Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

AA 3-rosette restaurants in England

23 February 2010 by
AA 3-rosette restaurants in England

AA ROSETTE CRITERIA

AA-rosette-1
AA-rosette-1
One rosette Chefs should display a mastery of basic techniques and be able to produce dishes of sound quality and clarity of flavours, using good, fresh ingredients.
AA-rosette-2
AA-rosette-2
Two rosettes
Innovation, greater technical skill and more consistency and judgement in combining and balancing ingredients are all needed at this level.
AA-rosette-3
AA-rosette-3
Three rosettes
This award takes a restaurant into the big league. Expectations of the kitchen are high: exact technique, flair and imagination must come through in every dish, and balance and depth of flavour are all-important.
AA-rosette-4
AA-rosette-4
Four rosettes
At this level, not only should all technical skills be exemplary, but there should also be daring ideas, and they must work. There is no room for disappointment. Flavours should be accurate and vibrant.
AA-rosette-5
AA-rosette-5
Five rosettes The supreme accolade awarded only when the cooking is at the pinnacle of achievement. Flavours, combinations and textures show a faultless sense of balance, giving each dish an extra dimension.

THREE AA ROSETTES: SOUTH WEST
5 North Street, Winchcombe, GloucestershireAA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373550) entry
[The Abbey](http://www.abbeyrestaurant.co.uk/) restaurant, Penzance, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373288) entry
[Andrews on the Weir](http://www.andrewsontheweir.co.uk/), Porlock, Somerset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371800) entry
[The Bath Priory](http://www.thebathpriory.co.uk/) hotel and restaurant, Bath, Somerset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373588) entry
Bovey Castle and [The Mulberry](http://www.boveycastle.com/) restaurant, Moretonhampstead, Devon[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/551226) entry
[The Bybrook restaurant](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/) at Manor House, Castle Combe, Wiltshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370952) entry
[Casamia Restaurant](http://www.casamiarestaurant.co.uk/), Bristol [AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/bristol-casamia-restaurant-1252433) entry
Corbyn Head hotel & [Orchid restaurant](http://www.orchidrestaurant.net/), Torquay, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373695) entry
[Driftwood](http://www.driftwoodhotel.co.uk/driftwood-restaurant.htm), Portscatho, Cornwall[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373094) entry
[The Elephant Bar & Restaurant](http://www.elephantrestaurant.co.uk/), Torquay, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372478) entry
[The Hambrough](http://www.thehambrough.com/), Isle of Wight[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371056) entry
[The Harrow at Little Bedwyn](http://www.harrowinn.co.uk/), Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371604) entry
[The Horn of Plenty](http://www.thehornofplenty.co.uk/), Gulworthy, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372372) entry
[Hotel Endsleigh](http://www.hotelendsleigh.com/), Tavistock, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371065) entry
[Hotel Tresanton](http://www.tresanton.com/), St Mawes, Cornwall[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371692) entry
[Lewtrenchard Manor,](http://www.lewtrenchard.co.uk/) Lewdown, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372360) entry
[Little Barwick House](http://www.littlebarwickhouse.co.uk/), Yeovil, Devon [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372357) entry
[Lucknam Park](http://www.lucknampark.co.uk/), Colerne, Wiltshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371084) entry
[Paul Ainsworth at Number 6 restaurant](http://www.number6inpadstow.co.uk/), Padstow, Cornwall[AA](http://www.number6inpadstow.co.uk/) Entry
[The Mason Arms Inn](http://www.masonsarmsdevon.co.uk/), Knowestone, Devon[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371853) entry
[The New Angel](http://www.thenewangel.co.uk/), Dartmouth, Devon [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370839)entry
[Restaurant Nathan Outlaw](http://www.themarinahotel.co.uk/nathanoutlaw/index.htm) at the Marina Villa hotel, Fowey, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/370918) entry
[The Seafood Restaurant](http://www.rickstein.com/), Padstow, Cornwall[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370922) entry
[Sienna](http://www.siennarestaurant.co.uk/jumpoff.htm), Dorchester, Dorset [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373521) entry
[St Martin's on the Isle](http://www.stmartinshotel.co.uk/), St Martin's, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371105) entry
[Stock Hill Country House](http://www.stockhillhouse.co.uk/) hotel & testaurant, Gillingham, Dorset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371256) entry
[Summer Lodge Country House hotel](http://www.summerlodgehotel.com/), Evershot, Dorset[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371908) entry
[Well House hotel](http://www.wellhouse.co.uk/Liskeard_Restaurant/Restaurant.html), Liskeard, Cornwall [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373141) entry
[Whatley Manor](http://www.whatleymanor.com/), Malmesbury, Wiltshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373294) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: SOUTH EAST
[36 on the Quay](http://www.36onthequay.co.uk/), Emsworth, Hampshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371254) entry
[Amberley Castle](http://www.amberleycastle.co.uk/), Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/551220) entry
[Apicius](http://www.restaurant-apicius.co.uk/), Cranbrook, Kent[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371111) entry
[Auberge du Lac](http://www.aubergedulac.co.uk/), Welwyn, Hertfordshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/welwyn-auberge-du-lac-373513) entry
[Aubergine at the Compleat Angler,](http://www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk/offers/aubergine/index.htm) Marlow, Bucks [AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/marlow-aubergine-at-the-compleat-angler-370847) entry
[The Bildeston Crown](http://www.thebildestoncrown.com/), Bildeston, Suffolk [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371352) entry
[Bingham restaurant](http://www.thebingham.co.uk/), Richmond, Surrey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373664) entry
[The Camellia restaurant](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/) at South Lodge hotel, Lower Beeding, West Sussex [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371455)entry
[Chewton Glen hotel](http://www.chewtonglen.com/), New Milton, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373530) entry
[Drake's restaurant](http://www.drakesrestaurant.co.uk/), Ripley, Surrey[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372192) entry
[Gravetye Manor hotel](http://www.gravetyemanor.co.uk/), East Grinstead, West Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371382) entry
[The Hand & Flowers](http://www.thehandandflowers.co.uk/), Marlow, Buckinghamshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373455) entry
[Hartwell House hotel](http://www.hartwell-house.com/), restaurant & spa, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373495) entry
JSW, Petersfield, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372976) entry
[Lainston House hotel](http://www.exclusivehotels.co.uk/), Winchester, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372972) entry
[Macdonald Compleat Angler](http://www.macdonald-hotels.co.uk/compleatangler-hotel.co.uk), Marlow, Buckinghamshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370847) entry
[Newick Park hotel ](http://www.newickpark.co.uk/welcome.html)and country estate, East Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373457) entry
[The Oak Room](http://www.danesfieldhouse.co.uk/oak_room.htm) at Danesfield House, Marlow, Bucks [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/371571) entry
[Ockenden Manor](http://www.hshotels.co.uk/), Cuckfield, West Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371410) entry
[L'Ortolan](http://www.lortolan.com/), Shinfield, Berkshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371011) entry
[The Pass](http://www.southlodgehotel.co.uk/EXCLUSIVE_HOTELS/eating_and_drinking/the_pass.aspx), near Horsham, West SussexAA entry
[Le Poussin](http://www.lepoussin.co.uk/) at Whitley Ridge Country House, Brockenhurst, Hampshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372905) entry
[Read's restaurant,](http://www.reads.com/) Faversham, Kent [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372538) entry
[Thackeray's](http://www.thackerays-restaurant.co.uk/), Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372672) entry
[Waldo's restaurant](http://www.clivedenhouse.co.uk/), Cliveden, Taplow, Buckinghamshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373678) entry
[The West House](http://www.thewesthouserestaurant.co.uk/), Biddenden, Kent [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373230)entry
[West Stoke House](http://www.weststokehouse.co.uk/), Chichester, West Sussex [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/410288) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: WEST MIDLANDS
[La Bécasse](http://www.labecasse.co.uk/), Ludlow, Shropshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373342) entry
[Castle House](http://www.castlehse.co.uk/), Hereford, Herefordshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373364) entry
[Mallory Court hotel](http://www.mallory.co.uk/), Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371742) entry
[Mr Underhills restaurant](http://www.mr-underhills.co.uk/), Ludlow, Shropshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371264) entry
[Old Vicarage](http://www.oldvicarageworfield.com/) hotel and restaurant, Worfield, Shropshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372731) entry
[Purnell's](http://www.purnellsrestaurant.com/index.html), Birmingham AA entry
[Simpsons](http://www.simpsonsrestaurant.co.uk/), Birmingham, West Midlands [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372346) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: EAST MIDLANDS
Harry's Place, Grantham, Lincolnshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371802) entry
[The Old Vicarage](http://www.theoldvicarage.co.uk/), Ridgeway, Derbyshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371184) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: EAST OF ENGLAND
[Colette's at The Grove](http://www.thegrove.co.uk/restaurants/colettes.aspx), Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373295) entry
[Hintlesham Hall hotel](http://www.hintleshamhall.com/), Hintlesham, Suffolk [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372181) entry
[Morston Hall,](http://www.morstonhall.com/) Blakeney, Norfolk [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372563) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: NORTH WEST
[The Church Green](http://www.thechurchgreen.co.uk/c), Lymm, Cheshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/lymm-the-church-green-1252434) entry
[Fraiche,](http://www.restaurantfraiche.com/) Birkenhead, Merseyside [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372511) entry
[Gilpin Lodge Country House](http://www.gilpinlodge.co.uk/) hotel & restaurant, Windermere, Cumbria[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372676) entry
[Holbeck Ghyll Country House hotel](http://www.holbeckghyll.com/), Windermere Cumbria [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372539)entry
[Linthwaite House hotel](http://www.linthwaite.com/), Windermere, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/372532) entry
[The Longridge restaurant](http://www.heathcotes.co.uk/longridge.htm), Longridge, Lancashire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371473) entry
[Northcote Manor](http://www.northcotemanor.com/), Llangho, Lancashire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372659) entry
[Rampsbeck Country House hotel](http://www.rampsbeck.fsnet.co.uk/), Watermillock, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372694) entry
[The Samling](http://www.thesamling.com/), Windermere, Cumbria [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/373692) entry
THREE AA ROSETTES: NORTH EAST, YORKSHIRE & HUMBER
[Anthony's restaurant](http://www.anthonysrestaurant.co.uk/), Leeds, West Yorkshire [AA ](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/372404)entry
[Box Tree](http://www.theboxtree.co.uk/) restaurant, Ilkley, West Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371733) entry
[Burlington Restaurant ](http://www.thedevonshirearms.co.uk/)at the Devonshire Arms, Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/bolton-abbey-the-burlington-restaurant-373715) entry
[Jesmond Dene House](http://www.jesmonddenehouse.co.uk/), Newcastle-upon-Tyne[AA](http://www.theaa.com/restaurants/newcastle-upon-tyne-jesmond-dene-house-371183) entry
[Judges Country House hotel,](http://www.judgeshotel.co.uk/dining/) Yarm, Cleveland[AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/100/373399) entry
[Seaham Hall hotel - The White Room restaurant,](http://www.seaham-hall.com) Seaham, County Durham [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/370991) entry
[Swinton Park](http://www.swintonpark.com), Masham, North Yorkshire [AA](http://www.theaa.com/travel/details/restaurant/371008) entry
[Yorke Arms](http://www.yorke-arms.co.uk), Ramsgill, North Yorkshire [AA entry

View the five-rosette restaurants here >>

View the four-rosette restaurants here >>
View the three-rosette restaurants in London here >>

View the three-rosette restaurants in the rest of Britain here >>

Return to AA rosette-rated restaurants here >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.

close

Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking