The Caterer

Shortlist revealed for Independent Hotel Show 2019 awards

03 September 2019 by
Shortlist revealed for Independent Hotel Show 2019 awards

The shortlists for the Independent Hotel Show’s 2019 Independent Hotelier of the Year and Hotel Innovation awards have been announced.

The annual awards celebrate hoteliers who have made a significant and game-changing impact in the industry and hotels that have had a significant impact on the industry by dynamically reshaping the guest experience.

While the Independent Hotelier award has been presented every year since 2012, the Hotel Innovation accolade is new to the show, replacing the Outstanding New Hotel award.

Also new for 2019 is the GM of the Future Award, created in partnership with the Master Innholders to recognise rising stars in the hotel sector, and a Long-time Achievement Award.

The winners of all four awards will be announced on 15 October at the end of the first day of the Independent Hotel Show.

The shortlist for Independent Hotelier of the Year includes: • Harry Cragoe, owner, the Gallivant, East Sussex • Mark and Felicity Cunliffe-Lister, owner, Swinton Park, North Yorkshire • Paula Ellis, group general manager, Retreats Group – Twr y Felin, Roch Castle, Penrhiw Priory, Pembrokshire • Anton Fedun, owner, the Ampersand and Vintry & Mercer, London • James & Fjona Hill, owners, Hampton Manor, West Midlands • David & Charlotte Reiley, owners, Yorebridge House, North Yorkshire

The shortlist for the Hotel Innovation award includes: • Mollie’s Motel & Diner, Oxfordshire • Whatley Manor Hotel and Spa, Wiltshire • Cow Hollow Hotel, Manchester • Hampton Manor, West Midlands • Swinton Park, Yorkshire Dales • Manor House Lindley, Huddersfield

The shortlists were compiled by a judging panel which comprised: • Adam Raphael, editor, Good Hotel Guide • Charlotte Evans, group publishing director, Condé Nast Johansens • David Noble, director of hospitality and leisure, James Hallam Insurance Brokers • Fiona Duncan, The Telegraph and The Sunday Telegraph • James Tweddle, hotel director, Sky • Janet Harmer, associate editor, The Caterer • Peter Hancock, chief executive, Pride of Britain Hotels • Simon Numphud, managing director, AA Hotel & Hospitality Services • Zoe Monk, editor, Boutique Hotelier

The judges have cast their votes, but the ultimate winners will be decided by the industry. To vote for the Independent Hotelier or the Hotel Innovation Award, please go to: /cast-your-vote.

The Independent Hotel Show takes place on 15 and 16 October 2019 at Olympia London.

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!