Acorn Awards 2023 open for entries

04 January 2023 by
Acorn Awards 2023 open for entries

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Acorn Awards, which recognise 30 of the most inspirational leaders in hospitality under the age of 30.

The Acorn Awards, organised by The Caterer in partnership with headline sponsor CH&Co, are now in their 37th year, and, with the help of our highly respected panel of judges, provide winners with the acknowledgement of which they are so deserving.

Lisa Jenkins, managing editor of The Caterer, said: "What defines an Acorn winner is their ability to look beyond their day-to-day challenges. To inspire their team, and to set the bar for others to aim for. This year our judges will continue to look for individuals who display adaptability and perseverance.

"The Acorn Awards aim to represent the great diversity of our industry. But the industry can and must do better when it comes to acknowledging and nurturing the talent of women, people of colour, people with disabilities and the LGBTQ+ community."

Liam Hatcher, head of people and development, at CH&Co said: "We're very proud and excited to continue our partnership with The Caterer as headline sponsor of the Acorn Awards.

"Hospitality is a vibrant, inclusive industry that exudes innovation, creativity, agility, and strength. It may seem that the challenges keep coming, but it's these formidable characteristics that put us in good stead to seize the opportunities.

"As well as the expertise of our current leaders, it's the energy and new ideas of our emerging talent that keeps us moving forward. Hospitality offers a wealth of possibilities for everyone across a diverse range of sectors and roles and it's important that we champion hospitality careers and inspire and nurture our brilliant young talent. The Acorn Awards are at the forefront of doing just this. Every year, the entrants and winners impress and enthuse, and I can't wait to discover the achievements of this year's cohort. Good luck everyone!"

Mike Warren, managing director at Harbour Hotels Collection, said: "Acorn Award recipients nominated by their senior managers and directors are the rising stars of the industry. As an Acorn recipient myself in 1999, I am fully aware of how much it means to be an Acorn Winner. The team and I are delighted that we are hosting such a prestigious event at Southampton Harbour Hotel and Spa and we look forward to welcoming the award winners."

There are only three criteria to nominate someone for an Acorn Award: they must work in the hospitality industry in the UK; be under the age of 30 on 5 June 2023; and be available for the winners' weekend, which will take place at Southampton Harbour Hotel on on Sunday 4 and Monday 5 June 2023.

Previous Acorn Award winners include chefs Jason Atherton, Marcus Wareing, Glynn Purnell, Elly Wentworth, Will Torrent and the late Gary Rhodes; the founder of Soho House Nick Jones, Tim Axe, commercial director at Benugo, Sandra Bein, head sommelier at Mere, and Liam Barrie, managing director at the Marram Grass.

Click here to nominate your 2023 Acorn nominee

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking