BBC Two Great British Menu 2019 chef line-up revealed as show moves to prime time

06 March 2019 by
BBC Two Great British Menu 2019 chef line-up revealed as show moves to prime time

BBC Two's Great British Menu will move to a prime-time slot this year as contestants look to celebrate 50 years of British pop music.

Each heat will be shown on two mid-week hour-long programmes followed by a 30-minute final, where two chefs will compete to reach the finals of the competition.

Judge Matthew Fort said: "If music be the food of love, eat up. Series 14 of the Great British Menu celebrates the brilliance of British restaurant cooking and flair of British music. Both just keep getting better and better."



London and South EastBen Marks, Perilla, London

Luke Selby, Hide, London

Paul Walsh, City Social, London

Guest judge: Mani (Gary Mounfield) former bass player, The Stone Roses and Primal Scream

North EastMichael Carr, formerly Restaurant 92, Harrogate

Samira Effa, formerly Alimentum, Cambridge, now the Box Tree, Ilkley

Tom Anglesea, the Laughing Heart, London

Guest judge: Pete Waterman, Record Producer


Kray Treadwell, Man Behind The Curtain, Leeds

Sabrina Gidda, AllBright, London

Ryan Simpson-Trotman, Orwells, Oxfordshire

Guest judge: Ali Campbell, UB40

North West

Adam Reid, Adam Reid at the French, Manchester

Hrishikesh Desai, the Gilpin Hotel, Lake District

Liam Simpson-Trotman, Orwells, Oxfordshire

Guest judge: Amy MacDonald, singer-song writer


Andrew Sheridan, formerly Sosban, Camarthenshire

Tom Westerland, the Brasserie at Lucknam Park Hotel, Wiltshire

Cindy Challoner, formerly the Classroom, Cardiff

Guest judge: JB Gill, former member of JLS

South West

Emily Scott, St Tudy Inn, Cornwall

Joe Baker, Number 10, Jersey

Lee Smith, Samphire, Jersey

Guest judge: Rev. Richard Coles, former member of the Communards


Ben Reade, Edinburgh Food Studio, Edinburgh

Gordon Jones, Menu Gordon Jones, Bath

Lorna McNee, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Gleneagles

Guest judge: Keisha Buchanan, former member of Sugababes

Northern Ireland

Alex Greene, Deanes EIPIC, Belfast

Chris McClurg, Paul Ainsworth at No 6, Cornwall

Glen Wheeler, 28 Darling St, Enniskillen

Guest judge: Loyle Carner, hip hop musician

Finals judges

Starter: Martin Kemp, former member of Spandau Ballet

Fish: Kanya King, founder Mobo Awards

Main: Andrew Ridgeley, former member of Wham!

Dessert: Peter Hook, former member Joy Division and New Order

Veteran judges across the series

Tom Aikens

Daniel Clifford

Angela Hartnett

Michael O'Hare

Paul Ainsworth

Phil Howard

Richard Corrigan

Tommy Banks

Get The Caterer every week on your smartphone, tablet, or even in good old-fashioned hard copy (or all three!).

Continue reading

You need to create an account to read this article. It's free and only requires a few basic details.

Already subscribed?

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking