Get the latest hospitality news and inspiration straight to your inbox. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Roux brothers win AA’s Lifetime Achievement award

Written by:
Roux brothers win AA’s Lifetime Achievement award
Written by:

Culinary legends Albert and Michel Roux were honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award at the 2007-2008 AA Hospitality Awards last night.

At a ceremony held at London’s InterContinental Hotel Park Lane and hosted by GMTV’s Jenni Falconer, the Roux brothers headlined the evening’s event and were recognised for their “inspiration, longevity and contribution to the industry”.

Among the other award winners were Chef’s Chef of the Year Michael Caines, two-Michelin-starred chef director of Gidleigh Park in Chagford, Devon, and partner of the Abode hotel group, Hotel Group of the Year Macdonald Hotels and Wine Award (England and overall) the Lecture Room and Library at Sketch restaurant in Soho, London.

Tom Aikens, who is soon to launch his first green venture, Tom’s Place, took the New 5 AA Rosette Award “for his bold approach to food and its emphasis on seasonality and superb, distinct flavours”, while Restaurant of the Year (London) was presented to Clapham’s Trinity Restaurant, where chef-patron Adam Byatt’s modern French cuisine and lively atmosphere impressed the judges.

The Restaurant of the Year (England) Award went to Tanners restaurant in Plymouth, while the Welsh title went to Carlton Riverside in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, “for its homely atmosphere and welcoming hostess”, Mary Ann Gilchrist.

Winners from Scotland and Northern Ireland will be announced on 1 October at the Balmoral in Edinburgh.

The forthcoming AA guides – the B&B Guide, the Restaurant Guide, the Hotel Guide and the Pub Guide – will be published on 30 October.

2007-2008 WINNERS

  • Hotel of the Year (England): Donnington Valley Hotel & Spa, Newbury
  • Hotel of the Year (Wales): The Quay Hotel, Deganwy Quay
  • Restaurant of the Year (England): Tanners restaurant, Plymouth
  • Restaurant of the Year (Wales): Carlton Riverside, Llanwrtyd Wells
  • Restaurant of the Year (London): Trinity
  • Regional Food Award: The Three Fishes, Mitton, Lancashire
  • Hotel Group of the Year: Macdonald Hotels
  • Small Hotel Group of the Year: Red Carnation Hotels
  • Guest Accommodation of the Year (England): The Orchard House, Rothbury
  • Guest Accommodation of the Year (Wales): Ty Mawr Mansion, Aberaeron
  • Pub of the Year (England): The Durham Ox, Crayke
  • Pub of the Year (Wales): Glasfryn, Mold
  • Wine Award (England and overall): Lecture Room and Library, Sketch, London
  • Wine Award (Wales): The Bell at Skenfrith, Skenfrith
  • Chefs’ Chef of the Year: Michael Caines
  • New 5 Rosette Award: Tom Aikens, London
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (England): The Roux Brothers

By Amanda Afiya

E-mail your comments to Amanda Afiya here.

The Caterer Blog
Catch up with more news and gossip on the Caterer Blog here
For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail news alerts.

Start the discussion

Sign in to comment or register new account

Start the working day with

The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign up now for:

  • The latest exclusives from across the industry
  • Innovations, new openings, business news and practical advice
  • The latest product innovations and supplier offers
Sign up for free