National Chef of the Year semi-finalists named

12 August 2010 by
National Chef of the Year semi-finalists named

The semi-finalists for the National Chef of the Year award have been named. This year the Craft Guild of Chefs changed the competition to reflect the increasing diversity of the UK hospitality industry.

Chefs that have made it to the semi final include, current Roux Scholarship winner Hrishikesh Desai, Brasserie head chef at Lucknam Park Hotel and Acorn winner and Great British Menu contestant Lee Bennett, executive chef at D&D London restaurant Le Pont De La Tour.

The semi-finalists are now set to compete in a series of four cook-offs at Westminster Kingsway College on Monday 13 and Thursday 16 September. Each heat will concentrate on a different type of cuisine including Asian and Oriental; modern British and Irish; European; and African, American and Australian.

Full list of semi-finalists

Simon Atkinson, unit caterer, Royal Marines
Mark Aust, head chef, Artizan
Christopher Bell, head chef, Heathcotes Ltd
Adam Bennett, head chef, Simpsons Restaurant
Lee Bennett, executive chef, Le Pont De La Tour
Ian Boden, area development chef, Wilsonvale
Mark Budd, executive head chef, Stafford Hotel
David Bush, House of Commons
Brian Canale, head chef, Heritage Portfolio Ltd
Simon Christery-French, sous chef, Pearl Restaurant
Clark Crawley, head chef, Restaurant Associates
Hrishikesh Desai, brasserie head chef, Lucknam Park Hotel
Richard Edwards, senior sous chef, Lucknam Park Hotel
Frederick Forster, head chef, 44 Restaurant and Lounge
Justin Galea, executive sous chef, Turnberry
Chris James Golding, sous chef, Zuma Restaurant
Hayden Groves, executive chef, Lloyds of London
Jim Hamilton, head chef, Fairyhill
Dean Heselden, head chef, London Clubs International
Imthiaz Kader, head chef, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge
Selin Kiazim, senior chef de partie, The Providores
Palash Mitra, curry chef, The Cinnamon Club
Robert Oberhoffer, restaurant owner, The Dove Restaurant
Christopher Oddie, head chef, Mitie Catering and The Irish Club
Grzegorz Olejarka, head chef, Brooklands Hotel
Sudha Shankar, executive chef, Saffron
Hansel Sheldon Fonseca, sous chef, Gordon Ramsay Holdings
Kuldeep Singh, sous chef, Benares Restaurant & Bar
Ashley Spencer, lecturer in Culinary Arts, Westminster Kingsway College
Robert Stordy, corporate chef-lecturer, University of Derby (Buxton Campus)
Lionel Strub, head chef /owner, Fennel Restaurant
Dez Turland, group development chef, Brend Hotels
Simon Webb, head chef, Restaurant Associates
Nick Whatmough, head chef, Restaurant Associates
Andy Wilcock, head chef, Cucina Restaurants Ltd
Andrew Wong, chef, Bumbles Restaurant
Terry Wright, head chef, Compass Group
Vadivelloo Yogaeshwaran, sous chef, Riverbank Park Plaza Hotel

David Mulcahy, director of competitions for The Craft Guild of Chefs said: "We've been thrilled with both the number and quality of all the entries received this year."

Now in its 20th year, the prestigious biannual competition has helped the careers of some of the UK's best known chefs including Gordon Ramsay, Eyck Zimmer and the incumbent Simon Hulstone, chef patron of the Michelin-starred Elephant in Torquay, Devon.

The National Chef of the Year competition final will be held at the Restaurant Show in London on 11 October 2010.

New categories added to 2010 National Chef of the Year competition >>

E-mail your comments to Katherine Alano here.

If you have something to say on this story or anything else join the debate at Table Talk - Caterer's new networking forum. Go to jobs
Looking for a new job? Find your next job here with jobs

Blogs on]( Catch up with more news and gossip on all Caterer's blogs
[Newsletters For the latest hospitality news, sign up for our e-mail newsletters.
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking