The Caterer
Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Industry data: Budget hotels in the UK 2007

07 November 2007 by

The number of budget hotel bedrooms in the UK has soared by 70% since 2001, from 50,397 to 85,607 rooms. Growth over the past year was 12%, from 76,475 bedrooms in September 2006.

Whitbread's Premier Inn retained its position as the biggest player in the market, adding some 1,203 new bedrooms over the 12 months to September 2007 to end the period with a total 32,600+ rooms.

Its nearest rival, Travelodge, added some 1,250 new bedrooms to its estate over the same period, bringing the total to 18,950.

These facts and figures are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2007, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £195 (for the printed version) or £146.25 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the top budget hotel brands from the 2006 report here >>

THE UK BUDGET HOTEL MARKET BY NUMBER OF ROOMS, 2001 and 2007

BrandCompanyHotels 2007Hotels 2001Rooms 2007Rooms 2001
1Premier Inn ](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do)[Whitbread](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/)488+ 405 32,600+ 23,300
2[Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/)[Dubai International Capital](http://www.dubaiic.com/) 310+ 215 18,950+ 11,600
3[Express by Holiday Inn](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/ex/925/en/home)\* [](http://www.caffenero.com/)[InterContinental Hotels](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 10963 10,7505,900
4[Ibis](http://www.ibishotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml)[](http://www.marksandspencer.com/)[Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 4844 6,5324,000
5[Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)[Quinlan Private ](http://www.quinlanprivate.com/)15 - 4,145
6Innkeeper's Lodge[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 9031 2,600+-
7[Comfort Inn](http://www.choicehotels.com/ires/cj/ComfortHome?AID=10388238&PID=1369478)\* [](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/)[The Real Hotel Company](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/) 3531 2,450+2,050
8Days Inn\*^ [Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/about/wyndham_hotel_group.cfm) 25 14 1,420 900
9Campanile[](http://www.nestle.co.uk/Home)[Louvre Hotels](http://www.louvrehotels.com/en/louvre-hotels.html) 1615 1,2591,100
10[Etap](http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/home/index.shtml)[Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 7 2 1,062 69
11Sleep Inn [The Real Hotel Company](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/) 9 3 796 225
12[Ramada Encore](http://www.ramada.com/Ramada/control/home)\*[](http://www.segafredo.it/eng/corp-e_azi_pag.htm)[Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 5- 648-
13Tulip Inn+ [Golden Tulip](http://www.goldentulip.org.uk/) 5 2 575 175
14[Formule 1](http://www.hotelformule1.com/formule1/index.html)[](http://www.tchibo.co.uk/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/uk/-/GBP/TdUkStorefront-Start)[Accor](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 58 405590
15[Metro Inns](http://www.metroinns.co.uk/)[](http://www.coffeerepublic.co.uk/)Metro Inns[](http://www.goldentulip.org.uk/) 5- 345-
16 [Stop Inns](http://www.stop-inns.com/)[The Real Hotel Company ](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/)5 - 331 -
17JDW Lodges[](http://www.esquirescoffee.com/)[JD Wetherspoon](http://www.jdwetherspoon.co.uk/) 115 29689
18[easyHotel](http://www.easyhotel.com/)\* [easyGroup](http://www.easy.com/) 3 - 192 -
19Welcome Lodge[Welcome Break](http://www.welcomebreak.co.uk/)29 150569
20Nitenite Cityrooms[Nitenite](http://www.nitenite.com/)1- 104-
21Dolby Hotel [Dolby Hotels](http://www.dolbyhotels.co.uk/) 12 64130
22Sleeperz [Sleeperz Hotels1- 27-
TOTAL1,18684985,60150,397

\* including hotels franchised to other operators
^ including 19 Days Inns operated by Welcome Break
+ acquired by Whitbread in September 2007

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking