BCF announced 16 finalists for Young Chef of the Year 2015

14 October 2015 by
BCF announced 16 finalists for Young Chef of the Year 2015

The British Culinary Federation has announced its 16 finalists for Young Chef of the Year 2015.

Chefs this year come from prestigious venues including Gleneagles in Auchterarder, the Coach in Marlow, the Stafford in London, the Royal Military Academy in Sandhurst, the Latymer at Pennyhill Park, and the House of Commons.

The competition is set to take place on 2 November, followed by the dinner and awards evening, with the food cooked by the Junior English National Culinary Team. Competitors are asked to enter the contest with paper submissions of proposed dishes, with all finalists cooking at the final event.

Finalists will have two hours to cook a three-course meal of their design, with the starter including fish or shellfish; the main course including pork; and the sweet a free choice. First prize is a David Bache trophy, a cheque for £250, a study tour to Luxembourg with Villeroy & Boch, a winner's commemorative plate, and a framed certificate.

Second and third place win a cheque for £150 and £100 respectively, while everyone will receive a commemorative plate and a framed certificate, plus a personalised chef's jacket, and two tickets to the awards ceremony.

The judging panel will include Marcus Eaves, Nick Vadis, Eric Bruce, Stuart McLeod, Jerry Toth, and Idris Caldora MCA.

Last year's winner was Ray Steplin from the House of Commons. Andrew McKee from the Lough Erne Resort came in second and Leonidas Kattou from Simpsons Restaurant was third.

The sponsors of the event will comprise Villeroy & Boch, Major International, Gourmet Classic, Beacon Design and Interfruit.

The full list of finalists:
Jonathan Ferguson, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Gleneagles
Kane Adamson, Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, N Ireland
Keiron Stevens, The Latymer, Pennyhill Park, Bagshot
Leonidas Kattou, Simpsons Restaurant, Birmingham
Matt Nicholls, Cheal's Restaurant, Henley-in-Arden
Matthew Shaw, House of Commons, London
Arthur Bridgman-Quin, Punch Bowl Inn, Cumbria
Harvey Perttola, Lasan, Birmingham
Richard West, Moat House, Acton Trussell
Samuel Lambourne, The Stafford, London
Jack Gameson, University College Birmingham
Joshua Wilde, The Coach, Marlow
Mike Gray, Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst
James Toth, The Cross, Kenilworth
Joseph Payne, Hartwell House Hotel, Aylesbury
Connor Godfrey, Wilton's Restaurant, London

The BCF Young Chef of the Year 2015 now accepting entries >>

Entries sought for the BCF Chef of the Year 2014 >>

British Culinary Federation reveals Chef of the Year semi-finalists >>

BCF unveils English National Culinary Team for Culinary World Cup 2014 >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking