Search
The Caterer

Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK 2007 (part 2)

06 November 2007
Industry data: Leading hotel brands in the UK 2007 (part 2)

The Whitbread Hotel Company retained its position as the UK's largest hotel chain by bedrooms numbers.

Its Premier Inn budget chain had more than 488 hotels with in excess of 32,600 bedrooms by September 2007.

InterContinental was not far behind, with 32,540 bedrooms across its 241 UK hotels while the third position went to Premier Inn's arch-rival, the budget Travelodge chain, with more than 18,950 bedrooms across 310 venues.

These figures for the year to September 2007 are reported in British Hospitality: Trends and Statistics 2007, published by the British Hospitality Association.

The full report (which is free to BHA members) can be bought for £195 (for the printed version) or £146.25 (for a PDF file). For enquiries or orders, phone 0207 404 7744 or contact bob.bacon@bha.org.uk.

View the top 100 hotel brands (part 1) from the 2006 report >>

View the top 100 hotel brands (part 2) from the 2006 report >>

TOP 100 HOTEL GROUPS WITH MORE THAN 200 BEDROOMS IN THE UK, SEPTEMBER 2007 (BY NUMBER OF BEDROOMS) - PART II

CompanyNumber of hotelsBrandsNumber of roomsHotels (and rooms) worldwide
51Corus Hotels](http://www.corushotels.com/) 11 1,013 13 (1,652)
52[Cola Hotels](http://www.kingswayhall.co.uk/links.aspx) 3 969
53[London Plaza Hotels](http://www.london-plaza-hotels.com/) 4 957 5 (1,010)
54[Ascott International](http://www.the-ascott.com/) 7 Citadines (4), Ascott (1), Somerset (1) 910
55[Legacy Hotels](http://www.legacy-hotels.co.uk/legacy/) 14 Associates (6) 826
56[Crimson Hotels](http://www.crimsonhotels.co.uk/) 6 †Quality (2), †Comfort (2), †Crowne Plaza (1) 807 11 (1,538)
57[Shire Hotels](http://www.shirehotels.com/) (Daniel Thwaites) 8 798
58[Elizabeth Hotels](http://www.elizabethhotels.co.uk/) 17 Hotels (13), Inns (4) 796
59[Jurys Doyle Hotels](http://www.jurysdoyle.com/) 4 788 12 (2,664)
60[Strathmore Hotels](http://www.strathmorehotels.com/) 8 773
61[Vienna Group](http://www.vienna-group.co.uk/) 7 761
62[Four Pillars Hotels](http://www.four-pillars.co.uk/) 6 731
63[Hastings Hotels](http://www.hastingshotels.com/) 6 715
64[Brook Hotels](http://www.brookhotels.co.uk/) 14 705
65[Hand Picked Hotels](http://www.handpicked.co.uk/) 14 667
66[Quinn Hotels](http://www.quinnhotels.com/) 3 †Crowne Plaza (1), †Holiday Inn (1), The Belfry (1) 650 9 (2.427)
67[Pederson Hotels](http://www.pedersengroup.co.uk/) 6 †Holiday Inn (2), †Crowne Plaza (1) 644
68[Peel Hotels](http://www.peelhotels.co.uk) 8 639
69[Apex Hotels](http://www.apexhotels.co.uk/) 5 638
70[Brend Hotels](http://www.brendhotels.co.uk/) 11 617
71[Von Essen Hotels](http://www.vonessenhotels.com/) 24 580 25 (601)
72[NH Hoteles](http://www.nh-hotels.com/rol/busqAvanzada.do?mode=city) 3 Jolly (1) 596 337 (49,157)
73Ralph Trustees Group 4 (inc 1 apartments) [Grove](http://www.thegrove.co.uk/default.aspx), [Runnmede](http://www.runnymedehotel.com/), [Athenaeum](http://www.athenaeumhotel.com/), [Greengarden](http://www.greengardenhouse.com/) 764
74[Sol Melia Hotels](http://www.solmelia.com/solNew/i18n/jsp/C_Versiones_Internacionales.jsp) 1 Sol White House 581 350 (85,000)
75[JJW Hotels & Resorts](http://www.jjwhotels.com/en/global/index.shtml) 8 [Eton Collection](http://www.theetoncollection.com/) 558 46 (3,184)
76[Choice Hotels](http://www.choice-hotels.co.uk/) 5 539
77[Red Carnation Hotels](http://www.redcarnationhotels.com/) 7 528 11 (727)
78[Portland Hotels](http://www.portlandhotels.co.uk/) 6 524
79[Seymour Hotels](http://www.seymourhotels.com/jersey/) 3 519
80[Elite Hotels](http://www.elitehotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.esquirescoffee.com/)4 514
81[Butterfly Hotels](http://www.butterflyhotels.co.uk/) 7 †Ramada (4), †Express By Holiday Inn (1), Citilodge (1) 513
82[Maybourne Group](http://www.maybourne.com/home/home.asp) 3 [Claridge's](http://www.claridges.co.uk/home/home.asp), [Connaught](http://www.the-connaught.co.uk/), [Berkeley](http://www.the-berkeley.co.uk/home/home.asp) 509
83[Feathers Hotel & Catering Group](http://www.feathers.uk.com/) 8 507
84[Prem Group](http://www.premgroup.com) 2 hotels, 6 apartments †Ramada (1) 502 17 (1,917)
85[Cedar Court Hotel Group](http://www.cedarcourthotels.co.uk/) 4 494
86[Four Seasons](http://www.fourseasons.com/) 3 494 74
87[McKever Hotels](http://www.mckeverhotels.co.uk/) 15 487
88[Rocco Forte Hotels](http://www.roccofortehotels.com/) 3 470 11 (1,561)
89[Fairmont Hotels & Resorts](http://www.fairmont.com/) 2 [Savoy](http://www.fairmont.com/Savoy/), [St Andrews](http://www.fairmont.com/StAndrews/) 472 51
90[Aristel Hotels](http://www.aristelhotels.co.uk/directory.htm) 7 †Ramada (1), Best Western (5) 457
91[TLH Leisure Resort](http://www.tlh.co.uk/) 4 457
92[Paten Hotels](http://www.patenhotels.co.uk/) 4 444
93[Louvre Hotels](http://www.envergure.fr/hotele/hotels-0201344.htm) 17 Concorde (1), Campanile (16) 432 900+
94[Morvan Hotels](http://www.morvanhotels.com) 6 423
95[English Rose Hotels](http://www.englishrosehotels.co.uk/)[](http://www.fourseasons.com/) 8 Including 1 apartment 422
96[Mill House Inns](http://www.millhouseinns.co.uk/) (Spirit Group)[](http://www.mckeverhotels.co.uk/) 16 415
97[Richardson Hotels](http://www.richardsonhotels.co.uk/grand_hotel.php) 7 413
98[Dhillon Hotels](http://www.dhillonhotels.co.uk/) 5 394
99[Firmdale Hotels](http://www.firmdale.com/) 7 389
100[Meridien Leisure Hotels5 †Express By Holiday Inn (2) 382

\* Some or all franchised to another operator
† Franchised hotels

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.