Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Frances Attwood wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2016

08 November 2016 by
Frances Attwood wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2016

Frances Attwood, from Michelin-starred Simpson's in Birmingham, has been named the winner of the British Culinary Federation's Young Chef of the Year 2016.

Attwood, 21, beat runner up Connor Blades of the Frog restaurant, London, and Andreas Doukanaris from the Cross in Kenilworth, Warwickshire, who came third. She also won the award for best starter, while Blades was honoured for the best starter and Fraser Cooper of the Isle of Eriska hotel, Argyll, won the award for the best dessert.

Her winning menu comprised: Cornish turbot, hispi cabbage, Avruga caviar, shellfish sauce; duck, salsify, apple, hazelnut, sherry vinegar and Dulcey caramelised white chocolate, blackberry and gingerbread.

Winning main course: duck, salsify, apple, hazelnut, sherry vinegar

Along with wining the David Bache Trophy, Attwood was also presented with a cheque for £250, commemorative plate, framed certificate, Adam Handling's cookery book, Smile or get out of the Kitchen, a dispenser presented by Wrapmaster, a personalised chef's jacket sponsored by CCS, and an invitation to a celebration lunch, courtesy of Villeroy & Boch.

Competition organiser and BCF president Peter Griffiths and BCF chairman Matt Davies presented the awards at a dinner held at the University College Birmingham (UCB), attended by 90 industry guests.

Judges included: Idris Caldora, of Royal Academy of Culinary Arts and Chefs Adopt A School; Stuart McCloud, chef director, Zuidam Ltd; Nick Vadis, culinary director, Compass Group UK & Ireland; Adam Handling, chef-patron, the Frog restaurant, London; David Colcombe, chef consultant and visiting professor for culinary arts at UCB; and Jerry Toth, chef director, Sundial Group.

Competitors had two hours to produce a three-course meal for two covers, the first course had to include fish and the main course, duck. They also had to include at least one product from the Major International range.

Butcher Aubrey Allen supplied the venison for the main course.

Full list of finalists

Matthew Nicholls, Cheal's of Henley-in-Arden
Fraser Cooper, Isle of Eriska hotel, Argyll, Oban
Andreas Doukanaras, the Cross, Kenilworth
Harvey Perttola, Peel's restaurant, Hampton Manor, Solihull
Richard Walter, Carter's of Moseley, Birmingham
Eleanor De Maria, Compass Group UK & Ireland
Lewis O'Carroll, the Moat House, Acton Trussell, Stafford
Connor Blades, the Frog Restaurant, London
Samuel Lambourne, the Stafford, London
Adam Shohet, the Ivy, London
Sophie Botting, the House of Commons, London
Joe Payne, Restaurant André Garrett, Cliveden House and Spa, Taplow, Berkshire
Laura Elbourne, Gilpin Hotel and Lake House, Windermere
Frances Attwood, Simpson's Restaurant, Edgbaston
Edward Marsh, Lucknam Park, Colerne, Wiltshire

Martin Carabott wins BCF Chef of the Year 2016 >>

Jonathan Ferguson wins BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015 >>

Latest video from The Caterer

Are you looking for a new role? See all the current hospitality vacancies available with The Caterer Jobs >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking