Trio win Annual Awards of Excellence 2010

22 July 2010
Trio win Annual Awards of Excellence 2010

Three young employees at Lucknam Park, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons and Gleneagles have won the top awards at the Academy of Culinary Arts Annual Awards of Excellence 2010.

The trio were announced as winners at an event at the Dorchester in London on Tuesday and were presented with awards by Heston Blumenthal, following finals which took place at Thames Valley University (kitchen and pastry) and Gleneagles, Le Gavroche and Le Colombier (service).

The three winners overall winners were:

Annual Awards of Excellence Young Chef of the Year Mark Stinchcombe - Lucknam Park

Annual Awards of Excellence Young Pastry Chef of the Year Richard Phillips - Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Annual Awards of Excellence Young Waiter of the Year Katie Watson - Gleneagles

Prizes included silver trophies (donated by Gordon Hogg and Finclass), Meyer Cookware, Victorinox Knives and a scholarship worth £2,000 from the Savoy Educational Trust. This year's scholarship will be a trip with GH Mumm Champagne to Reims and Paris. The three winners will also each spend a day's work experience at the Fat Duck.

The Gala Dinner also celebrated the other 26 talented young chefs, pastry chefs and waiters who successfully achieved the Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Award of Excellence 2010, in finals held in April.


The full List of winners (in alphabetical order):


Hayley Barham, the Old Bell Hotel
Jarad McCarroll, the Ritz London
Lee Murdoch, the Turnberry Hotel
Mark Stinchcombe, Lucknam Park Hotel
Adam Smith, the Ritz London
Hyun You Im, Roux Fine Dining


Helen Doyle, Café 21
Christine Peace, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Richard Phillips, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Daniel Pierce, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park
Arnaud Souchet, Pennyhill Park Hotel


Moreila Amaral Ramos, the Westbury Hotel
Chris Bakowski, Le Pont de la Tour
Matthew Balman, Gidleigh Park
William Bonfield, La Trompette
Guillaume Cambounet, the Cinnamon Club
Rosario Cappiello, the Ritz London
Nicolas Digard, the Cinnamon Club
Iris Glock, the Gleneagles Hotel
Devid Isabella, the Ritz London
Madlen Kleditzsch, the Turnberry Hotel
Jean-Marie Messaoud, Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Fergus Muirhead, the Turnberry Hotel
Roy Ng, Bistro 21
Peter Oborko, the Westbury Hotel
Pierre Rizet-Mosser, the Waterside Inn
Andrew Roberts, the Manor House Hotel
Lucia Venere, Le Gavroche
Katie Watson, the Gleneagles Hotel

Finalists for the Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2010 unveiled >>

La Parade des Chefs medal winners 2010 >>

By Neil Gerrard

E-mail your comments to Neil Gerrard here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk - Caterer's new networking forum. Go to jobs

Looking for a new job? Find your next job here with jobs

[Newsletters For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking