Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

Young Guns 2018 winners revealed

09 March 2018 by
Young Guns 2018 winners revealed

Harry Champion from Bournemouth University and Mia Jorjikia from Oxford Brookes University have been named as the Young Guns of 2018.

The two students, who are both studying International Hospitality Management, were awarded the accolade by the Council for Hospitality Management Education (CHME).

Young Guns is a competition open to students completing hospitality degrees, or degrees with hospitality focused modules, which include work experience as part of the programme. It gives students a chance to demonstrate their passion and drive, as well as the opportunity to get noticed by top employers.

The final took place yesterday at a networking lunch held at the RAF Club in London's Mayfair, eight contenders competed in what was a closely fought final. Champion and Jorjikia impressed the judges with details of the successes they achieved during work experience and their plans for a future hospitality career

Champion worked in the events team at Anton Mosimann's private members' club in London, Mossimann's for his work placement and hopes to take up a position at Guards Polo Club in Windsor following the completion of his degree in the summer. Meanwhile, Jorjikia enjoyed her work experience stint at the Marriot London Park Lane hotel and eventually intends to become a general manager of a luxury hotel.

Champion said that it was "a real honour and privilege" to receive the Young Gunns award. "I very much enjoyed taking part in the final and met some wonderful people, I'm now looking forward to being an ambassador for hospitality in the future," he said.

Originally from Russia, Jorjikia said that winning the award would set a new standard for her career. "I intend to prove that I am a worthy winner and it will make me work even harder to be better in the future," she commented.

As well as receiving the glass Young Guns trophies from RAF Club chief executive and club secretary Miles Pooley, the two winners will also receive a year's membership for the Institute of Hospitality, a year's subscription to The Caterer and an invitation to the Cateys.

Young Gunns finalists

Spencer Brown, Oxford Brookes University
Harry Champion, Bournemouth University
Catherine Dowson, Leeds Beckett University
Victoria Evans, Sheffield Hallam University
Ismay Hawthorn, Oxford Brookes University
Luke Jenkins, Leeds Beckett University
Mia Jorjikia, Oxford Brookes University
Victoria Robertson, Leeds Beckett University

Young Guns 2017 winners revealed >>

Young Guns 2016 revealed >>

Young Guns 2015 revealed >>

Videos from The Caterer archives

Are you looking for a new role? See all the current hospitality vacancies available with The Caterer Jobs

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking