Royal Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence finalists announced

25 April 2016 by
Royal Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence finalists announced

Some 59 finalists have been selected by the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts to take part in the final stage of the Annual Awards of Excellence 2016.

The young professionals have been chosen after competing in one of seven semi-finals, covering kitchen, pastry and service, held across the UK. Last year's final saw the involvement of 47 competitors.

Since the launch of the awards in 1983, more than 500 young people have received the accolade, which is regarded as a benchmark of the highest standards and ambition.

The candidates who are successful in the finals will be invited to a gala presentation dinner at London's Claridge's hotel on 12 July, at which they will be presented with a certificate, a chef's jacket (kitchen and pastry) or lapel pin (service), and a magnum of Champagne Laurent-Perrier.

Those who scores the highest mark in each section will be rewarded with a scholarship, courtesy of the Savoy Educational Trust; Meyer cookware and MAC knives, a silver trophy and a day's work experience at Heston Blumenthal's the Fat Duck.

The full list of finalists is as follows:


  • Michael Clark Pompadour by Galvin
  • Jack Croft Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
  • Alex Dome Petersham Nurseries
  • Joel Gueller Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Ruth Hansom The Ritz London
  • Edward Marsh Lucknam Park Hotel
  • Adam McKinnon-Brahams The Ritz London
  • Samuel Nash L'Enclume
  • Alex Proudman Bistro Union
  • Hugo Vernochet Alfred's
  • Peter Webster Beagle Restaurant


  • Hannah Bagshaw Hakkasan
  • Polly Chan Yauatcha
  • Ethan Flack Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Irish Hacon The Langham Hotel
  • Corrine Jones Hyatt Regency London The Churchill
  • Naomi Longfield Hakkasan
  • Abigail Sole Marc Patisserie and Bakery
  • Faye Weatherburn The Ritz London
  • Mikaela Wright The Balmoral Hotel


  • Melanie Ablinger Lucknam Park Hotel
  • Ledia Alia Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Mike Ananiassen Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Rebecca Bauhofer Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles
  • Stephanie Beresforde Scott's Restaurant
  • Ashley Best The Ritz London
  • Marion Bourgin Luton Hoo Hotel
  • Giuseppe Cola The Ritz London
  • Elise Corneau Lucknam Park Hotel
  • Francesco De Santo The Ritz London
  • Lewis Dixon Northcote Manor
  • Daniel Dreiseitel The Ritz London
  • Emma Drummond The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Melissa Fergus The Fat Duck
  • Laudy Gibba-Smith L'Enclume
  • Louis Gillibert Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Innes Haywood L'Enclume
  • Julia Hermann Galvin La Chapelle
  • Christopher Hurle Trinity Restaurant
  • Tomas Kubart Bar Boulud
  • Giuseppe Laboragine Petrus
  • Alexander Macleod The Balmoral Hotel
  • Hannah McConnon The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Emily Morris The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Gerald Murati The Ritz London
  • Remi Orero The Greenhouse
  • James Parums The Royal Household
  • Vincent Passaboc Bar Boulud
  • Callum Rees The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Benjamin Rushworth The Parkers Arms
  • Dominik Schmidbauer The Lanesborough
  • Elena Silveri The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Paula Sobusiak Outlaw's at The Capital
  • Gabriele Sorrentino The Ritz London
  • Christopher Strachan The Three Chimneys
  • Dimitar Tanev The French by Simon Rogan
  • Laura Vernet Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Hannah Watson The Three Chimneys

Game on for Annual Excellence Awards 2016 as RACA reveals semi-finalists >>

RACA Annual Awards of Excellence 2015 winners named >>

RACA names Annual Awards of Excellence finalists >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking