Hotel Cateys 2019 shortlist revealed

09 September 2019 by
Hotel Cateys 2019 shortlist revealed

The shortlist has been revealed for the 2019 Hotel Cateys, which recognise the most successful hotel operators and their employees in the UK.

This year, the Hotel Cateys feature two new awards, recognising chefs who operate restaurants within hotels and the growing influence of technology on operations.

To accompany the Hotel Chef of the Year awards, which recognise chefs that service all areas of the hotel, there is now a Hotel Restaurant Chef award to celebrate the people who run standalone outlets within a hotel. The inaugural winner will come from a shortlist including Adam Reid from Adam Reid at the French, Calum Franklin from Holborn Dining Room, Chris Harrod from the Whitebrook Restaurant with Rooms and Simon Shand from the Town Hall hotel.

Meanwhile, the new Best Use of Technology award will recognise businesses and individuals delivering technology innovation that has made a tangible difference to their businesses in the last year. The Cairn Group, Exclusive Collection and the Lowry hotel are all in contention.

Nearly 70 judges, selected for their expertise and industry knowledge, met at the Conrad London St James hotel last week for two days of vigorous debate and discussion to select shortlists in 17 categories from a total of 250 nominations.

Shortlists are not revealed for the Hotelier of the Year, Outstanding Contribution and Extra Mile categories.

The winners will remain a closely guarded secret until they are announced at a glittering ceremony on 22 November at London's Park Plaza Westminster Bridge hotel.

To purchase your ticket for the Hotel Cateys, visit our website or contact Martha Allardyce at or on 020 7881 4828.

To enquire about sponsoring opportunities at the event, please contact Rob Adam, head of sales, on 020 7881 4817.

Hotel Cateys 2019 shortlist

Best Use of Technology, sponsored by Hoist Group

Cairn Group

Exclusive Collection

The Lowry hotel, Manchester

Concierge Award, sponsored by Dennys

Gary Falconer, Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa

Michael Hagan, Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane

Alan Noone, the Berkeley, London

Andrew Seward, the Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa, Skipton, North Yorkshire

Conference and Banqueting Team of the Year

Coworth Park, Ascot, Berkshire

Hilton London Bankside

London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Macdonald Burlington Hotel, Birmingham

The Montague on the Gardens, London

Food and Beverage Manager of the Year, sponsored by Britvic

Pedro Branco, London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Alex Cooper, Haymarket hotel, London

Tegan Farrell, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London

Front of House Manager of the Year

Suzanna Di Domenico, the Ritz London

Esther Pinedo Castresana, the Belfry Hotel & Resort, Sutton Coldfield

Alex Wilson, Brown's hotel, London

Front of House Team of the Year

Bankside hotel, London

The Beaumont, London

Charlotte Street hotel, London

Kimpton Fitzroy London

St. Ermin's hotel, London

Hotel Chef of the Year (fewer than 250 covers), sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division

George Blogg, Gravetye Manor, near East Grinstead, West Sussex

Tony Fleming, L'oscar London

Lisa Goodwin-Allen, Northcote, Lancashire

Niall Keating, Whatley Manor, Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Aaron Patterson, Hambleton Hall, Oakham, Rutland

Hotel Chef of the Year (more than 250 covers)

Adam Ashe, St. Pancras Renaissance hotel, London

Simon Attridge, Gleneagles, Auchterarder, Perthshire

Johan Rox, InterContinental London – the O2

Olivier Ruiz, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London

Hotel Restaurant Chef of the Year

Calum Franklin, Holborn Dining Room, Rosewood London

Chris Harrod, the Whitebrook Restaurant with Rooms, Monmouth

Adam Reid, Adam Reid at the French, the Midland, Manchester

Simon Shand, Corner Room, Town Hall hotel, London

Hotel Restaurant Manager of the Year, sponsored by Tchibo

Devid Isabella, the Goring, London

Mariano Bianchino, L'oscar London

Hotel Restaurant Team of the Year

Chino Latino, Park Plaza London Riverbank

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar, London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae, Ayshire

Housekeeper of the Year, sponsored by P&G Professional

Tzveta Ivanova, Milestone Hotel & Residences, London

Adriana Milea, the Ritz London

KK Prabakaran, Dukes London

Laura Stimbiriene, Holiday Inn Winchester

Rosanna Tripaldi, the Soho hotel, London

Lisa Williams, St Pancras Renaissance hotel, London

Human Resources Manager of the Year, sponsored by

Anita Bower, Iconic Luxury Hotels

Lucy McElroy, the Marylebone, London

Marjolein Verhoeven, Bankside hotel, London

Human Resources Team of the Year

Aviator – a hotel by TAG, Farnborough, Hampshire

Bankside hotel, London

The Dorchester, London

Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane

Kew Green Hotels

Revenue Award, sponsored by Sky

Danielle Blank, Dalata Hotel Group

Marie Boyez, InterContinental London Park Lane

Daniela Corasaniti, Longueville Manor, Jersey

Yash Taneja, Crowne Plaza London Docklands

Karen Tyson, Rudding Park, Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Spa Professional of the Year

Gemma Grove, Hotel Cafe Royal, London

Amanda Hardy, Seaham Hall, Seaham, County Durham

Sally Pedder, the Dorchester, London

Sara Young, South Lodge, near Horsham, West Sussex

Sustainable Hotel of the Year

Bankside Hotel, London

Battlesteads, Northumberland

The Langham, London

Whatley Manor Hotel and Spa, Malmesbury, Wiltshire

Extra Mile Award, sponsored by Bidfood

There is no shortlist for this award

Outstanding Contribution, sponsored by Taylors of Harrogate

There is no shortlist for this award

Hotelier of the Year, sponsored by Casna

There is no shortlist for this award

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking