Craft Guild of Chefs recognises 44 culinary heroes

24 September 2021 by
Craft Guild of Chefs recognises 44 culinary heroes

The Craft Guild of Chefs has recognised 44 chefs for going above and beyond during the pandemic.

Its Recognise the Culinary Heroes awards were held at Landing Forty Two at the Leadenhall Building in London, replacing the Craft Guild of Chefs' usual awards in order to acknowledge those who have performed outstanding work in their communities.

The chefs recognised had taken part in initiatives including efforts to feed the public and essential workers, volunteering at charities and food banks, and supporting the wellness of colleagues.

Craft Guild of Chefs vice-president David Mulcahy said: "The last year has brought unprecedented challenges and adversity for the entire country. Yet we have seen heroes across the country from all walks of life who exemplify everything that is great and caring about our society, and we're delighted to honour the chefs among them."

Co-director of the awards Steve Munkley added: "We are increasingly aware of great self-sacrifice and community spirit our chefs have demonstrated. Landing Forty Two is the UK's highest events space, with stunning views across the Thames and London skyline from 500ft above the City. I can think of no better place to celebrate the heights these chefs have reached in service to the community."

The winning chefs were awarded a special badge of recognition and a three-year membership to the Craft Guild of Chefs.

The 44 culinary heroes

  • Adriano Carvalho, Sunrise of Sonning - Sunrise Senior Living
  • Alan Thomas, Sodexo
  • Amber Francis, Brawn Restaurant
  • Andrew Bradley, Bradleys Catering Services
  • Anthony Gascoigne, North Hertfordshire College
  • Anthony Hart, BaxterStorey
  • Bronwyn Jones, RAF Club
  • Charlie Taylor, Aulis
  • Chris Mapp, the Tickled Trout
  • Damian Broom, Ryan Haines and Alan Vass, Seaham Hall hotel
  • Danny Francomb, New City College
  • Darren Marshall, Thomas Franks
  • David Croft, Haven for Others
  • David Hearn, ESS Offshore
  • Dean Collins, Thomas Franks
  • Debbie Talbot, Gourmet Classic
  • Diana Covelli Cuellar, Lexington Catering
  • Enzo Oliveri, Enzo's Kitchen
  • Ernest Oparoacha, Compassion London
  • Floriberto Sánchez Caicedo, Lexington Catering
  • Gavin Tarbox, Thomas Franks
  • Graham Mitchell, the Newmachar hotel
  • Holly East, the Old White Hart @ Lyddington
  • James Eaves, University of Warwick
  • James Pate, Thomas Franks
  • Jomon Kuriakose, the Lalit London
  • Junior Menezes, Chef Junior Menezes
  • Louise Wagstaffe, Delicious by Design
  • Martyn Nail, Claridge's
  • Miranda Godfrey, Westminster Kingsway College
  • Neil Tyson, HMP Wandsworth
  • Omar Allibhoy, Tapas Revolution
  • Paul Obrien, the London Clinic
  • Peter McKenna, the Gannet, Glasgow
  • Phil Jones, Pop-up Picnics, Chester
  • Rebecca Marshman Rondeau, Nutfield Priory Hotel and Spa
  • Sean Noonan, the Mere, Cheshire
  • Simon McKinnon-Brahams, the Clink Restaurant at HMP Brixton
  • Simon Turton, Lexington Catering
  • Stephen Betts, HMP North Sea Camp
  • Stephen Reidie, Thomas Franks
  • Steven Cross, Park Community School
  • Stuart Howard, Thomas Franks
  • Sudha Saha, Entouraj Restaurant, Droitwich
  • Tom Aikens, Only A Pavement Away
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking