Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

AA 3-rosette restaurants in the rest of Britain

15 January 2009 by
AA 3-rosette restaurants in the rest of Britain

AA ROSETTE CRITERIA

AA-rosette-1
AA-rosette-1
- One rosette Chefs should display a mastery of basic techniques and be able to produce dishes of sound quality and clarity of flavours, using good, fresh ingredients.
AA-rosette-2
AA-rosette-2
- Two rosettes
Innovation, greater technical skill and more consistency and judgement in combining and balancing ingredients are all needed at this level.
AA-rosette-3
AA-rosette-3
- Three rosettes
This award takes a restaurant into the big league. Expectations of the kitchen are high: exact technique, flair and imagination must come through in every dish, and balance and depth of flavour are all-important.
AA-rosette-4
AA-rosette-4
- Four rosettes
At this level, not only should all technical skills be exemplary, but there should also be daring ideas, and they must work. There is no room for disappointment. Flavours should be accurate and vibrant.
AA-rosette-5
AA-rosette-5
- Five rosettes The supreme accolade awarded only when the cooking is at the pinnacle of achievement. Flavours, combinations and textures show a faultless sense of balance, giving each dish an extra dimension.

THREE AA ROSETTES: SCOTLAND -
Airds hotel](http://www.airds-hotel.com/), Port Appin, Argyll and Bute[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373393) entry
Cellar restaurant, Anstruther, Fife[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371756) entry
[The Cross at Kingussie](http://www.thecross.co.uk/), Kingussi, Highland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371024) entry
[Darroch Learg hotel](http://www.darrochlearg.co.uk/), Ballateer, Aberdeenshire [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371394)entry
[De Vere Deluxe Cameron House](http://www.devere.co.uk/deluxe/Cameron-House/restaurants.aspx), Balloch, West Dunbartonshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371041) entry
[Glenapp Castle](http://www.glenappcastle.com), Ballantrae [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373638) entry
[Glenmoriston Town House hotel](http://www.glenmoristontownhouse.com/), Inverness, Highland[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373099) entry
[Greywalls hotel](http://www.greywalls.co.uk/), Gullane, East Lothian [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371045) entry
[The Horseshoe Inn](http://www.horseshoeinn.co.uk/), Eddleston, Peebles[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/493755) entry
[Hotel du Vin Bistro](http://www.hotelduvin.com/HotelPage.aspx?HotelId=10&NavigationId=57) at One Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372104) entry
[Inverlochy Castle hotel,](http://www.inverlochycastlehotel.com/) Fort William, Highland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371251) entry
[Isle of Eriska](http://www.eriska-hotel.co.uk/), Eriska, Argyll & Bute [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371175) entry
[Kinnaird](http://www.kinnairdestate.com/), Dunkeld, Perth & Kinross [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373627) entry
[Kinloch Lodge](http://www.kinloch-lodge.co.uk/), Isle Ornsay, Highland[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/isle-ornsay-kinloch-lodge-950179) entry
[The Kitchin](http://www.thekitchin.com/), Edinburgh [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/616963) entry
[Knockinaam Lodge](http://www.knockinaamlodge.com/), Portpatrick, Dumfries & Galloway[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373296) entry
[Lochgreen House,](http://www.lochgreenhouse.co.uk/) Troon, South Ayrshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373428) entry
[Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond](http://www.martin-wishart.co.uk/martin-wishart-loch-lomond/home.aspx), Balloch, West Dunbartonshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/balloch-martin-wishart-at-loch-lomond-1179064) entry
[North by North West](http://www.poolhousehotel.com/fine-dining.php) at Pool House, Poolewe, Ross-shire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371401) entry
[Norton House hotel,](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) Edinburgh [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370975) entry
[Number One](http://www.roccofortehotels.com/), The Balmoral, Edinburgh[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370972) entry
[The Peat Inn](http://www.thepeatinn.co.uk/), St Andrews, Fife[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/the-peat-inn-371164) entry
[The Road Hole Grill](http://www.oldcoursehotel.co.uk), The Old Course hotel, St Andrews, Fife [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371413) entry
[Roman Camp Country House hotel](http://www.romancamphotel.co.uk), Callander, Stirling [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371721) entry
[The Seafood Restaurant](http://www.theseafoodrestaurant.com), St Andrews, Fife [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373137) entry
[The Three Chimneys](http://www.threechimneys.co.uk), Colbost, Highland [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372253) entry
[Ullinish Country Lodge](http://www.theisleofskye.co.uk/restaurant.php), Struan, Isle of Skye [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371150) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: WALES -
[Bodysgallen Hall and Spa](http://www.bodysgallen.com), Llandudno, Conwy [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372064) entry
[Carlton Riverside](http://www.carltonrestaurant.co.uk/), Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/553301) entry
[The Crown ](http://www.celtic-manor.com/The-Crown.aspx)at Celtic Manor, Newport, South Wales AA entry
[Tan-y-Foel Country House](http://www.tyfhotel.co.uk), Betws-y-Coed, Conwy[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372380) entry
[Ynyshir Hall](http://www.ynyshirhall.co.uk/), Machynlleth, Powys, Wales [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/372912) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: CHANNEL ISLANDS -
[Longueville Manor hotel](http://www.longuevillemanor.com), St Saviour, Jersey [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370860) entry
[Ocean restaurant ](http://www.theatlantichotel.com)at the Atlantic hotel, St Brelade, Jersey [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371042) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: REPUBLIC OF IRELAND -
[The K Club](http://www.kclub.ie), Straffan, Kildare [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372199) entry
[Longueville House hotel](http://www.longuevillehouse.ie), Mallow, Cork [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371828) entry
[Nuremore Hotel,](http://www.nuremore.com) Carrickmacross, Monoghan [AA entry

View the five-rosette restaurants here >>
View the four-rosette restaurants here >>
View the three-rosette restaurants in London here >> View the three-rosette restaurants in England here >>

Return to AA rosette-rated restaurants here >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking