The Caterer
Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Top 20 restaurant groups in 2008 – Industry data

24 October 2008 by

Managed pub operator Mitchells & Butlers (M&B) toppled Gondola from its perch to regain its position as the UK's largest restaurant operator in 2008.

M&B added 251 new venues over the year to end with 728 pub restaurants. Gondola, owner of the PizzaExpress, Ask and Zizzi chains, slipped to second place with 575 outlets, 50 fewer than in 2007.

These facts and figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2008, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £250 (for the printed version) or £200 (for a PDF file). Prices are progressively discounted as the year moves on. For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the leading restaurant groups from the 2007 report >> View the leading restaurant groups from the 2006 report >>

TOP 20 UK RESTAURANT GROUPS IN 2008 (by number of outlets)

Owner2008 outlets2007 outlets2006 outletsSelected brands
1Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 728 477 799 Harvester, Toby, All Bar OneVintage Inns,
2[Gondola](http://www.gondolaholdings.co.uk/)575 525 505 [PizzaExpress](http://www.pizzaexpress.com/), [Ask](http://www.askcentral.co.uk/mainpagenon.html), [Zizzi](http://www.zizzi.co.uk/indexnon.html)
3[Whitbread](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)[](http://www.starbucks.com/)398 237 157 [Beefeater](http://www.hahaonline.co.uk/), [Brewers Fayre](http://www.brewersfayre.co.uk/), [Table Table](http://www.tabletable.co.uk/)
4[Bay Restaurant Group](http://www.laurelpubco.com/) 381 89\* 56\* [La Tasca](http://www.latasca.co.uk/), [Slug & Lettuce,](http://www.slugandlettuce.co.uk/) [haha Grill](http://www.hahaonline.co.uk/)
5[Spirit Group](http://www.thespiritgroup.com/)344 402 510 Chef & Brewer. Two for One, Family
6[The Restaurant Group](http://www.trgplc.com/)336 284 279 [Frankie & Benny's](http://www.trgplc.com/html/frankie.asp), [Garfunkels](http://www.trgplc.com/html/garfunkels.asp), [Chiquito](http://www.chiquito.co.uk/)
7[Tragus](http://www.tragusholdings.com/)267 228 162 [Café Rouge](http://www.caferouge.co.uk/), [Bella Italia](http://www.bellaitalia.co.uk/), [Strada ](http://www.strada.co.uk/)
8[Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 238 168 132 [Hungry Horse](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/launch_hungry_horse.htm), [Loch Fyne](http://www.lochfyne.com/)
9[Nando's](http://www.nandos.com/) 190 142 133 Nando's
10[Little Chef ](http://www.little-chef.co.uk/) 179 230 235 Little Chef
11[Wimpy](http://www.wimpyburgers.co.uk/)178 252 250 Wimpy
12[Prezzo](http://www.prezzoplc.co.uk/)[](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)135 87 78 Prezzo, [Ultimate Burger](http://www.ultimateburger.co.uk/), [iMMO](http://www.prezzoplc.co.uk/immo.html)
13[Paramount](http://www.santeonline.co.uk/restaurants.html)75 76 25 [Chez Gerard](http://www.chezgerard.com/), [Caffè Uno ](http://www.caffeuno.co.uk)
14[Clapham House](http://www.claphamhouse.com/)[](http://www.tragusholdings.com/)74 70 57 [Tootsies](http://www.tootsiesrestaurants.co.uk/), [Gourmet Burger Kitchen](http://www.gbkinfo.com/)
15[Wagamama](http://www.wagamama.com/)[](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/)59 51 39 Wagamama[](http://www.lochfyne.com/)
16[Town Centre Restaurants](http://www.towncentrerestaurants.co.uk/)[](http://www.nandos.com/)58 - - Auberge, Café Giardino, Azzuro
17[Orchid Pubs](http://www.orchid-group.co.uk/)44 66 76 Oriental, Jim Thompson, Contemporary Carvery
18[Carluccio's](http://www.carluccios.com/)[](http://www.pontis.co.uk/jsp/pontis.jsp)39 - - Carluccio's
19 [YO! Sushi](http://www.yosushi.com)33 - - YO! Sushi
20[Individual Restaurant Group](http://www.individualrestaurantcompanyplc.co.uk)[30 - - Piccolino, Zinc, Bank
\* As Laurel Pub Company Source: Horizons/Wordsmith & Company
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking