Martin Carabott wins BCF Chef of the Year 2016

12 April 2016 by
Martin Carabott wins BCF Chef of the Year 2016

Martin Carabott has been crowned 2016 British Culinary Federation Chef of the Year at an industry awards dinner held at University College Birmingham on Monday night (11 April).

As the 15th winner of the competition, Carabott joins an elite group of past winners and Michelin-starred chefs which includes Simon Hulstone, Luke Tipping, Richard Turner and Adam Bennett.

Carabott, from the RAC Club, London, was one of 10 leading chefs to reach the final cook off, which was compèred and judged under the watchful eye of TV chef Brian Turner.

This year the chefs were tasked with producing a three-course meal for two covers centred on using a dry-aged rump of beef from the Butchery Masterclass.

Martin Carabott's winning starter of dashi risotto, shellfish, crispy rice and shiso

Carabott impressed the judges with his menu of dashi risotto, shellfish, crispy rice and shiso followed by grilled picanha of Aubrey Allen's 21-day dry aged beef, green peppercorn, sweet potato, garlic and purple broccoli. For dessert he produced iced Jersey cream with orange blossom and blood orange meringue.

Judges included Ashley Palmer-Watts, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal; Roger Narbett MCA, chairman of judges; Sat Bains, Restaurant Sat Bains; Brian Turner CBE; Benoit Blin, Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons; Anthony Keravec, Les Toques Blanches Lyonnaises and Adam Handling, previous Chef of the Year winner.

Sponsored by Aubrey Allen, AHDB and Grant Sous Vide, Carabott has won £2,500, the opportunity to join the squad of the English National Culinary Team in Erfurt, Germany in October at the Culinary Olympics, an all-expenses-paid trip to the National Restaurant Assocation (NRA) Show in Chicago to promote the Best of British and a SV200 stirring unit from Grant Sous Vide.

The runner-up was Jamie Park, Adam Handling at Caxton, London, while Andy Wright, from Restaurant 23, Leamington Spa, Warwickshire came third.

Competition organiser and BCF president Peter Griffiths said: "With the opportunity to join the national team squad as well as flying the flag for British produce at the NRA in Chicago, this competition continues to attract some of the industry's best. The standards we have seen this year have been a credit to all concerned."


  • Jacob Robinson, Corrigan's, Mayfair, London
  • John Grabecki, BNY Mellon, London
  • Brett Connor, Swinfen Hall, Staffordshire
  • Jamie Park, Adam Handling at Caxton, London
  • Mathew Shropshall, University College Birmingham
  • Martin Carabott, RAC Club, London
  • Byron Franklin, University of Cambridge
  • Andy Wright, Restaurant 23, Leamington Spa
  • Richard Cullen, Cullen's Restaurant, Staffordshire
  • Imthiaz Kader, Hotel 41, Rubens at the Palace, London

Adam Handling named BCF Chef of the Year 2014 >>

BCF announces Chef of the Year 2016 finalists >>

Matt Davies to become British Culinary Federation chairman >>

Latest video from The Caterer

Are you looking for a new role? See all the current restaurant vacancies available with The Caterer Jobs >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking