Search
The Caterer

Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK 2007 (part 1)

07 November 2007 by
Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK 2007 (part 1)

The Whitbread Hotel Company retained its position as the UK's largest hotel chain by bedrooms numbers.

Its Premier Inn budget chain had more than 488 hotels with in excess of 32,600 bedrooms by September 2007.

InterContinental was not far behind, with 32,540 bedrooms across its 241 UK hotels while the third position went to Premier Inn's arch-rival, the budget Travelodge chain, with more than 18,950 bedrooms across 310 venues.

These figures for the year to September 2007 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2007, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £195 (for the printed version) or £146.25 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the next 50 top hotel groups here >>

View the top 100 hotel brands from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK, SEPTEMBER 2007 (BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART I

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
1Whitbread Hotel Company](http://www.whitbread.co.uk/) 488+ [Premier Inn](http://www.premierinn.com/pti/home.do) 32,600+
2[InterContinental Hotels Group](http://www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/c/1/content/dec/teaser/6c/1/en/lp/ukmult.html) 241 InterContinental (1), \*Crowne Plaza (15) \*Holiday Inn (116) \*Express by Holiday Inn (109) 32,540 3,821 (563,676)
3[Travelodge](http://www.travelodge.co.uk/) 310+ 18,950 322 (20,000+)
4[Accor Hotels](http://www.accor.co.uk/gb/index.asp) 119 \*Sofitel (2) Novotel (30), Mercure (26), Ibis (49), Etap (7), Formule 1 (5) 15,722 3,800+ (475,000)
5[Hilton Hotel Corporation](http://hiltonworldwide.hilton.com/en/ww/index.jhtml;jsessionid=GVFMHVR4DDBKKCSGBI1MVCQKIYFC5UUC) 73 Hilton (73) 15,300 2,900 (500,000)
6[Marriott International](http://marriott.co.uk/Channels/globalSites/default.mi?country=UK) 63 Renaissance (9), Marriott (54) 13,041 2,898 (521,240)
7[Wyndham Worldwide](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 99 \*Days Inn (25), \*Days Hotel (9), \*Ramada (59), \*Ramada Encore (5), Wyndham Hotels & Resorts (1) 9,696 6,500 (542,000)
8[Thistle Hotels](http://www.thistlehotels.com/thistle/hotels/;jsessionid=AZNHIR1WTLS32CQFBQFCFEQKAUGBIIV0?_requestid=2751379) 39 Thistle (37), Guomon (2) 8,792
9[The Real Hotel Group](http://www.choicehotelsuk.co.uk/) (was CHE Hotel Group) 104 Clarion (3), Comfort (35) Quality (52), Sleep Inn (9), Stop Inn (5) 8,154 Choice Hotels International: 5,400 (440,000)
10[Carlson Hotels Worldwide](http://www.carlson.com/brands/hotels.cfm) [](http://www.wyndhamworldwide.com/) 33 \*Radisson (11), \*Park Inn (14), Park Plaza (7), \*Country Inns & Suites (1) 7,069 948 (1 46,448)
11[Britannia Hotels](http://www.britanniahotels.com/default.asp) 33 7,000
12[De Vere ](http://www.devere.co.uk/default.aspx)(AHG)[](http://www.amtcoffee.co.uk/) 57 De Vere Deluxe (8), De Vere Heritage (5), De Vere Venues (27), Village (17) 6,989
13[Arora Family Trust](http://www.arorainternational.com/) 13 Arora (4), †Sofitel (1), †Renaissance (2) †Hilton (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (1), †Premier Travel Inn (1), †Radisson (1) 5,500
14[The Rezidor Hotel Group](http://www.rezidor.com/) 26 †Radisson SAS (11), †Park Inn (14), †Country Inns & Suites (1) 5,369 300 (61,000)
15[Ramada Jarvis Hotels](http://www.ramadajarvis.co.uk/) 41 †Ramada (41) 4,701
16[Millennium Copthorne Hotels](http://www.millenniumhotels.com/) 20 Millennium (7), Copthorne (13) 4,496 110 (29,408)
17[Mitchells & Butlers](http://www.mbplc.com/) 115 Innkeepers Lodge (90), †Express by Holiday Inn (25) 4,204
