Cateys 2020 shortlist revealed

30 September 2020
Cateys 2020 shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2020 Catey Awards has been revealed ahead of a virtual ceremony in November.

Hundreds of the industry's finest operators met for virtual judging sessions during lockdown, and the shortlisted and winning businesses and individuals will be celebrated at a virtual event that will feature all the excitement associated with the biggest event in the hospitality calendar.

The winners, representing British hospitality at its best, will be revealed in a digital ceremony on Tuesday 24 November.

The Caterer editor James Stagg said: "The 2020 Cateys recognise the most talented individuals, the biggest brands and strongest performers in the hospitality industry.

"There will be some changes to the way we celebrate them this year since it is not possible to deliver the event at the JW Marriott Grosvenor House hotel in London, but The Caterer is determined that the industry continues to have the opportunity to applaud its finest and celebrate excellence.

"The Cateys 2020 is going virtual, and this year everyone is invited."

Register your interest in attending the 2020 Cateys here

The shortlist

Accessibility Award

Sponsored by Blue Badge Access Awards

  • The Barbican Centre, London
  • Cottage in the Dales, Yorkshire
  • Park Plaza London Waterloo

Best Employer Award

Sponsored by Nescafé

  • Amba Hotel Grosvenor, London
  • Cheval Collection
  • Cycas Hospitality UK
  • Firmdale Hotels
  • Red Carnation Hotels
  • Valor Hospitality Europe

Best Marketing Campaign Award

Sponsored by the Vegetarian Butcher

  • Café Rouge
  • Cahoots, London
  • Marriott International
  • The Real Food Cafe, Perthshire
  • Rogerthorpe Manor hotel, West Yorkshire
  • Seren Collection

Best Use of Technology Award

Sponsored by Twisper

  • D&D London
  • Edwardian Hotels London
  • The Genuine Dining Co

Chef Award

Sponsored by Brakes

  • Mark Birchall, Moor Hall, Lancashire
  • Adam Byatt, Trinity, Upstairs and Bistro Union, London
  • Margot Henderson, Rochelle Canteen and Arnold & Henderson, London
  • Tom Kitchin, Kitchin Group, Edinburgh

Education and Training Award

Sponsored by

  • Gary Hunter, Westminster Kingsway College, London
  • Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College
  • Gary Richmond, Mitchells & Butlers
  • Molly Shaher, Middlesbrough College, North Yorkshire

Foodservice Caterer Award

Sponsored by Zenith & Diversey

  • Bonnie May, Global Infusion Group
  • Allister Richards, CH&Co
  • Matthew Thomas, Searcys
  • Kevin Watson, Amadeus
  • Andrew Wilson and Carolyne Vale, Wilson Vale

Health and Nutrition Award

Sponsored by Knorr Professional

  • CH&Co
  • Chartwells
  • Westminster Kingsway College, London

Hotel of the Year – Group

Sponsored by Sky

  • Artist Residence Oxfordshire
  • Hilton London Bankside
  • The Langham, London

Hotel of the Year – Independent

Sponsored by Sky

  • Grove of Narberth, Pembrokeshire
  • The Queensberry hotel, Somerset
  • Seaham Hall, County Durham

Manager of the Year

Sponsored by Franke Coffee Systems

  • David Connell, South Lodge, West Sussex
  • Marc Frankl, Amadeus
  • Viviane Lissarre, Brasserie Bar Co

Menu of the Year

Sponsored by Teflon

  • Darsham Nurseries, Suffolk
  • The French House, London
  • Hide and Fox, Kent
  • Wilder, London

Newcomer Award

Sponsored by Goya Communications

  • Brat, London
  • Cornerstone, London
  • Fordwich Arms, Kent
  • The Little Chartroom, Edinburgh
  • Restaurant Hjem, Northumberland

Pub and Bar Award

Sponsored by Britvic

  • Sally Abé, the Harwood Arms, London
  • Tim Foster, the Yummy Pub Co
  • Richard Ferrier, the White Brasserie Company
  • Martin Wolstencroft, Arc Inspirations

Public Sector Caterer Award

Sponsored by Bidfood

  • Mark Davies, ISS UK Food Services
  • Suzanne Fisher, Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Chris Neale, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Alison Shedlock, the University of Manchester

Restaurateur of the Year – Group

Sponsored by Bidfood

  • Philip Eeles, Tom Barton and Dorian Waite, Honest Burgers
  • Des Gunewardena & David Loewi, D&D London
  • Steve Holmes, Azzurri Group

Restaurateur of the Year – Independent

Sponsored by OpenTable

  • Sat and Amanda Bains, Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms, Nottingham
  • Tommy Banks, the Black Swan Oldstead and Roots York, Yorkshire
  • Robin and Sarah Gill, Darby's, London
  • Tom Kerridge, the Hand & Flowers and the Coach, Buckinghamshire
  • James Sommerin, Restaurant James Sommerin/the Shed by James Sommerin, Vale of Glamorgan

Sustainable Business Award

Sponsored by Coca-Cola European Partners

  • The Bay Fish & Chips, Aberdeenshire
  • The Langham, London
  • Palé Hall hotel, Gwynedd
  • The University Caterers Organisation (TUCO)

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award

Sponsored by Champagne Taittinger

  • Rudina Arapi, Galvin at Windows, London Hilton on Park Lane
  • Andrew McKenzie, the Vineyard, Berkshire
  • Anna Sebastian, the Langham, London
  • Eric Zwiebel, Summer Lodge, Dorset

There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions/FairKitchens, the Special Award, sponsored by CH&Co, or the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking