Hospitality sweethearts 14 February 2020 The couples who make working together and living together a love story
In this week's issue...Hospitality sweethearts The couples who make working together and living together a love story
Read More
Search
The Caterer

Industry data: Top 20 restaurant groups in 2006

18 October 2006 by
Industry data: Top 20 restaurant groups in 2006

Pub operator Mitchells & Butlers was the UK's largest restaurant group in 2006 with 799 sites, ahead of the Spirit Group (now part of Punch Taverns) and Ask and PizzaExpress owner Gondola Holdings, which both have more than 500 venues.

These figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2006, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report can be bought for £195 (for the printed version) or £145 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

See Top quick-service restaurant groups for further listings.

Top 20 UK restaurant groups in 2006 (by number of outlets):

OwnerNumber of outletsSelected brands
1Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/)[](http://www.starbucks.com/)799 Harvester, All Bar One, Toby
2[Spirit Group](http://www.thespiritgroup.com/) 510 Chef & Brewer. Two for One, Miller's
3[Gondola](http://www.gondolaholdings.co.uk/)505 [PizzaExpress](http://www.pizzaexpress.co.uk/indexf.htm), [Ask](http://www.askcentral.co.uk/mainpagenon.html), [Zizzi](http://www.zizzi.co.uk/indexnon.html)
4[The Restaurant Group](http://www.trgplc.com/) 279 [Frankie & Benny's](http://www.trgplc.com/html/frankie.asp), [Garfunkels](http://www.trgplc.com/html/garfunkels.asp)
5[Wimpy](http://www.wimpyburgers.co.uk/)250 Wimpy
6People's Restaurant Group 235 [Little Chef](http://www.little-chef.co.uk/)
7[Tragus](http://www.tragusholdings.com/)162 Cafe Rouge, Bella Italia
8[Whitbread](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)[](http://www.segafredo.it/eng/corp-e_azi_pag.htm)157 [TGI Friday's](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/our_businesses.cfm?id=tgi_fridays)
9[Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/)90 [Hungry Horse](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/launch_hungry_horse.htm)
10[Nando's](http://www.nandos.com/)133 Nando's
11[Out of Town Restaurant Group](http://www.ootr.co.uk/Master.htm)87 Madisons, Bitz and Pizza, Bradwells
12[Prezzo](http://www.prezzoplc.co.uk/)78 Prezzo, Ultimate Burger
13Orchid Pubs76 Jim Thompson's, Country Carvery
14[Clapham House](http://www.claphamhouse.com/)57 [Tootsies](http://www.tootsiesrestaurants.co.uk/), [Bombay Bicycle Club](http://www.thebombaybicycleclub.com/)
15[La Tasca](http://www.latasca.co.uk/)56 La Tasca
16[Ponti's](http://www.pontis.co.uk/jsp/pontis.jsp)48 Ponti's, Caffe Alba
17[Caprice Holdings](http://www.caprice-holdings.co.uk/) 45 [Strada](http://www.strada.co.uk/)
18[Wagamama](http://www.wagamama.com/) 39 Wagamama
19[Regent Inns](http://www.regentinns.co.uk/)31 Old Orleans
20Premium Casual Dining30 [Loch Fyne](http://www.lochfyne.com/pages/content.asp?PageID=47), [Petit Blanc
Source: Horizons Changes since the table was compiled: - Orchid Pubs bought 290 managed properties from Punch Tavern in the summer of 2006 - Le Petit Blanc was the subject of an MBO from Premium Casual Dining
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!