18[Jurys Inn](http://www.jurysinns.com/)s ([Quinlan Private](http://www.quinlanprivate.com/)) 15 4,145 21 (5,082)
19[Somerston Hotels](http://www.somerstonhotels.co.uk/) 34 †Express by Holiday Inn (32), †Holiday Inn (1), †Ramada Encore (1) 4,000
20[Macdonald Hotels](http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/) 46 Hotels (46), Resorts (7) 3,904 56 hotels and resorts
21[WA Shearings Hotels](http://www.washearings.com/uk/) 40 3,450
22[Imperial London Hotels](http://www.imperialhotels.co.uk/index.htm) 6 3,355
23[QMH Hotels](http://www.qmh-hotels.com/) 19 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (12), Best Western (3) 3,000
24[Q Hotels](http://www.qhotels.co.uk/) 22 2,800+
25[Principal Hotels](http://www.principal-hotels.com/group/index.aspx) 16 Principal hotels (8), Hayley Venues (8) 2,789
26[Crerar Hotels](http://www.crerarhotels.com/) 35 Swallow (27), Crerar (8) 2,730+
27[Paramount Hotels](http://www.paramount-hotels.co.uk/) ([Barceló Hotels & Resorts](http://www.barcelo.com/BarceloHotels/en-GB/NuestrosHoteles)) 20 2,712
28[Warner Holidays](http://www.warnerbreaks.co.uk/index.cfm?page=1007) 13 2,704
29[Starwood Hotels and Resorts](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/) 9 St Regis (1), Luxury Collection (1), Westin (1), Sheraton (6) 2,487 871 (266,000)
30[Radisson Edwardian Hotels](http://www.radissonedwardian.com/) 13 2,469
31[Folio Hotels](http://www.foliohotels.com/) 36 2,322
32[Menzies Hotels](http://www.menzies-hotels.co.uk/) 23 2,288
33[Oxford Hotels & Inns](http://www.oxfordhotelsandinns.com/) 56 2,194
34[Greene King](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 75 Old English Inns (49), Greene King Inns (26) 1,885
35[Kew Green Hotels](http://www.kewgreen.co.uk/) 18 †Holiday Inn (12), †Days Hotels (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (3) 1,750
36[Malmaison Group (MWB)](http://www.mwb.co.uk/mwb/hotels.jsp) [](http://www.greeneking.co.uk/) 21 Malmaison (11), Hotel du Vin (10) 1,634
37[BDL/Ramcore](http://www.bdlhotels.co.uk/) 11 †Crowne Plaza (2), †Express By Holiday Inn (4), †Holiday Inn (3), †Ramada Encore (2) 1,556
38[Chardon Management](http://www.hotelmanagementservices.com/) 12 †Holiday Inn (6), †Express by Holiday Inn (3), †Quality Hotel (1), Best Western (1) 1,395
39[Splendid Hotel Group](http://www.splendidhotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.starwoodhotels.com/)19 †Express by Holiday Inn (5), †Holiday Inn (3), †Comfort Inn (4), †Comfort Inns & Suites (1), Best Western (1), Easy Hotel (1) 1,353
40[Alfa-Leisureplex](http://www.alfatravel.co.uk/alfabrochure.ASP?WCI=Leisureplex_Home)[](http://www.cityinn.com/)16 1,324
41[City Inn](http://www.cityinn.com/)[](http://www.kewgreen.co.uk/)5 1,314
42[Cairn Hotel Group](http://www.cairnhotelgroup.com/)[](http://www.quintessential-hotels.co.uk/)16 1,308
43[morethanhotels](http://www.morethanhotels.com/) 11 †Express by Holiday Inn (11) 1,270
44[Forestdale Hotels](http://www.forestdale.com/)19 1,256 20 (1,291)
45^[Golden Tulip UK ](http://www.goldentulip.org.uk/)8 Hotels (2), Inns (6) 1,321 630 (58,000)
46[Grange Hotels](http://www.grangehotels.com/)13 1,146
47[The Landmark Group](http://www.landmarklondon.co.uk/landmark_group.htm)[](http://www.splendidhotels.co.uk/)4 includes apartments 1,136 5 (1,550)
48[Firoka Group](http://www.thekassamstadium.co.uk/firoka.html)[](http://www.alfatravel.co.uk/alfabrochure.ASP?WCI=Leisureplex_Home)5 1,098
49[Centre Island](http://www.centreisland.co.uk/)[](http://www.principal-hotels.com/group/index.aspx)9 †Crowne Plaza (3), †Holiday Inn (3), †Express by Holiday Inn (2), 62 Castle Street 1,052
50[Hyatt International 3 1,030 735 (136,000)

\* Some or all franchised to another operator Franchised hotels
^ Bought by Whitbread in September 2007

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!