Acorn Awards 2022 open for entries

15 February 2022 by
Acorn Awards 2022 open for entries

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Acorn Awards, which recognise 30 of the most inspirational leaders in hospitality under the age of 30.

The Acorn Awards organised by The Caterer in partnership with headline sponsor CH&Co are now in their 36th year, and, with the help of our highly respected panel of judges, provide winners with the acknowledgement of which they are so deserving.

Lisa Jenkins, managing editor of The Caterer, explained: "What defines an Acorn winner is their ability to look beyond their day-to-day challenges. Past winners have demonstrated financial acumen, compassion, and ambition. This year our judges will be looking for Acorns who can display adaptability and perseverance.

"The Acorn Awards aim to represent the great diversity of our industry. But the industry can and must do better when it comes to acknowledging and nurturing the talent of women, people of colour, people with disabilities and the LGBTQ+ community."

Allister Richards, chief operating officer at CH&Co, said: "We're very proud to continue our partnership with The Caterer as headline sponsor of the Acorn Awards.

"I believe that our industry is entering a very exciting period. Yes, it's still tough out there and recovery is not going to happen overnight, but as a glass half full kind of person, I see a fantastic opportunity to shape a revived industry that breaks new ground through innovation, inclusion and sustainability.

"The experience of our current leaders coupled with the new perspectives, energy and fearlessness of our emerging talent is a force to be reckoned with. That's why it's so important to champion careers in hospitality and inspire and nurture young talent across its diverse sectors and roles – they have an invaluable contribution to make now and in the future. The Acorn Awards leads the way in this, and I urge all my fellow leaders to nominate their rising stars. I've never failed to be impressed by the energy and achievements of the entrants and I look forward to seeing what the class of 2022 brings."

Peter Banks, managing director of Rudding Park in Harrogate, added: "As an industry it's never been more important for us to do everything we possibly can to recognise our shining stars, so we are absolutely delighted to be the host venue for the Acorn Awards this year and we look forward to extending our Yorkshire hospitality."

There are only three criteria to nominate someone for an Acorn Award: they must work in the hospitality industry in the UK; be under the age of 30 on 29 May 2022; and be available for the winners' weekend, which will take place at Rudding Park in Harrogate on 29-30 May 2022.

Previous Acorn Award winners include chefs Jason Atherton, Marcus Wareing, Glynn Purnell, Elly Wentworth, Will Torrent and the late Gary Rhodes; the founder of Soho House Nick Jones, Tim Axe, commercial director at Benugo, Sandra Bein, head sommelier at Mere, Liam Hatcher, head of learning and development at CH&Co and Liam Barrie, managing director at the Marram Grass.

Click here to nominate your 2022 Acorn nominee

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking