns (58), Greene King Inns (13) 1,800+
35 [Oxford Hotels & Inns](http://www.oxfordhotelsandinns.com/) 46 Hotels (42), Inn (4) 2,0140
36 [Malmaison Group (MWB)](http://www.mwb.co.uk/mwb/hotels.jsp) [](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 26 Malmaison (12), Hotel du Vin (14) 1,904
37 [Menzies Hotels](http://www.menzies-hotels.co.uk/) 17 1,700
38[City Inn](http://www.cityinn.com/) 6 City Inn 1,647
39[Welcome Break](http://www.welcomebreak.co.uk/) 26 † Days Inn 1,647
40[Grange Hotels](http://www.grangehotels.com/) 15 1,643
41 [Chardon Management](http://www.hotelmanagementservices.com/) 15 †Holiday Inn (7), †Express by Holiday Inn (4), †Quality Hotel (1), Best Western (1) 1,609
42[Louvre Hotels](http://www.louvrehotels.com/en/index.aspx) 19 Campanile (19) 1,588 830+ (54,000)
43 [Bespoke Hotels](http://www.bespokehotels.com/) 29 1,443
44[morethanhotels](http://www.morethanhotels.com/) 12 †Express by Holiday Inn (12) 1,399
45[Splendid Hotel Group](http://www.splendidhotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/) 20 †Express by Holiday Inn (5), †Holiday Inn (3), †Comfort (3), †Comfort Inns & Suites (1), †Easyhotel (2) 1,383
46[Folio Hotels](http://www.foliohotels.com/) 19 1,371
47[Centre Island](http://www.centreisland.co.uk/) 10 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (4), †Express by Holiday Inn (2) 1,369
48[Alfa-Leisureplex](http://www.alfatravel.co.uk/alfabrochure.ASP?WCI=Leisureplex_Home)[](http://www.cityinn.com/) 17 1,349
49[Cairn Hotel Group](http://www.cairnhotelgroup.com/)[](http://www.quintessential-hotels.co.uk/) 16 1,307
50[Focus Hotels](http://www.focushotels.co.uk/)[ 14 1,214

\* Some or all franchised to another operator Franchised hotels

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!